Football Chants

Nothing bigoted about hoping a bigot dies. And there are worse ways of dying than in your sleep so it’s not the harshest wish ever.

Tinnion’s post is interesting. I read people posting about that chant on other forums and saying how despicable it was and had no place in football. To be honest I don’t really agree - it’s mildly amusing and no harm will actually come from it.

There’s a difference between mocking an actual tragic event though and just aspiring for it to happen. Don’t like songs about Hillsborough/Munich/Ibrox disaster/Davie Cooper/Johnny Doyle but just singing that someone should die isn’t all that. We wouldn’t have any national athems if everyone was so cautious with their words.

Go way outta dat ya clown.

If you were asked to fight for your country you’d fill you considerably sized boxers with runny excrement.

The lads in the Brittish army are only doing their job.

And you enjoying the banter with the boys up in Stormont at the cricket last year. Clown.

You wanted Novo to die in his sleep or get killed by the IRA

Ever so slightly bigotted there…

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]You wanted Novo to die in his sleep or get killed by the IRA

Ever so slightly bigotted there…[/quote]

One rule for us and another for them farmer. I’m shoulder to shoulder with you (well my head to your shoulder) on this one.

That means nothing to me you miserable, uptight fuck…

This is a bit mad. Appendage actually agrees with me. I’ve said all this before i.e One rule for us and another for them

What are you on??? I’m agreeing with you.

Farmer, whether you’re pro or anti-IRA one thing they’re certainly not is sectarian. I’m aghast that you even made that suggestion. I could have sworn they were set up to try free Ireland of occupying crown forces but maybe all those history books I read were making the whole thing up. People all over the world have taken arms throughout history when they’ve been oppressed by foreign invaders. That’s not sectarianism you fool.

Nobody is forced to join the British Army and take a pay cheque to kill people in places where they have no right to be like Iraq, Afghanistan and six occupied counties in my own country.

I don’t know where Appendage is going with his ‘if you had to fight for your country’ rubbish. My whole point is I don’t and neither do those scumbags. Are they prevented from learning a trade or working in a shop or office?

Do some of you lads mourn the loss of British troops in Iraq or something? Fookers who killed or assisted in the killing of thousands of Irish people. Personally, I think if someone’s willing to take on that ‘career’ then they deserve everything they get.

Alternative Novo chant:

I hope you die in your sleep Nacho Novo
I hope you die in your sleep I pray
I hope you die in your sleep Nacho Novo
Or with a bullet from the IRA

That’s what I thought the chant was originally Bandage but it seems to have morphed into something else last night.

Farmer - at what point in history did the IRA become bigots in your opinion?

Anyway fair play to Flango for using this as a chance to highlight double standards - there’s feck all rules for anyone on this board Flango. Everyone has their opinion. The only shite that’s ever been deleted is stuff where:

a) the original poster themselves requested it or
http://www.thefreekick.com/board/public/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/cool.gif posts by Ball or in threads by Ball who was banned for being a racist and boring prick.

I’d delete outwardly provocative racist posts too (because I hate racism) but that was taken care of by point (http://www.thefreekick.com/board/public/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/cool.gif above.

The Ra were possibly set-up for legitimate reasons but the noble cause soon went out the window when they realised that they were stronger than the cops in certain areas so they decided to get into organised crime. They are not an organistaion to respect - they are one to despise.

Why do you want him to be killed by the IRA as a matter of interest?

Also has Novo done anything particularly bad apart from playing for Rangers? If not then that is bigotry and don’t try to kid yourself that it is anything else.

He stamped on three Celtic players in the space of a month. He’s an utterly contemptible despicable subhuman being who earns money through employment from a bigoted sectarian organisation.

Because it rhymes with ‘pray’.

You’re really coming across as a simpleton here. Are you seriously implying that anyone who hates a hun player is a bigot?

As for your ‘don’t try to kid yourself’ - will you ever stop taking the piss. I’m not kidding anyone and I certainly don’t need your approval to sing what I want and no amount of moralising will change that either.

I hate Novo, a vile, sub-human, little piece of vermin (who happens to be a Spanish Catholic) because he’s a cunt and because he plays for the huns.

We’ve had this debate before and I have no real interest in revisting it.

There is nothing, absolutely nothing, bigoted about hating an institution like the huns built and based around religious segregation, sectarianism and racism.

