The zenith for trad or maybe Irish music in general. Never got to see them live sadly but did see Moving Hearts a few times who were incredible in full flight, fusion Irish at its finest
What defines Irish people more than anything is our love for English football. So next weekend will indeed be a unique celebration of what makes us Irish, as the Premier League makes its grand return, and Irish people from up and down the land either make the pilgrimage in person, fill pubs with big screens, plonk themselves in front of the telly for the day, or log onto free, illegal internet streams.
I’m looking forward to Declan Lynch’s annual column about the hope that fills all of us, that this year will be our year, no matter who “we” is.
It begins again.
OK mate, possibly all true, but I’m Irish and I think it’s shite
Different people like different things
Like @Gary_Birtles_Lovechi i also love folk music
That’s folk music in my estimation, brilliant
Nobody in Ireland really cares about the premier league until the middle of September.
Where do you draw the line?
Fuck sake of course fellas are going to argue the difference here between Dithery aydle dil de dum and Hey diddle di diddle do diddle day, unless you are at least 4 porters in it all sounds like shite to me.
They will this year and in every year going forward, given that winter now begins on the second last Sunday in July.
On a table in Tatler Jack’s.
Stick to the rap music homeboy
Folk? The cords behind Tobhair dom do lamh date back to the 1600s… And it’s not traditional music?
The EPL is just a soap opera to pass winter. No one really cares about it bar a few odd balls - not like hurling or NFL.
Mullingar is a grand town. Combining it with tonnes of brilliant Irish music sounds amazing, wish I was home for this.
500,000 visitors sounds like a serious stretch. Basically an All Ireland final every day for a week.
Closer to a million I reckon.
Sorry, actually I thought that was just raggle taggle gypsy
The other one is clearly a purely trad tune, and I recognise that the artists are accomplished, but it’s not for me
@anon67715551 @Fagan_ODowd and other slightly older lads what do ye remember about the folk revival in the 70s… did it become genuinely ‘cool’ to like trad and folk music among a majority of young people? There must have been a big kick back from the hot press George Byrne Declan lynch types who @Malarkey hates?
Lyrics seems to be where you draw the line? Id imagine similar music is the backing track to Christy’s singing in the first part. I’d be the same regarding dance music. Any type of a lyric improves my enjoyment massively even if it’s just ‘lager, lager’ or ‘music response’ or something.
Boxty asked a great question that youve avoided… Do you think these ‘folk’ artists just picked it up one night? To me theyre all one and the same, just different branches of the one tree. I dont disagree that a lot of the ceili stuff is shit but i don’t think you can neatly set some Irish music aside as folk to suit. Behind many of these artists is traditional instruments playing traditional music. Folk to me is something completely different - it’s story telling.