For someone coming from the Waterford direction on Sunday, where would be a good place to park?
I’m assuming you will be coming in the Tipperary road and coming early to be in time for the minor match?
The most direct route would be to leave the Tipperary road at Ballysimon and come down onto the tunnel road (M7) and then leave at the first exit after the tunnel. This will bring you right around to the Caherdavin side of the stadium. You could park along the grass verge on this approach road, which would ensure a quick exit afterwards. If you are in no rush away afterwards you could park in the Na Piarsaigh club grounds nearby.
Probably up around Mulgrave Street, near the prison. It’s on the edge of the City but it is just off the Ballysimon road which is your road home.
That’s terrible advice.
Fagan is near enough death’s door and you are giving him about a 3 mile walk in this fucking heat?
Fagan ODowd please take TreatyStones advice.
FFS- Do not cross the river! He doesn’t need to drive all the way over to the other side of the city, which will be a nightmare with traffic as it is, when he can park up off William st and stroll over the bridge at his own leisure.
Drive in off the motorway.
Park on the grass verge. Less than a mile from the ground. Sit back into the car afterwards and be straight onto the motorway. Couldn’t be easier. Especially as he will be arriving early.
[quote=“TreatyStones, post: 799558, member: 1786”]Drive in off the motorway.
Park on the grass verge. Less than a mile from the ground. Sit back into the car afterwards and be straight onto the motorway. Couldn’t be easier. Especially as he will be arriving early.[/quote]
Yeah, you are right. No one will be at that so he will have the place to himself.
Fire ahead with this plan Fagan, no point walking from the city amongst the green and red and soaking up a bit of atmosphere. I don’t know what I was thinking.
[quote=“Mark Renton, post: 799559, member: 1796”]Yeah, you are right. No one will be at that so he will have the place to himself.
Fire ahead with this plan Fagan, no point walking from the city amongst the green and red and soaking up a bit of atmosphere. I don’t know what I was thinking.[/quote]
Lets not quarrel on this momentous week.
Mark Renton, Treaty Stones has this covered, parking is not your area of expertise. Focus on the Cork head-bashing you don’t need any distractions at this stage.
I presume the Guards are going to close the Ennis Road from Sarsfield Bridge to Ivan’s? In keeping with past traffic plans the estates around Clareview, Mayorstone, Ashbrook etc will be closed to all but residents.
Renton’s plan is not that off the wall as the North side of the city will be a zoo on Sunday. Parking in Mulgrave/Roches Street and the bus from Spaights (shuttle service every few mins) would be just the job for Fagan’s oul legs.
[quote=“Elvis Brandenberg Kremmen, post: 799567, member: 1624”]I presume the Guards are going to close the Ennis Road from Sarsfield Bridge to Ivan’s? In keeping with past traffic plans the estates around Clareview, Mayorstone, Ashbrook etc will be closed to all but residents.
Renton’s plan is not that off the wall as the North side of the city will be a zoo on Sunday. Parking in Mulgrave/Roches Street and the bus from Spaights (shuttle service every few mins) would be just the job for Fagan’s oul legs.[/quote]
Mark’s plan is a grand plan for the yahoos that will be hepped up on goofballs and Buckfast and can bounce away up to the GG from town but for an elderly gentleman going through the tunnel is the only job. Knowing Fagan’s cantankerous nature, he will probably leave at HT in the senior match anyway and have the road to himself on the way home.
Fagan is in the prime of his life, you utter cunts.
Park in the car park at the train station and across to the Railway Hotel for a spot of park and ride for a half an hour.
Or drive on in and throw it (the car) into one of the car parks on Henry street and walk out to the GG or the bus from Spaights. Except that spaights has been demolished now and you might not be able to find it?
I would suggest you come up the night before and stay until Monday. The town will be hopping, take it all in.
Going to Thurles the night before.
You haven’t given much feedback on the suggestions offered above.
Head over the mountain so from Thurles after the match and stay in the Strand on Saturday night. Park up the car ta fuck and have a few large bottles for yourself and soak up the atmosphere.
I have to say I’m tempted to go with advice given by forum sage Mark Renton. The notion of parking in the town and walking across appeals to me. Your advice though novel and innovative seems quite risky as I am not sure that there has been a game of this magnitude since the tunnel opened and therefore nobody could be quite sure how the traffic would pan out over there.
Match traffic will be signposted to go through the tunnel. At least they do for all the big rugby matches. But where to then is the question. It’s a three or four mile walk from town.
All the local housing estates will be blocked off for sure.
The guys who parked on the Condell Road can’t do that any more because it’s a bus lane now.
All the green areas have signs indicating No Parking. They might be more lenient in the summer, I don’t know!
Dunnes don’t allow their own employees to park in their car park, so I personally wouldn’t try park there.
Woodies car park might be an option. I haven’t heard anything about that but it’s a hoor to get out of.
The best and safest option definitely seems to be Na Piarsaigh GAA Club. The local paper says parking is free but you will be asked for a small contribution to the underage teams.