Football Chants

Farmer, the IRA are not sectarian and I’ve already answered why it’s used in this particular song. It’s a rhyme for fook sake and it’s dark humour.

Farmer / Lockes, unlike you two seemingly, I don’t go weak at the knees if a song references the IRA and I don’t share your outrage over it. I think it’s a cracking little ditty and I don’t think wishing this cunt ill is all that big a deal. Just to clarify, I hope Nacho Nove dies a horrible death.

That slayer of Protestants remark is off the fooking wall Farmer.

You’re some fooking clown.

The reason IRA is used is because it rhymes?

The slayer of Protestants is not my view but is the only reason I can think of as to why Celtic fans would sing that at an Old Firm match…

No place for it - no place at all…

Why don’t you write to Celtic Football Club and try to get my season ticket confiscated? Maybe get your local MEP and the press involved too.

You complete and utter retard.

That’s it Bandage.

A beaten man resorting to personal insults because he has nothing else…

I pity you - really I do…

What a great day indeed. http://www.thefreekick.com/vbforum/images/icons/icon10.gif

With all due respect, you’re the one making outlandish, sweeping and incorrect statements on this thread because you find a song unpalatable. Why the fook is it bugging you so much? And if it is then why don’t you do something about it and contact the media or something instead of whingeing about it while trying to rewrite Irish history yourself to find more outrage with a mere 4-line line rhyme. You utter fool.

Come, on, you Straw-berries
Come on you Strawberries
Come on you Straw
Come on you Strawberries

Well it has no reference to Celtic, Rangers or the IRA so hopefully no-one will give out to me http://www.thefreekick.com/board/public/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/cool.gif

[quote=“Mac”]Come, on, you Straw-berries
Come on you Strawberries
Come on you Straw
Come on you Strawberries

Well it has no reference to Celtic, Rangers or the IRA so hopefully no-one will give out to me http://www.thefreekick.com/board/public/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/cool.gif[/quote]

That’s despicable.

There no place for that in football - no place at all.

Tosspot

1. Don’t engage in behaviour yourself that you so despise in others. It is hypocrtical. Wanting a Rangers player to be killed by the IRA is despicable…

2. When t’fuck did I ever re-write Irish history? It is you who has this glamourised notion of the Ra for some reason…

3. Oh so you want me to go away with my argument to the media away for the forum because you don’t like it. Good to see that your all for freedom of speech…

Utter tosspot

Farmer would you have a problem with any of the following songs being sung at a football match (or indeed in any other context):

1. Sean South of Garryowen
  2. Roll of Honour
  3. Joe McDonnell
  4. A Nation Once Again
  5. Celtic Symphony (with Up the Ra bit)
  6. Boys of the Old Brigade
  7. Come out ye Black and Tans
  8. Viva la Quinta Brigada
  9. Amhrn na bhFiann/Soldier’s Song
  10. Merry Ploughboy
  11. Fields of Anthery
  12. La Marseilleaise

All the above countenance rebellion in some form.

The Protestant Slayers remark is really poor. I don’t expect everyone to support the IRA - I don’t even expect people to be tolerant of the IRA and I’ve no problem at all with people being utterly offended or appalled by the IRA because there’s a lot to be said for pacifism and all that. But I do think there are two hypocrisies here:

1. the attempt to turn a song about a Spanish Catholic being murdered into an anti-Protestant ditty in the interests of highlighting sectarianism is a touch far-fetched
  2. there are plenty of “acceptable” songs about the IRA (in all its various guises) and other military organisations. I don’t think it’s fair to say some should not be sung. By all means disagree with any cause you like but if people want to sing about that then I don’t see why they should be denied that chance.

Singing a song about killing an opposition player is despicable.

He plays for Rangers because it is his job, the same was as Mo Johnson played for Celtic and Rangers because he was a footballer and that was his job.

Kenny Daglish supporter Rangers until he was offered a contract by Celtic. From a hun to a hero. Or once a hun always a hun? Or does it matter?

Rewriting Irish history:

Claiming the IRA is a sectarian organisation set up to slay protestants is the definition of the above. It’s not only incredibly wrong and misinformed but I personally take offence at your attempts to tarnish my ancestors who fought in The War of Independence for your characterisation of them as sectarian protestant slayers. The fooking cheek of you - you prick.

