No, and Iām not denying they hurt the Cuban economy, but Castroās policies hurt it more. Unless you believe communism is a better economic model than capitalism.
Michael D is very confused based on this.
What would you describe Jeremy Corbyn, Justin Trudeau, Ken Livingstone and Michael D as then?
As I said, not all on the left have defended Castro but there are an embarrassing set who look to give the guy glowing praise.
We are all aware of Americaās hypocrisy in world affairs to keep the global order at times. We are reminded of this regularly by the types of people mentioned above. These are the type of people who like to back slap themselves for opposing apartheid, for opposing Pinochet, for attending stop the war marches and for slamming Guantanamo Bay.
Yet they support this guy?
The things they regularly whinge about, he pretty much breached them all.
-Unelected
-Handed power to his brother
-Lived with vast wealth
-Imprisioned his opponents
-Murdered citizens of the country
-Made refugees out of a significant portion of his citizens
But some of the university liberal set who liked his mischief in opposing America, continue to defend him and look for ābalanceā.
You are drunk, this confirms it
I took issue with your assertion that most Cubans were better off under Batista than Castro. You have yet to back that statement up and Iām still calling it bullshit. If that makes me a champagne socialist in your eyes then so be it.
Come back to me when you actually have some hard evidence to back up that statement.
Whataboutery at its purest. Very very poor argument.
Castro was an unelected dictator who murdered thousands and imprisoned thousands more. An issue such as thus deserves to be discussed through facts, not whataboutery.
No, palā¦ I think a regulated capitalism works well - but when itās not regulated and a small percentage use it to murder and rule then itās gonna create systems such as communism to combat the corruptness of it.
Iām living the dream pal.
Fair enough. You are clearly not a champagne socialist, carefully balancing drinking expensive beverages out of a jam jar. @Matty_Hislop is likely pouring his 50E gin out of a Waterford decanter.
You have it backwards, unsurprisingly. You made the assertion that the average Cuban is better off under Castro than they were under Basista, so the onus is on you to back up that claim. Open that bottle of gin and have a few champagne cocktails and do a bit of research.
Incorrect chef, you talked shit and I pulled you up on it. Now please come back to me when you can back up your wild claims. Iāll be online until the end of the Oakland Raiders game.
There is your quote. Please provide supporting evidence for your claim.
You canāt be a āsocialistā in the 21at century without looking and sounding like a gombeen. A lot of evidence of that in this thread. Lefties are not all stupid non achieving wasters but to argue what they are intent on arguing doesnāt do them any favours.
@Watch_The_Break stance is Castro the unelected dictator who murdered thousands wasnt the worst because ālook at Hondurasā. This guy has a PhD. Deary me.
Yes, my quote was in response to your wild claim. Now are you actually going to back up that claim?
communism and socialism is a big joke to be fair, the āgovernmentā pretend there is a load of work and then the people pretend to work and the āgovernmentā pretends to pay them, anyone who complains disappears. A great system
Youāll always have a few lefty headbangers and champagne socialists defending it
Castro was a great man,
Pity Cuba have recently succumbed to letting American bullshit like McDonalds etc in though.
Castros intentions were good.
Are you drunk? Go back and read the thread. My first comment here was in response to your illogical claim. Youāre just time wasting now.
Ah here chief. You could argue the same about Hitler
apart from the murder, torture and repression he was a grand chap
Because they hate FREEDOM mate
I dont think you can compare the two pal.