European Cup Rugby

Nah. Sold out a younger teammate. It’s bullshit and it reflects poorly on Conan and on the culture of the organisation.

Correct

Sure the whole game was a shambles and I’m a Leinster fan. I also think it’s strange that a sub takes over as captain, does the effectively mean Leo doesn’t trust the other 14 guys who started once Doris went off?

Conan is a two time B&I Lion tbf

The Leinster fans probably wouldn’t be aware of that.

He is, but he still didn’t know what to do when it came to it.

He took direction from the line at least twice…

Now apparently he’s saying it was Sam’s call to go to the corner.

It probably was, easier than attempting the kick…

He didn’t.

He looked for direction from the box.

The message back from the management was to back his own instinct and they’d back the decisions afterwards.

It’s laughable stuff. Didn’t Nienbar come up with the traffic lights system? I’d say himself and Rassie are bursting their holes laughing.

:rofl::rofl:

It’s incredible.

So prendergast didn’t want the kick, Conan didn’t want the decision, and the management didn’t want the decision.

No wonder they’re the biggest group of bottlers in world sport.

They’re bulling with him and see him as a bit of a coward defensively. They’re bulling with Cullen’s selection as well. Giving lads a day out before picking the real team in the final. Barrett is like a cunt.

Heard that. Disgraceful

It goes to show a team poorly coached with selection policies that are incoherent.

Not defending Conan but him coming out with that is because Cullen doesn’t make decisions and Conan hasn’t been instructed to be a leader. He tries to keep people happy with things that seem low level (vice captain) but are actually important. He had this nonsense of co-captains for a year because of this. Doris was only made captain because Farrell made him Irish captain.

It’s a one for everyone in the audience approach. What’s odd is that surely Cullen is self aware enough to know that he was made captain of Leinster because of his own intangible qualities, ahead of others who had their own case for captaincy.

Jack Conan needs to travel to the Ryder Cup this year to see how proper vice-captains operate.

He needs to learn the craft and the art of vice-captaincy from the best.

Jose-Maria Olazabal and what he teaches Conan the Lion could be the difference maker in Leinster’s quest to end the Heino famine next year.

Come off it. Any player with any bit of experience and empathy wouldn’t throw a young colleague under the bus when the entire country is already on his back

It’s fucking disgraceful out of Conan

I think that depends on how aware he is of the online shite. Prendergast saying no to the kick can be too much confidence in a young player or a young player bottling it, depending on your narrative. I’d say Conan didn’t really think other than the young player not thinking it through overly.

Regardless, clearly it shouldn’t come out like that. But really it just shouldn’t have been a decision with confusion surrounding it. That’s my point really. I don’t think Conan thinks through the implications of the media interview on this because he’s not really treated like a captain. It’s just being given the prefect badge by the coach.

It’s bad all round, not going to disagree.

You’re not giving Conan much credit there. He needs to be a complete moron not to have seen what he was doing