Fitness XL- Your training routine

[quote=“Mark Renton, post: 856305, member: 1796”]Went to my guy to relieve me… raised my leg up and said yeah, that’s fucked. Twenty minutes dry needling and some stretching has sorted it. As soon as he stuck the first needle in my whole glute jumped as he hit right on a knot/trigger point, the same when he hit my hammy. First time getting it done, and my glute is numb as fuck now but the blockage has been released and i’m moving freely.

He advised a mixture of Kevs and Ulteriors M’s advice and said I need to stretch /loosen out every half hour if i am sitting for long periods…He is big on yoga but that’s a non runner for me currently. He was also giving out about my flat footwear, said they are the cause of a lot of lower back and hip injuries.[/quote]

Seems like you are getting good advice. The needling is good alright, although I prefer the all out Accupuncture. Can be painful and you are very drained after it but once a month is the job.

Big Fan of dry needling, butI doubt youd need more than 3-4 sessions a year, loosens one right up…

He jazzed the current up at one stage and I thought I was gonna take off, but as soon as I felt pain he brought it down again. My glute was twitching like fuck inbetween currents… The last time he sorted it by stretching, holding and releasing so I take it that it was a bit more severe this time… It was my own fault as I have eased off stretching yet I am doing a lot more running. Lesson learned.

Well the stretching is PNF I’d imagiNe and musculoskeletal whereas the needling is neural. That’s why it can fatigue you even though you are lying down.

Yeah, he did explain it as that, saying the needle actually injures you and sends a message to the brain to heal the area in question.

[quote=“Mark Renton, post: 856305, member: 1796”]Went to my guy to relieve me… raised my leg up and said yeah, that’s fucked. Twenty minutes dry needling and some stretching has sorted it. As soon as he stuck the first needle in my whole glute jumped as he hit right on a knot/trigger point, the same when he hit my hammy. First time getting it done, and my glute is numb as fuck now but the blockage has been released and i’m moving freely.

He advised a mixture of Kevs and Ulteriors M’s advice and said I need to stretch /loosen out every half hour if i am sitting for long periods…He is big on yoga but that’s a non runner for me currently. He was also giving out about my flat footwear, said they are the cause of a lot of lower back and hip injuries.[/quote]
Who did the dry needling and how much does it cost, bud? Do you have to get a consultation done first?

My physio, mate. It only cost me 40 bucks, but I have a special rapport with my guy so it may cost you more- Unless you too have a special rapport with a man who asks you to take your pants off and jump up on his bed. I was assessed on the day, so not sure if you can just ring up and ask for it specifically.

I’m vary wary of Physios mate-I’ve come across a lot of useless ones in my quest for a pain free back, gluts and hamstrings. I will ask my Osteopath about this dry needling malarky the next time he has me bent over his table-I will tell him that two men I’m friends with on the internet recommended it.

I’m wary myself kid. But this chap is more than a physio, he has the scientific credintials but also a lot of alternative ones behind him also. He deals with pain and finding the cause of pain -whether it be stress, over exercise or whatever. Most physio’s treat the symptom, he tries to find the cause, and he is a sound chap too. The last time I was with him he was talking indepth about the affect of stress on the internal organs and injuries…

http://www.donkellypainrelief.ie/

[quote=“Mark Renton, post: 856305, member: 1796”]Went to my guy to relieve me… First time getting it done, but the blockage has been released and i’m moving freely.
This floppy dick problem is getting increasingly problematic.

[quote=“Mark Renton, post: 856342, member: 1796”]I’m wary myself kid. But this chap is more than a physio, he has the scientific credintials but also a lot of alternative ones behind him also. He deals with pain and finding the cause of pain -whether it be stress, over exercise or whatever. Most physio’s treat the symptom, he tries to find the cause, and he is a sound chap too. The last time I was with him he was talking indepth about the affect of stress on the internal organs and injuries…

http://www.donkellypainrelief.ie/[/quote]
Wish I knew that when I lived up the road from him. My Osteopath is the same-didn’t even look at my MRI scans until after he examined me. He is a genius and a really nice man to boot-all about the long term fix and tells me to fuck off and not come back for 3 or 4 months unless I am in pain not like most Physios I’ve ever had who think sessions twice a week for 6 months is the best thing for my hammys and their wallets.

Yeah this chap is the same- ‘Phone me if there is pain, if not, I hope I don’t have to see you for a while’. :clap:

Was thinking about giving the dry needling a go. Think I will now given your results. Yoga is great for “opening up the hips” but classes are expensive and again it is a question of priorities and how much time a week you have.

A few shots of vodka is a lot cheaper and usually does the trick…

Then you could always “Quill” her I suppose.

[quote=“Kinvara’s Passion, post: 856389, member: 686”]A few shots of vodka is a lot cheaper and usually does the trick…

Then you could always “Quill” her I suppose.[/quote]

oooooooooooooohhhh

I could see a few of you lads in short shorts and moustaches down the back of a hot yoga class.

Tried it before. I liked hot ashtanga, didn’t like bikram at all.

Went to bikram 3 times, thought the first one was ok but it was done by an easy going fella. Next two by this cuntbag who was roaring at people, including me, to get into the poses. I thought this was kinda anti the ethos of yoga and relaxed healing and this was confirmed by my physio who said its a gimmick, people do crash courses and then open their own franchises and she said people get injured at it.

After years of looking for a decent physio, which i only have to go to sparingly, ive found one. Has her clinic or whatever in her front room with all candles and shite and i thought christ this looks amateur, but shes a miracle worker. Had me there for two and a half hours the first day and just charged me the hourly rate, always runs over the hour a good bit and just says do the strengthening exercises and stretches i gave you and call me when you want. The previous one i went to should have treated me with a balaclava on in comparison. Have done dry needling, not a big fan of the feeling of it but it does good.

[quote=“maroonandwhite, post: 856534, member: 1406”]Went to bikram 3 times, thought the first one was ok but it was done by an easy going fella. Next two by this cuntbag who was roaring at people, including me, to get into the poses. I thought this was kinda anti the ethos of yoga and relaxed healing and this was confirmed by my physio who said its a gimmick, people do crash courses and then open their own franchises and she said people get injured at it.

After years of looking for a decent physio, which i only have to go to sparingly, ive found one. Has her clinic or whatever in her front room with all candles and shite and i thought christ this looks amateur, but shes a miracle worker. Had me there for two and a half hours the first day and just charged me the hourly rate, always runs over the hour a good bit and just says do the strengthening exercises and stretches i gave you and call me when you want. The previous one i went to should have treated me with a balaclava on in comparison. Have done dry needling, not a big fan of the feeling of it but it does good.[/quote]
That shouting one sounds rubbish, not like anything I ever did. I did hot ashtanga in London. Felt great after it. Then did a month of bikram in Limerick, not as good at all. After ashtanga all the little niggles and tightnesses loosened out, the bikram made me feel more tense if anything. Some great views though.

Have a decent physio in Limerick and another guy who is a physical therapist who is very good too, the second guy especially will put you through the ringer but it’ll sort you out.

[quote=“glasagusban, post: 856545, member: 1533”]That shouting one sounds rubbish, not like anything I ever did. I did hot ashtanga in London. Felt great after it. Then did a month of bikram in Limerick, not as good at all. After ashtanga all the little niggles and tightnesses loosened out, the bikram made me feel more tense if anything. Some great views though.

Have a decent physio in Limerick and another guy who is a physical therapist who is very good too, the second guy especially will put you through the ringer but it’ll sort you out.[/quote]
Let’s face it, the best yoga instructors wouldn’t be gravitating towards Limerick.