Favourite Dublin Pub that won't exist again

It was gone to pure shit since the new management took over anyway. No loss. Wanky craft beers, reading poetry nights, game nights…get the fuck out of my face.

I thought it had been closed for a good while now

It wouldn’t lace the Mount Pleasant Inn’s boots.

It was a grand spot back in the day. Used to be full of locals and lads having a pint after work. Sure there was a rough little estate beside it and many of the general’s old crew were around, but I never saw any hassle in the place.

Sounds like my type of place. Character but not tipping over into the kip territory.

Is O’Sheas on talbot street still going?

I moved into a pace around the corner from it in 2011 just off Rugby Road. There was 24 hour Garda presence cos some scumbag had slept with rival scumbag Brian Rattigan’s woman was living in the flats opposite and there was a hit out on him.

Yes it is I was in there dropping off tickets the Sunday of the all ireland. The auld lad passed away in the last 12 month’s or so.

Doing a solid trade too

You’d want to be one shit pub owner to be not cleaning up in Dublin at the moment. The place is Alive with money again.

They used to do a lovely roast beef there

Has anyone mentioned Briody’s on Marlborough Street? Was in there last Wednesday evening. Still terrific.

Great stout and company. They run a good shop.

A great shout.

They sure do.

The quintessence of all that’s likeable about Dubness.

In my time frequenting the place The Hill was the closest thing I’ve experienced in Dublin that I could describe as a “local”. Was always a nice mix of punters to chat away to; local lads and lassies who were allergic to work ,chippies, accountants, labourers, engineers, sparks, barristers, actors and even the odd stonemason. If you fancied a row on any topic you’d have no problem finding a willing adversary (TFK in the real world I suppose!) Yeah it was a bit rough around the edges at times but that’s what added to the character. Good boozer with great staff (Robbie of The Flowing Tide fame as mentioned by @farmerinthecity here somewhere was the barman when I first arrived) and most importantly a great pint of stout. Hopefully now that the craft beer/hipster cunts have fucked off we might see the old place restored to it’s former glory!!

Now that you mention it Robbie told me that he worked in the Hill for years.

Is that shithole still open?!

Spot on.