After the way Trap treated him, I donât know how Stephen Kelly will ever recover his confidence and return to playing at the heights he thrilled us with for years before Trapâs arrival.
No we didnât you fucking clown. Armenia still had a chance in the last game and luckily their keeper was sent off early otherwise they might have done it.
Oh yeah. I stand by my point though.
On a more serious note though, youâre dismissing the draw in the last group and in the playoffs as lucky and the win over Armenia as lucky (which it wasnât) and you seem to think that reduces the merits of that campaign. So what about the misfortune of the tournament draw which was ridiculously tough, or the Paris loss which was obviously very unlucky. Why didnât they factor into your equation?
Saying it was the end of the road for Trap makes sense. Belittling his record in the first 4 years or suggesting he should have walked away after we were outclassed in a tournament he qualified us for is just nonsense.
In all this shite eulogising Trapp, talk inevitably turns to Paris and how unlucky we were. Have people forgotten how shit we were in losing the first leg and that the team ignored Trapps tactics in the second leg and went out and played their own game. Are memories really that short?
I think most people arenât that retarded Fagan.
I only brought up Paris in the context of others saying how lucky we were to qualify for the Euros. Over the course of his management, Ireland were neither lucky nor unlucky.
Likewise I donât think many people would be naive enough to blame him for tactics in games we played poorly in but to argue that the games we played well in were an example of what we could do when Trap was ignored.
We were the most popular fans with the local Polish community and we won the singing hands down-we even got a âspecialâ award from UEFA. Iâd hardly call that making a show of ourselves.
Whatâs this âTrappâ business about?
He parted ways with the Irish soccer ball team yesterday.
Rocko would never have won that race in the Polish supermarket, if it wasnât for Trapp. Are memories really that short?
He also never would have lost that race against me in the German shopping mall
The video evidence was your downfall mate. My running angle and the skiddy top surface were my downfall.
I have a image of Trapp as one of the guards in Life of Brian, unable to make any sense talking in public and Oxford English in private. Manuela was just a front.
âWe are no Brazilâ
The players he didnât fall out with seem to have gotten on very well with trap by the recent comments from them
I think the beginning of the end for Trap was when he didnât change the side for the third game of the Euroâs against Italy when there was nothing at stake. This seemed to alienate a number of the fringe players to the point of no return.
I thought he did a rather solid job overall when you consider what went before him and the players at his disposal. The fact that we lacked any real quality in the centre of midfield didnât help in term of aesthetics but despite cries of conservatism from the media and fans alike he actually was called up a lot of players and wasnât afraid to throw in those who had impressed in friendlies into competitive action and for the most part these rewarded him with good performances. The fact that he didnât pay much heed to club form seemed to annoy many as well but it was hard to blame him when you would see how inept the likes of Ciaran Clark & Darren Gibson were once they got their chances in the side and how inconsistent the likes of McCarthy and McClean were. As I often said on here as soon as a lad starts getting a bit of gametime in the EPL some people seem to think he should be in the Irish side regardless of their ability and this player in turn ends up being hyped up like fuck. I have always been a big fan of Seamus Coleman but he was in terrible form for Everton in the 2011/2012 season and didnât deserve to go to the Euros ahead of John OâShea and Stephen Kelly who were in far better form and far more proven but this is still used as a stick to beat Trap with
Will be interesting as to who replaces him. OâNeill is the front runner and would probably be a good fit as he seems a good motivator and his style of football would be similar. The only way we are going to be relatively successful in the medium term is as a well organised , compact, counter attacking side. For all that fans would like to see us play more football we simply lack the technical players to do so. We have a lot of depth in terms of players playing regularly in the top two tiers of English football but the issue is they are all rather average footballers in the grand scheme of things. I canât see Big Mick walking out on Ipswich but he would be my choice, failing that OâNeill would probably be the best fit
No itâs fucking not. If so they are a lot of despicable people in Ireland, everyone I meet is delighted the old cunt is gone.
Most people are stupid though.
Most people that had anytime for that prick Trapattoni certainly are, plenty of them on here.