Then your absolutely ludicrous and repeated assertion that a song wishing ill on Novo is sectarian. You’re trying to project a song about reviling a Spanish footballer, who’s Catholic, and wishing him harm as being anti-Protestant and you actually have the temerity to persist with it and keep making things up as you go along. Idiot.

It’s hardly new news that Celtic have a large republican support. The club was founded in the wake of Irish immigrants fleeing British oppression in their native land and songs sung by the support have referenced the IRA for over a hundred years and you’ve suddenly decided today to become outraged by this. I guess in order to ensure a consistent line you’ll refrain from ever singing Amhran na bhFiann again or any other song that references rebellion, struggle or the IRA.

You’re not only being a sanctimonious prick, you’re also being completely inconsistent. You’re the fooking hypocrite here. Wanker.

[quote=“Appendage”]Singing a song about killing an opposition player is despicable.

He plays for Rangers because it is his job, the same was as Mo Johnson played for Celtic and Rangers because he was a footballer and that was his job.

Kenny Daglish supporter Rangers until he was offered a contract by Celtic. From a hun to a hero. Or once a hun always a hun? Or does it matter?[/quote]

I don’t think you understand the whole concept of a contract.

Earlier it was British soldiers just doing their jobs and now it’s the same above.

Nobody forces these people to sign for a particular club. They’ve the right to turn down an offer and aren’t mere pawns in the whole thing.

Bandage infuriates me so much - he really does. He just makes stuff up.

I am growing tired of this now but I will say the following:

‘Protestant Slayers’ - that was my view of why IRA were used in the song by Celtic fans, nothing to do with my personal view of the IRA. But Bandage sniffs out something there that he can run with for a while and makes stuff up which I didn’t say at all.

Why t’fuck else would IRA be used? ‘We’ll get the Ra after you Novo just like they went after the rest of your mates’. IRA is used in that song purely to create a secratian divide and it is sickening. Rock actually came on this thread promoting this chant and sets himself up as someone who hates racism and that it the height of hypocritism. Yeah he plays for a club that represents something rotten but don’t lower yourself to their level by wishing death on him by the hand of a group how are now synomynous with crime and self-serving and nothing to do with freedom fighting anymore.

That brings me to my view of the Ra. Bandage - are you seriously drawing comparisons between the shower of fooks who now run organised crime in many areas of Ireland with people who died so you can type on your computer. Utter shame on you. Yes they share the same name (IRB then actually) and yes they were entitled to take up arms in the 1960s when Catholics were being pissed on but in later years they are nothing but scum. Absolute scum who have abandoned their Republican roots for a few quick bucks. It is not about freedom anymore - it is about crime…

Rock - it depends in what context those songs are sang. I have no problem with rebel songs but if you use them in a sectarian context then I have a big problem with them…

Don’t think thats a quality chant by any means. We shouldn’t sing about anyone dying or try to excuse it in anyway. I personally don’t hate Novo though I do dislike him and the club who he plays for who have a long history of bigotry. I support Celtic though for what we stand for as a club and should leave Rangers behave in a bigoted fashion if that is what they choose.
Also don’t think the IRA were a bigoted organisation. They never appeared to me to be a sectarian organisation and don’t see why religion should be brought into the argument. Thats my tuppence worth.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Bandage infuriates me so much - he really does. He just makes stuff up.

‘Protestant Slayers’ - that was my view of why IRA were used in the song by Celtic fans, nothing to do with my personal view of the IRA. But Bandage sniffs out something there that he can run with for a while and makes stuff up which I didn’t say at all.

Why t’fuck else would IRA be used? ‘We’ll get the Ra after you Novo just like they went after the rest of your mates’. IRA is used in that song purely to create a secratian divide and it is sickening. Rock actually came on this thread promoting this chant and sets himself up as someone who hates racism and that it the height of hypocritism. Yeah he plays for a club that represents something rotten but don’t lower yourself to their level by wishing death on him by the hand of a group how are now synomynous with crime and self-serving and nothing to do with freedom fighting anymore.

