Fao of @caoimhaoin or anyone else who has a clue what they are talking about

I was fucked utterly after the galway bay swim and I’m still not right. Feel tired and wrong whenever I try and train hard at all. Is there a correct way of tapering training?

You could be suffering from overtraining. I would see a GP to be honest.

you shouldn’t be coming onto an online forum for advise, go to a GP

I’d probably see a GP if I were you.

You are getting too old for that shit.

I did the kilkee bay swim last Sunday. I hadn’t done any training for it or swam any distance in a couple of years but i thought it would be grand. It was not. I had been feeling fairly tired and burnt out generally anyway probably having burnt the candle at both ends a bit recently so it was a bad day to do it. I felt like puking most of the way but couldn’t find a way to gawk in the sea. By the end I was getting very cold and cramping. After I got out my vision went blurry and I started shaking and had to sit down. That lasted for quite a while. You might be doing too much lately, train lightly for a while and try to get more sleep would be my recommendation. That’s my recommendation to myself anyway but it’s probably not going to happen any time soon.

Have a few beers, ate a few burgers and have a wank or two and come back to training in a months time.

Flatty is seething that he lost a swim race against a few kids earlier

Thumb.
Up.
Hole.
?

Finally…

Took a while, but you just knew he wouldn’t let us down

Herself has sent me for an echo upon return. Had a heart muscle infection before which left me initially in heart failure, then recovered but never fully. Feel similar now but not as bad.
Did 15 mins 12 seconds for the 1k open water though so can’t be too far dead quite.
I tell you, if it wasn’t for the kids, I’d land in Manchester, book a flight straight to Shannon and go home for good.

What about the poor wife?

She can keep the house

Ah here

:grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes:

The ozujsko is a fine beer.

I neither know nor care what I’m drinking. My word croatian ladies are absolutely lovely.

Don’t get a heart attack in Oireland pal.