Faldo's DIY General thread

That’s all good advice.

About seven years ago I had a right big rough job on for a drill. The batteries were gone in my old one, even after internally replacing them. I didn’t want to buy a new drill so I did what I never do and went into the market to the second hand knock-off guy.

I bought a fairly nackered looking DeWalt. I wanted two batteries so he threw in a driver as well. Bag and all included at a good knock-off price.

I had every intention and expected to run them into the ground over the next few months. But you guessed it, they’re still going strong.

Milwaukee are a good make also if you can get your hands on them.

2 Ah batteries aren’t worth a wank,you need at least 4 Ah.I got that drill with 2x4Ah batteries for 140 about 2 months ago.

Chill the beans. I only threw it up as an example. Sounds like @Julio_Geordio double glazing wouldn’t get the use out of them anyway.

Stopped myself potentially being on the mugged off thread but need some insight.

Buying a couch, sales fella pushing a cleaning service, warranty for 5 years to cover ripes stains etc as an extra. Claims they spray it with some special spray that allows you to clean off any minor spills and theres cover for a specialist to remove red wine etc stains. Claimed you cant clean it without this due to the flame retardant being ruined. Heafty price for this considering the price of the fucking yolk. Got the doom and gloom speech about all risks to upholstery damage. Said leave it. Didnt sit right with me.

Shes wreaking my head about it now, and as i said im not getting mugged off, thats where the cunts make their money

Is there options out there for cleaning such stains? Can you stream clean upholstery without affecting the flame retardant?

The cunts wanted €99 to deliver and assemble the couch, im well able to put on a few cushions so i told him shove his thumb up his hole ill collect it.

They’re all stolen you eejit. Don’t every buy second hand tools.

Maybe buy a cheap couch if ye can’t have a few drinks at home without making a show of yerselves

Im not a big fan of drinking at home tbh so thats little worry to me,

Moreso the query was around cleaning the fucking thing, can you steam clean without affecting the flame retardant or is there DIY alternatives than getting mugged off for an aftercare?

The way i see is its a couch, its going to get dirty and stains over the years, flip the cushions and drive on not worrying about trivial stains. A solid counter arguement to herself will be enough. A good 7 or 8 years before changing again and ill be happy

We have a grand leather couch here for the past 17 years, never did anything special to clean it and it looks better than the day we got it

Scotchgard. Few cans of it, spray it on yourself

Do it outside and let it air for a few hours after it you can. You’d almost be high from the smell off it

That looks the right job. Will do the basics.

Leather is great that way in fairness, very little hassle to clean, not my biggest concern but your man earns his crust with the upsell

Have you ever watched Fargo?

IMG_4684

Movie or series? I watched the first series. Unreal. Got bored during the second

It’s like taking insurance out on phones or other goods in Harvey Norman’s etc
99.99 percent of the time youre throwing your money away
Ref delivery that’s standard but not e99

Exactly my thoughts. And to deliver half way across the city? Madness ill borrow a van for a 20 min spin

IMG_4685

@Corksfinedtboy
This was some expensive french coloured render that looked like damn all after 5 years…you couldn’t keep the algae off it so i cleaned/painted it. The algae has continued its work under the paint- I’m powerwashing it off and the Internet tells me to bleach, then repaint. Have you any suggestions? It’s only on the east wing but i see the same thing appearing out at the gate lodge.

That reminds me I must treat the render on my place one of the days. A knapsack filled with moss buster or similar usually does the trick to keep the moss at bay.