Fisty Ball

Martin Breheny had a lash off Gaelic football today, claiming the game is hand-passing itself into oblivion.

Discuss.

It’s tyrones fault.

The monaghan goalkeeper and the Gooch need to start having kids ASAP. We’ll breed our way out of this one.

Was it last year’s final … possibly a semi final — where there was over 600 hand passes? 3:1 ratio to kicking

They said that up here when the skillful Damien cassidy married the daughter of tyrone hardman patsy forbes. Someone envisaged a peerless footballer with the guts of forbes and the talent of cassidy.
Someone else suggested a player with the guts if cassidy and the skill of forbes would be just as likely and of no use to anyone

Overreaction.

Viewing figures are very stable and consistently above those of hurling.

Something needs to be done with hurling to increase its popularity around the country.

Any thoughts ?

That’s a very surprising post … I bet no one thought you’d come in and deflect from Breheny’s assertion and have a go at hurling instead.

Now that you’ve got that out of your system, have you any thoughts on Breheny’s claim? – there’s no denying that the amount of hand passing in the majority of games is killing it as a spectacle … When football is good it’s very good but there’s usually only 2-4 championship games a year where you can say that … Is that really good enough for the more popular and 32 county game?

I can only speak for myself and I’m enjoying Gaelic Football no less than I ever did mate.

Are you ever going to grow out of this fisty ball and rubby lark by the way ?

Interesting that you mention rubby and fisty ball … apparently, there’s more hand passes in Gaelic football than in rugby, a game predominately played out of the hand.

And no, i’m probably never going to grow out of it at this stage.

It’s very childish behaviour

We all have our vices, mate…

However, I will say that watching football royalty like Kerry play the game can be a joy to watch. Similarly, Mayo have been great to watch over recent years.

I loved Wexford’s third and Diarmuid O’Keeffe’s first point the other day when we hand-passed it from one end of the field to the other before he slapped it over from 30 yards. Hand passing is great. Corofin’s opening goal in the final with all the quick hand passes was class.

Obituaries for Gaelic football have been written as long as I can remember. The game is in rude health.

It’s very Hot Press late 80s shite. Was not funny then and not funny now.

That’s fine, mate … I just wanted thoughts on Breheny’s claim …if you enjoy it more power to you. Some lads get very defensive.

Who’s aiming for funny?? It’s the truth.

I thought @Balbec created the term “rubby”, really liked it and have embraced it with every fibre of my being. Even to the detriment of my e-relationship with @Locke who e-ended things with me at the weekend.

Rubby is Limerick vernacular at its finest, mate… it’s how you’ll hear the bin men and dockers pronounce Rugby.

Rubby was always how it was pronounced in my part of Cork anyway

Stale banter