Great article, he makes some excellent points. You’d hope some inter-county players/managers read it as there’s way, way more going under the knife now than we’ve ever seen before.
The amount of lads getting hip operations is crazy. Falvey knows his stuff and a nicer lad you will not meet.
Managers are mostly the problem.
Learn to engage your core thru bracing and breathing first. Then once you know what doing the work and you learn to engage the right muscles those machinesay be grand. Problem is people don’t know how to use them or do regular abdominal work on the ground. If you feel you are using you hip Flexors or Glutes or anything other than your abs then something is amiss.
Not much wrong with theses jones or crunches or sit ups, it’s just most people use them poorly.
Learn to engage your core thru bracing and breathing first. Then once you know whats doing the work and you learn to engage the right muscles those machinesay be grand. Problem is people don’t know how to use them or do regular abdominal work on the ground. If you feel you are using you hip Flexors or Glutes or anything other than your abs then something is amiss.
Not much wrong with theses jones or crunches or sit ups, it’s just most people use them poorly.
Are those scales which give you a body fat reading worth a fuck?
If you want to measure body fat I found one I had is reasonably accurate. At very least they measure trends so you can see a progression ie don’t focus on absolute number if it is falling. If you google there are some decent visual guides to body fat to help you estimate where you are
Calling runners such as @caoimhaoin[/USER], @[USER=276]fenwaypark etc. It’s probably been debated before but there must be more information out on it now - gait analysis, is it a bit of a cod? I have been meaning to get new runners for a long time as the ones i have are a bit knackered and must be at least three years old. I have blisters on my feet tonight after doing a longer than usual run, i’m inclined to blame the runners but then again it could be my feet aren’t used to that extra demand. Also i had different socks on that i never wear running so the friction there might have contributed too. There’s a specialist running shop within driving distance that i might check out. Note: thankfully i have no trouble with calves, ligaments, muscles etc just a few blisters tonight so maybe there’s no need to do gait and get runners that will change my running style, if it’s not broke dont fix it etc?
Blisters would have nothing to do with your runners. Pick up a pair of ‘1000 miles’ socks from that running shop and that will sort that out.
If you current runners have not caused you any injury, then get a new pair. They obviously suit your style of running and if its not broke…
I use to suffer from ITB, but when I got custom orthotics it cleared right up. Since then, I’ve had a good few injuries. These were due to my own stupidity rather than the orthotics.
IMO the only thing to avoid is high heel basket ball shoes or runners that have massive heels. These tilt you too much and your planter Flexion and dorsi Flexion are disjointed. Basically that’s the mivent of striking the ground and taking off.
There is a study around that shows cheep runners cause less injuries cos they have less material so you run more natural. I do all I can barefoot on grass, but that’s not practical in Ireland.
Nike free suit me. But basically it’s very little to do with runners, it’s usually mechanical or technical issues that cuse injuries.
Under active glutes,Weak Glutes, tight hammys, tight hip flexors, tight pecs, tight lats, over active quads and most common pelvic tilts either forward or backward are all the most common issues with running sores and injuries
“Under active glutes,Weak Glutes, tight hammys, tight hip flexors, tight pecs, tight lats, over active quads and most common pelvic tilts either forward or backward are all the most common issues”
TFK members physical attributes, ailments right here in a nutshell. None of your fathers ever discussed tight hip flexors with their mates. Modern men.
15 mins mobility/warm up
Followed by this circuit:
TRX Rows
Balance Ball squats
TRX Plank
TRX squat jumps
Burpees
Press ups
Sit ups
Mountain climbers
Elbows to hands plank
TRX Rows
Kettle Bell Swing
TRX Plank
TRX squat jumps
Glute Band walk
Walking lunges with weight
Tyre Push
15secs on, 15 off as a warm up/get familiar
then
35secs on, 25 off.
[quote=“TheUlteriorMotive, post: 912680, member: 2272”]“Under active glutes,Weak Glutes, tight hammys, tight hip flexors, tight pecs, tight lats, over active quads and most common pelvic tilts either forward or backward are all the most common issues”
TFK members physical attributes, ailments right here in a nutshell. None of your fathers ever discussed tight hip flexors with their mates. Modern men. [/quote]
Please see Injuries Thread. I’ve a hip labral tear and may need surgery. But first I need to work on my flexors, glutes, quads, hammys etc.
I may also have to retire. How did you deal with the transition from being a football icon and being in the limelight to being just another ex footballer? It’s my biggest fear.
[quote=“Mark Renton, post: 912717, member: 1796”]+1
I may also have to retire. How did you deal with the transition from being a football icon and being in the limelight to being just another ex footballer? It’s my biggest fear.[/quote]
Sorry to hear that, bro-have you been properly diagnosed yet?
It’s my S.I joint…
Good circuit. Only thing I don’t like is any plyometric work after 12-15 secs is redundant and overly fatiguing. Otherwise it it’s all the right movements and it’s order is good.
[quote=“TreatyStones, post: 912683, member: 1786”]15 mins mobility/warm up
Followed by this circuit:
TRX Rows
Balance Ball squats
TRX Plank
TRX squat jumps
Burpees
Press ups
Sit ups
Mountain climbers
Elbows to hands plank
TRX Rows