I’ve always been a big fan of guitar-driven music. Nothing like seeing a virtuoso blazing a trail on the fretboard. I’m going to kick this off with Stevie Ray Vaughan
Me
Every guitarist mentioned so far is complete shite
I went through a phase of this when younger, was big into Steve Vai. Then one day realised it was musical wanking and Steve Vai’s music was complete and utter shit. I don’t mind Stevie Ray Vaughan, but this kind of thing turns me off. I’d be more interested in guitarists who are either subtle in how they use their instrument (ooh er madam) like Jonny Greenwood or can just produce a wall of noise (Hendrix, Gallagher).
I will mention one I think never gets the recognition he deserves - The Clontarf Cowboy himself, Phillip Donnelly.
Brilliant addition to the thread right there, although I’m sure you’ll hurt @PoisonousMisanthrope’s feelings with this. Changed the thread title for you pal. Then again, maybe you’re just trolling???
I went through a phase of liking guys that are technically gifted too. I’m still in that phase. And yes - Vai is utter shit in my opinion. I would struggle to find one song of his that I could listen to. On the other hand, all of the guitarists I posted above have crafted beautiful songs that I really like.
I see you posted Prine and Donnelly - cracking stuff pal. I regularly play Prine and my young lad loves it. Just goes to show you don’t need to fly up and down the fretboard to be appreciated as an amazing guitarist.
Always thought Mark Knoppfler was underrated.
I always thought Mark Knopfler was rated fairly highly to be honest
J. J. Cale
Maybe so pal, but not as highly rated as say The Edge, and that’s mad to me. Love that video of Knopfler - two great guitarists having the craic!
Ah he would be.
Johnny Marr wins this for me. If only for How Soon is Now
Agreed. If we’re to exclude technical fretwankers like Vai, Satriani et al, and include those who create a soundscape with the instrument, Johnny Marr is the king.
Pete Townshend is another in this category, along with the aforementioned Knopfler and Robbie Robertson.
I’ve never seen the guitar ratings agency disclose their ratings but I think Mark Knophler is generally regarded in a general sense by many people as a tremendous guitarist.
Ah for fucks sake, Knophler would be rated miles ahead of the Edge. At the end of the day most people realize Edge is all about pedals and effects. He creates some interesting soundscapes, but is a very limited musician. Knophler can actually play and is a tasteful guitar player.
My favs over the years
Robert Fripp
Bill Frissell
Richard Thompson
Tom Verlaine
Hendrix
Prince - an absolutely cracking guitar player on all respects
Johnny Marr
Yes, there is no universe in which Knophler is not considered one of the most respected guitar players on the last 50 years. No idea where Ironmoth is coming from with that.
Couldn’t agree more pal, but take Rolling Stones 100 Greatest Guitarists poll - Edge #38, Knopfler #44.
All I said is Knopfler is underrated - never said he was NOT rated. The fact that the RS poll puts him below the edge is a fine example of what I’m talking about.
The fact he is in the top 50 would tell you he is hardly underrated.
That he is rated behind the Evans, well shit like that is always subjective.