Faldo's DIY General thread

Who laid down that for you? Fierce ring “Leftover from another job” off it :thinking:

Chloras.

:grin::grin: I was thinking the exact same

Went with the salt. We shall see.

I have two gravity fed showers upstairs in my house…missus turned both to cold water earlier to run through drain cleaner and left them running for she says 10.mins but if id to guess probably a half an hour !

Both now only dispensing cold water and there is plenty hot water coming from downstairs taps…no hot water in upstairs taps either

What’s she done

Unleashed a poltergeist I’d say.

Probably an air lock.

Why though? The cold water still working :person_shrugging:

Is there nothing coming out of the hot taps upstairs?

Nowt
And there is downstairs

Do that thing there where it says attach a hose from cold tap to hot tap. Cold water will go up hot pipe, KO air bubble and bingo bango

She’s drained the tank faster than it was able to fill itself, that’s what she’s done.

She’s created a couple of pockets of air in the system, I’d tell her to sort it out herself to be honest.

Good advice. I said it to her there.

Any advice on a quick way to dress the bed in the spare room

You forgot to tag @Juhniallio

She said to ask you what to do next

@KinvarasPassion

I’m tearing into an upstairs-only renovation. Stud walls down, ply floors up, crash, bang, wallop.

Would you recommend the use of a breathable membrane (suitably lapped and taped etc.) on top of 200mm mineral wool insulation between 9 inch joists, before the ply goes back down?

It’s an insulated cavity story and a half, I presume styrofoam, and the upstairs suffers the cold. I’m thinking any draughts or leaks from the attic to the sides or the floor below that I can stand off with the membrane, the more effective the heat retention will be…

I say ‘breathable’ as I want to avoid condensation issues, let the moisture pass through if it wants. As opposed to a vapour barrier, like. I’m making assumptions here…

My idea, as Tipperary as it may be (ignorant, guys), is to lay 200mm Knauf in the between the joists, ‘seal’ her up with the membrane, up the wall to a height above the sockets… tape the shit out of it, and line the room with insulated p’board on top of the existing p’board from there, paying attention not to have any leaks around sockets etc.

No wall vents in situ but the windows have trickles.

Would it cause me condensation issues, unseen in the floor or around the windows?
Would it be increase the effectiveness of heat retention?
Should I bother my hole with the membrane at all?
Would I be better with 100mm Knauf instead?

@habanerocat take it easy now, let him answer before wading in.

Don’t think you can do wrong with 200mm Knauf…barring putting in 300mm you couldn’t do more

If you’re not handy and have a few quid it’s a half an hour job for a plumber.

When you say gravity fed, are you saying they’re fed from a cold header tank in the attic and they heat the water, or they’re not electric and a pump in the hotpress delivers whatever water is in the hot tank to them?

In not handy and paying the plumber is grand option if the fucker would call

Yes that’s what I mean by gravity fed…there is a hot tank downstairs in hot press

More straight forward so. Get the wife to ring him maybe, he might call a bit quicker.