Film Review Thread aka the mbb spoiler alert thread

Went to see A Most Violent Year last night, really enjoyed it.

Finally saw Whiplash the other day. Superb. 8-9/10.

Watched The Martian last night. Fucking dreadful. Was only expecting an enjoyable distraction but it was really shite. Jokes were lame and plot was boring. 3/10.

Joy was directed. Could have been half decent but was trying was too hard to be artistic.

Steve Jobs was passable. Fassbender is immense.

Bridge of Spies was thoroughly enjoyable, most engrossing.

The Hateful 8 - typical Tarintino fare, if you’re a fan you’ll enjoy the film immensely which has a great cast - Jackson, Roth, Madsen etc etc …Kurt Russell was also decent. Was a little disappointed with the end as it turned into a ott gore fest. 7/10.

As opposed to Tarantino’a other movies such as… :confused:

Agree, the film is grand but it’s just an incredible story.

Heart of the Sea -pretty much what you’d expect. Enjoyable if you like that kind of thing.

Inside Out -unreal! The level of imagination that went into this is amazing. Very funny and heart warming without becoming twee. 5/6

I was disappointed with it and as you said, the ending was shite. Started well but just died a death after a too long chapter 3. 4/10

Heart of the Sea - Good, solid flick, enjoyed it. 7/10
Bridge of Spies - outstanding story, well acted, good show. 8/10
Star Wars - very good, Ben & Jerry loved it, recommend it. 8.5/10

I thought heart of sea was terrible.

Ah here - how could you be disappointed when his last two films ended exactly as you described?!

Go back boozing…

It’s an old film so most of ye have probably watched it but saw The Shawshank Redemption tonight.

Very good movie and I’d recommend it to any posters who haven’t watched it before

You should have dragged up a 1994 thread for that one

Cheers, pal. Will check it out in the coming weeks.

I assume they regularly show it in parish halls because I’ve yet to come an entire match programme where no Muldoon player hasn’t mentioned it as their favourite movie to watch with the steak and chips

Yea, I think that one goes all the way back to Limerick’s appearance in an All Ireland final in 1994…

It didn’t win any Oscar according to Mrs DB

It more or less went straight to video in a lot of countries after a poor enough opening stateside.

It is definitely the most overrated film of all time. It’s a solid 4 star though.

Very uplifting

I always find it amusing how people describe it as a feelgood film. If you ignore the gang rape, murders, misjustice of carriage, crawling through shit, etc etc. Of course, its very uplifting.