Fantasy Premier League 2009/2010

There will be no secrets here:D

You can try to smoke him out if you want but iā€™ll be saying nothin. :rolleyes:

Ive noticed from an e-mail from thes premier league people that i can make as many changes to my team as i like before the start of the season, thats just as well cos im starting to doubt some of my selections,a few questions you lot might point me in the right direction onā€¦

1.I have 4 Sunderland players in my ranks,this wasnt by design but more by the way things worked out,is this too many considering how shit they were last season?,maybe they will be class this Year under Bruce but i may have too many of my eggs in one basket

2.Ive picked John O Shea,will he start too few games for him to get me eneogh points?

3.Whats the big thing about the captain?,does he earn more points?

4.i have 0.5 million left over,should i try to spend that or will it stay with me as a kind of credit

5.Am i mental to be picking Silvestre?

[quote=ā€œTHE LINK WALSHā€]Ive noticed from an e-mail from thes premier league people that i can make as many changes to my team as i like before the start of the season, thats just as well cos im starting to doubt some of my selections,a few questions you lot might point me in the right direction onā€¦

1.I have 4 Sunderland players in my ranks,this wasnt by design but more by the way things worked out,is this too many considering how shit they were last season?,maybe they will be class this Year under Bruce but i may have too many of my eggs in one basket

2.Ive picked John O Shea,will he start too few games for him to get me eneogh points?

4.i have 0.5 million left over,should i try to spend that or will it stay with me as a kind of credit

5.Am i mental to be picking Silvestre?[/quote]

Ok Link iā€™ll do my best to anwer your questions:

1. You can never have enough Sunderland players in your ranks.

2. John Oā€™Shea is one of Man Utdā€™s big name players who should start most if not all games.

3. You pick a captain at the start of the season and heā€™s your captain for the rest of the season. He doesnā€™t earn more points, but the other players will look up to him, so choose wisely.

4. That 0.5 million can remain in the bank and earn you interest for next season.

5. Certainly not.

[quote=ā€œTHE LINK WALSHā€]Ive noticed from an e-mail from thes premier league people that i can make as many changes to my team as i like before the start of the season, thats just as well cos im starting to doubt some of my selections,a few questions you lot might point me in the right direction onā€¦

1. I would say you have too many eggs in one basket, and the arse tends to fall out of Sunderland baskets.

2. Ask Shan.

3. The captain gets double points. A high scoring midfielder isp robably the best option for captain.

4. You can keep the 0.5 million to use when you need to make transfers

5. Yes.

[quote=ā€œThe Dunphā€]Ok Link iā€™ll do my best to anwer your questions:

1. You can never have enough Sunderland players in your ranks.

2. John Oā€™Shea is one of Man Utdā€™s big name players who should start most if not all games.

3. You pick a captain at the start of the season and heā€™s your captain for the rest of the season. He doesnā€™t earn more points, but the other players will look up to him, so choose wisely.

4. That 0.5 million can remain in the bank and earn you interest for next season.

5. Certainly not.[/quote]

You are a terrible man Dunph. Your desire to win this competition knows no bounds. Which is why it will be even funnier to see you rooted to the bottom of the table.

:pint:

Sheasey will start as right back for United this season. Brown, Neville and Rafael are all injured.

1 Didnā€™t think you could have more than 3 players from the one club but in any event would stay away from Sunderland for the tome beong. Bruce will improve them but it could take time.

2 O Shea most likely to start right back for Utd this season so a decent choice. You can always change him later if heā€™s dropped.

3 Captain earns double points. Worth changing depending on what opposition your regular captain is playing. Runts idea of a free scoring midfielder is the best choice eg Lampard, Gerrard Fabergas.

4 Money stays with you so no need to spend now.

5 Donā€™t go near Silvestre. Unlikely to get a run of games this year.

One other thing, you can make one change a week without it costing you any points(every subsequent change costs 4 points), you can also play a Wildcard, this means you can repick your team from scratch. If your team is doing poorly you can use this option, you can only do this once a season but I wouldnā€™t hold onto it too long as you could be too far behind to catch the leaders if you delay unduly.

[quote=ā€œhannibalā€]1 Didnā€™t think you could have more than 3 players from the one club but in any event would stay away from Sunderland for the tome beong. Bruce will improve them but it could take time.

2 O Shea most likely to start right back for Utd this season so a decent choice. You can always change him later if heā€™s dropped.

3 Captain earns double points. Worth changing depending on what opposition your regular captain is playing. Runts idea of a free scoring midfielder is the best choice eg Lampard, Gerrard Fabergas.

4 Money stays with you so no need to spend now.

5 Donā€™t go near Silvestre. Unlikely to get a run of games this year.

One other thing, you can make one change a week without it costing you any points(every subsequent change costs 4 points), you can also play a Wildcard, this means you can repick your team from scratch. If your team is doing poorly you can use this option, you can only do this once a season but I wouldnā€™t hold onto it too long as you could be too far behind to catch the leaders if you delay unduly.[/quote]

Thanks for this advice,i ended up with 4 from Sunderland because Darren Bent is still listed as Spurs on the site,ill immediately ammend my selection to exclude Silvestre and one Sunderland fella,how would you rate Turner from Hull?

Turner is a decent player but you have to look at a teams overall defence. One guy can be outstanding but the other three lads can be shite which leads to lots of goals conceded. Fulham should have a couple of cheapish defenders and they were fairly solid at the back last year.

My strategy last year was to buy the cheapest defender from the top 4 who was getting picked regularly and saved myselg a good few million in the process. Eg O Shea is probably around 5/6 million while Vidic is nearer 8 but they both get the same points for a clean sheet.

After some deliberations ive gone with the followingā€¦

Given(Man City)

Johnson(Liverpool) O Shea(Man Utd) Turner(Hull) Sagna(Arsenal)

Richardson(sndrland) Mascherano(Pool) Jenas(Spurs) Arshavin(Arsnl)C

Van Persie (Arsenal) Torres(Liverpool)

Subs:Gordon(Sunderland),Bent(Sunderland),Neville(Everton)Ricketts(Bolton)

I used all the money for this lot,i have it in the bag id reckon,dont go copying me now ye bastards.

I just did my team there. 3-4-3 formation is the way forward. Happy enough with how the team turned out. Barring injury Iā€™m sorted.

Just sorted my team, 3-4-3. Iā€™m about 75% happy with it but couldnā€™t be arsed tinkeringā€¦ Iā€™ll give it my upmost attention till october anywayā€¦

Given
Hangerland - Oā€™Shea- Baines

A.Young - FabregasĀ© - Cahill - Cattermole

Agbonlahor - Torres - Doyle

Im still tinkering with my team.

[quote=ā€œChocolateMiceā€]Just sorted my team, 3-4-3. Iā€™m about 75% happy with it but couldnā€™t be arsed tinkeringā€¦ Iā€™ll give it my upmost attention till october anywayā€¦

Given
Hangerland - Oā€™Shea- Baines

A.Young - FabregasĀ© - Cahill - Cattermole

Agbonlahor - Torres - Doyle[/quote]

How much are we playing for again?

A billion Euro wasnt it

Just joined classic league and im ready to open a can of whoop ass :clap:

Any spaces left in head to head league???

[quote=ā€œGavin 2ā€]Just joined classic league and im ready to open a can of whoop ass :clap:

Any spaces left in head to head league???[/quote]

Noā€¦

Hereā€™s my team:

Almunia
Terry - Hangeland - Sheasey - Johnson
Arshavin - Kuyt - Barry - Mascherano - Murphy
Van PersieĀ©

Think Iā€™ll do okay with it, might give the Russian the armband thoughā€¦