As I said before, it’s akin to calling anti-racist protesters racists themselves for hating the group that’s spouting all the racism. Completely daft.

It’s not bigoted. It’s simply a matter of hating those cunts and anyone who has the lack of self-respect and lack of common decency to represent them.

Ok so if a player from Hibs stamped on a Celtic player would you want to kill him? No? So it is the Rangers thing.

I have heard so much about the beauty of Celtic being all encompassing, and how you buy into it, but you fall down on the most difficult test - encompassing the enemy…

Answer the question - why do you want the Ra to kill him?

[quote=“Bandage”]As sweet a rendition as ever before tonight of:

Can you hear the Rangers sing?
No, No.
No, No.
I can’t hear a fooking thing.
Woah, Woah, Woah.[/quote]

To the same tune and actually sung by some Bara fans too the week I was there:

Have you seen a handsome Hun?
No, no.
No, no.
I ain’t seen a fooking one.
Woah, Woah, Woah

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Ok so if a player from Hibs stamped on a Celtic player would you want to kill him? No? So it is the Rangers thing.

I have heard so much about the beauty of Celtic being all encompassing, and how you buy into it, but you fall down on the most difficult test - encompassing the enemy…

Answer the question - why do you want the Ra to kill him?[/quote]

That’s absolute horseshit farmer. Why should I love racists? Why should I love sectarian bigots? Why should I love people who I have nothing but contempt for?

I don’t see your big issue with the Ra killing him. It’s one of two options mentioned and there’s no real preference expressed.

Well I see a huge issue with wanting the Ra to kill him…

Ra are as big of scum as Huns…

And did you not ask before when the Ra became bigotted?
Ah here - how many thousand Protestants did they kill in the North?

Why does the religion of their victims matter to you? I don’t think Protestants should be killed just because they’re Protestant - that’s a terrible state of affairs. That was never the military objective of the IRA though and one I’d never support.*

And it’s telling that whatever contempt you hold the Ra in you can still manage the sentence “Ra are as big of scum as Huns…”

You do realise that you’ve justified any condemnation of the huns who are supposed to be a football club and wouldn’t really be supposed to be as controversial as a guerilla army.

*Never should be the word in bold but I like this trend on here of putting the wrong word in bold - it’s amusingly distracting.

Farmer, that last post is bollox and I’m sure you’ll admit that yourself if you review it, mainly the all encompassing bit and how Celtic fall down on the most difficult test. You see Celtic’s most difficult test as being all encompassing and welcoming to the huns? Our most bitter and hated rivals? Do you expect us to meet before the game with them and regale each other with tales of games past? Swap scarves and jerseys? Applaud each other on and off the park? Get real for fook sake. This test you mention is a test or exam Celtic never intend sitting I’m afraid. Cop yourself on - Celtic do not, have never, and never will, set to gain approval from and welcome a body of people and an institution that’s completely alien to the principles that Celtic was founded upon. It’s an intense rivalry between two teams and sets of support who are the polar opposites of each other, the only thing they have in common being the city they play in.

And shirt sponsors, they’ve shared the same shirt sponsors for a fair bit of the last 20 years. And Kenny Miller, Kenny would be a common factor along with Mo Johnson. Plus John Hartson had medicals with both clubs, another thing in common…

Been reading this thread and lads, please, for the love of God, don’t talk about the IRA with any positives, these para’s are the scum of the earth! No other word for it. There is no need for a chant to be sung, or praised or seen in a positive light about an illegal organisation like the IRA to shoot a player because he happened to stamp on or kick or whatever to your team. Come on, there are bigger things in life happening. Grow up!

Why t’fuck do you want him kiled by the Ra? You still haven’t answered. Or maybe there is no answer.

I agree that Rangers was founded on an utterly despicable foundation of bigotry and sectarianism. I would question why anyone would want to play for them.

As Bandage said Celtic and Rangers are polar opposite. Celtic were setup based on all encompassing. I never said that you should love them but don’t fall to their level of vileness, liking hoping that there players are murdered and the likes. That is never acceptable and I would think goes against what Celtic stand for.

The IRA reference is critical. With that you are introducing a sectarian slant to it. Bigotry also I would argue. There is no need for it. It is ‘Up the Ra - the slayer of Protestants’. In reality they are as big of scum of those you want to kill.