That brings me to my view of the Ra. Bandage - are you seriously drawing comparisons between the shower of fooks who now run organised crime in many areas of Ireland with people who died so you can type on your computer. Utter shame on you. Yes they share the same name (IRB then actually) and yes they were entitled to take up arms in the 1960s when Catholics were being pissed on but in later years they are nothing but scum. Absolute scum who have abandoned their Republican roots for a few quick bucks. It is not about freedom anymore - it is about crime…

Rock - it depends in what context those songs are sang. I have no problem with rebel songs but if you use them in a sectarian context then I have a big problem with them…[/quote]

Farmer why do you think the IRA have abandoned their Republican roots and what organised crime have they been involved in? Not a supporter of the IRA but think many of the accusations levelled about their crime involvement are a bit suspect. Also were the Nationalists not being ‘pissed on’ in the 70’s, 80’s and 90’s? At what point did the struggle become unacceptable?

Larry - are you honestly trying to tell me that the IRA are not involved in organised crime in Ireland. Saw a programme recently where a small bank was used in South Armagh to launder cash from diesel smuggling and the likes and hundreds of millions were put through the fence.

The struggle never became unacceptable - but organised crime did…

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Bandage infuriates me so much - he really does. He just makes stuff up.

Rock - it depends in what context those songs are sang. I have no problem with rebel songs but if you use them in a sectarian context then I have a big problem with them…[/quote]

On your first point Farmer - fair enough if that’s your opinion. It is wrong though. It’s clearly not used in a Protestant Slayers context because it has absolutely nothing to do with Protestants. Accept that and move on so we can move off the whole religious angle. Many of the great Irish revolutionaries were Protestant - including Robert Emmett my personal favourite. Don’t see the relevance of it at all and it serves only to distort this debate.

I’m really not sure why you think using the Ra is used to reinforce a sectarian divide. There weren’t many actions by the Ra in Scotland - can’t think of any off the top of my head - so don’t see why there’d be any reference to “just like they went after the rest of your mates.” I came on this thread to post the chant - don’t particularly care if you like it or not. It was sung and has been sung and is relevant as a result. As I said before I’m not trying to convince you to like it or accept it, just don’t see why you’d go out of your way to be disgusted by people singing it in your absence.

I’m entitled to hate racism and don’t see why any IRA reference has anything to do with that at all. There’s a strong culture of racism in loyalist circles in the 6 counties which is all too prevalent to this day. I hate that shit and it makes me have even more contempt for those pricks. I’m not trying to make myself out to be a saint by despising racism. It’s just something that particularly annoys me and I’m not above hating people. Apologies for that.

I’m now watching last night’s match again so don’t have time to go into the full defence of the Ra but why are you refusing to give them any credit for bringing peace to the 6 counties. They’ve unquestionably advanced the plight of Catholics and repbulicans in the last 30 years. They’ve also brought about a historic peace to the island.

Throw out the crime shite all you like but where are the big IRA crimes taking place now? There aren’t any. The last “example” was the Northern Bank robbery which was such a fucking sham and setup from the special branch it’s unreal. Not the first time and not the last time that the Brits tried to use the media to disrupt republican popularity. Try and exercise a little common sense when thinking about these things.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Larry - are you honestly trying to tell me that the IRA are not involved in organised crime in Ireland. Saw a programme recently where a small bank was used in South Armagh to launder cash from diesel smuggling and the likes and hundreds of millions were put through the fence.

The struggle never became unacceptable - but organised crime did…[/quote]

Yeah I’m sure they were involved in crime but the purpose of that was to fund the struggle and not to enrich themselves. How could they fight against the British Army without organised crime? I think claims made about the levels of their involvement in crime has been exaggerated by people with their own agendas. People like Michael McDowell and the RUC have been largely responisble for the perception of the IRA as this thuggish criminal organisation. I don’t trust them and I think they had much to gain from highlighting this supposed criminality. Also to be perfectly honest with you I would have a far bigger problem with the IRA’s killing of people than with them being involved in crime to fund this campaign.

What are you on about you imbecile? ‘We’ll get the Ra after you Novo like they went after the rest of your mates.’ I never knew there was an IRA offensive against Spaniards in general or Scottish based Spaniards even but Farmer appears to have more information than the rest of us. Why are you continuing to pursue a religious angle that isn’t remotely there you tosser?

Here’s a Nakamura song:
‘There’s only one Nakamura, one Nakamura,
He eats chow mein and votes Sinn Fin,
Walkin’ in a Naka wonderland’

I await the hypocrite, who on the first page of this thread posted a chant making funning of child abuse, coming back on moralising about how this one is offensive and inappropriate because Sinn Fin are inextricably linked to the IRA and that this has no place in football. In short, get fooked.