FAO Accountants

Well lads. Have a decision to make soon about where to do a Masters in Accounting to get CAP2 exemptions. Basically, its down to UCD or NUIG.

Any of the accountants on here go the Masters route?

UCD is much more expensive but seems to have a better reputation.

Any advice?

yeah- go fuck yourself

:lol: :lol: :lol:

Don’t bother with the Masters Jackie. Waste of time.

If you don’t get the exemption you’ll get three months off in March of your first year to study.

Also, it delays starting your career by a year. The earlier you start the earlier you’ll be the big wig correcting other people’s spreadsheets rather than creating them from scratch.

I think Farmer / Bandage / ClarkeyCat et. al did the masters so they might have a different view.

:lol: :clap:

[quote=“briantinnion, post: 670210”]Don’t bother with the Masters Jackie. Waste of time.

If you don’t get the exemption you’ll get three months off in March of your first year to study.

Also, it delays starting your career by a year. The earlier you start the earlier you’ll be the big wig correcting other people’s spreadsheets rather than creating them from scratch.

I think Farmer / Bandage / ClarkeyCat et. al did the masters so they might have a different view.[/quote]
Bandage didn’t do the masters. I’d be inclined to get paid for the years’s work and get study leave too. The very best chartered accountants I’ve met all skipped the masters.

Thanks for the replies lads. I have already committed to doing the masters as I’m still fairly young and would like another year in college. Obviously, it would be nice to be getting paid but with the sponsorship, I will make a nice profit if I go to NUIG due to the fairly low fees.

You’re so out of touch. No one get study leave in March. Really disappointed with you.

I did a masters. Grand year apart from the thesis at the end which went on during the summer. I say it comes down to if you want to stay in college for another year really.

Fuck sake would ye read the fucking post. He is committed to doing the masters so it’s only a question of where he does it.

Jackie I’d go to UCD as employers recognize it as a proper college.

I dunno Tinnion, alot of the practices now are looking for CAP2 exemptions when doing their recruitment.

I think he has a training contract lined up though, Fagan. So dossing in Galway or going to UCD won’t make a difference.

I think you are better off skipping the masters.

Skip the Masters, Jackie. Just play the British Open, US Open & US PGA.

Thanks again lads. As mentioned above, I have a contract with one of the big 4 and have decided to go the masters route with their sponsorship.

Galway would be handier for me, but obviously UCD seems to have a much better reputation.

After my 3 years training, would ye see it as a disadvantage to have my masters done in NUIG when it comes to employment opportunities at that stage?

[quote=“Jackie Moon, post: 670221”]Thanks again lads. As mentioned above, I have a contract with one of the big 4 and have decided to go the masters route with their sponsorship.

Galway would be handier for me, but obviously UCD seems to have a much better reputation.

After my 3 years training, would ye see it as a disadvantage to have my masters done in NUIG when it comes to employment opportunities at that stage?[/quote]

Makes no odds. As long as you’re with the right Big 4 .

…firm.

Steady on with the NUIG bashing mate. Galway was a college when they were milking fucking cows on Belfield. Besides, the Saw Doctors went to Galway.

If you’re going to be working in Dublin then I’d suggest you do the masters in Dublin.

I didn’t know anyone when I joined the firm I joined as I came straight from college and everyone in my year did the masters. What I found when I joined was that there was a load of cliques that carried over from the masters and I basically spent my first two years in the firm as a bit of a loner being shunned by ClarketCat, farmerinthecity, Omikron’s Nut, iamthegaffer et. al.

I thought briantinnion was weird when he joined my alma mater. I still think he’s weird.