Anybody here ever been to Nimes? It looks like a smashing place and along with nearby Avignon, Iām strongly considering veering off the beaten track to sample some of the best what La Belle France has to offer.
The utter Phillistines that Iām travelling with donāt seem to be sold on my plan.
One of them has done nothing but fucking moaning about what a shithole he thinks France is. Heās also constantly going on about the possibility of getting blown up or shot. Iāve told him to go off and have a good listen to himself, and/or opt out entirely, if he still feels that way afterwards.
Part of the genius behind going to Nimes is that as well as getting away from the Ole, Ole crowd for a few days, thereās a direct TGV connection between Nimes and Avignon and the grimy industrial city of Lille. On the morning of the Eire-Italy match you could get up early in Nimes, hop on the train and be in Lille having lunch before most of plastic hammer brigade are even out of bed.
Or head up to Paris for the Ireland-Germany game on the day before and then up to Lille the next morning, another plan that Mr. Surly McMinus-Craic refuses to entertain.
Cheers mate. Iāve an offer of one for the first game and I think Iāll just go to that and see how it goes and maybe book late flights to the last 16 if we progress that far.
Myself and George are looking at flying to London/Eurostar now as well so we could be joining ye.
If I was trying to predict who would come out 3rd place and into what last 16 game they will go, where on earth do I begin? This Grounp A/C/D-B/E/F-C/D/E-A/B/F has me thoroughly flummoxed.
The table below shows the different options for the round of 16 pairings, depending on which third-placed teams qualify from the final tournament group matches. For example, if the teams finishing third in groups A, B, C and D qualify, the pairings will be WA v 3C, WB v 3D, WC v 3A and WD v 3B.
The four best-placed teams are:
WA plays WB plays WC plays WD plays
A B C D 3C 3D 3A 3B
A B C E 3C 3A 3B 3E
A B C F 3C 3A 3B 3F
A B D E 3D 3A 3B 3E
A B D F 3D 3A 3B 3F
A B E F 3E 3A 3B 3F
A C D E 3C 3D 3A 3E
A C D F 3C 3D 3A 3F
A C E F 3C 3A 3F 3E
A D E F 3D 3A 3F 3E
B C D E 3C 3D 3B 3E
B C D F 3C 3D 3B 3F
B C E F 3E 3C 3B 3F
B D E F 3E 3D 3B 3F
C D E F 3C 3D 3F 3E
Basically theyāve pre decided who meetās who, how Iāve no idea, but if you think for example that the best runners up will come from A,B,C & D, then winner A plays 3rd in C, winner B plays 3rd in D, winner C plays 3rd A, winner D plays 3rd B.
Itās constructed to avoid teams meeting twice for as long as possible.
Iāve tickets for the last 16 if Ireland get there and from what I can tell there is almost no chance of knowing who or where theyāll be playing until practically all games are played.