Formula One

Could they not make a rule where you can’t finish a race with a safety car procession?

It seems a bit shit that the dead laps are counted as laps.

And that cars can go into the pits during the dead period.

Mentioned it in my last post but it does seem fairly shit that the dead laps are counted as actual laps. So if you didn’t count them as laps that would take that possibility away.

I was thinking if yer man Perez had deliberately crashed when Hamilton was about 20 seconds ahead with say 12 laps left, that that would have given a big advantage to Verstappen.

Would the authorities be wise to such a tactic and disqualify both cars from the team then?

yeah I cant say I’ve ever thought about it too much. As I said, I dont follow it as much any more as I would have done. But it was always the case where you would have shit dead laps. I suppose it effects the fuel carried and engine wear and all that craic which is all fine tuned. Give the FIA a shout there with your proposal anyway, cant be any worse than whats there now.

I know the refuelling was brought in for 1994 after being banned for years. Verstappen’s oul’ fella’s car burst into flames at Hockenheim that year when they screwed up the refuelling. Cars would occasionally run out of fuel in the years before that. I’m sure it happened to Senna in the British Grand Prix. 1991? But yeah I suppose I can see how if the dead laps were not counted that would interfere with fuel strategies whether you allow refuelling or not.

They have a fixed amount of fuel for x number of laps so adding on laps won’t work as no one would finish. The cars have to finish with 1kg of fuel for testing. Vettal lost a podium due to not having enough fuel for testing this year. A red flag would have been the fairest. Masi should have let the lapped cars go 2 laps earlier but waited that’s the biggest issue yesterday

Surely as well the crashed car coming back onto the track and blocking everything is made more likely by the design of the track, it being a street track with walls.

Like I’d say there would be less chance of that happening at a proper track like Suzuka or Silverstone. It seems a bit shit that that Abu Dhabi track is used for the deciding race.

Proven to be talking through your hole multiple times - definitely for the best to “leave it there”.

Not necessarily.

If the FIA had requested all cars to pass leading cars under the Safety Car as normal the race would have ended under the Safety Car which is what normally happens.

Where Hamilton was kind of screwed really was the 4 cars being let off thus giving Max a free run at him on the restart.
Plus, the fact that initially Race Control announced that they were not going to let back markers through at all hence Hamilton didn’t put for tyres.

If Mercedes had known what was to unfold you can be sure they would have pitted and given up track position while getting fresh tyre to attack Max again.

I don’t quite understand that.

I’ve yet to see you refute any of the points @Gman has eloquently made.

racist wonder showzen GIF

Disagree.

Max pulled his usual stunt on going to the gap with no chance of turning the car and giving his opponent space.

Hamilton literally had no choice but to go as he did.

They would have needed to let all the cars through and get the Safety Car off track before the race could restart.

They made the call so late that it was never possible

That’s the track design. Street circuits are part of the series. Abu Dhabi isn’t a street circuit but that section is tight. The risk of race stoppages was highlighted in Saudi due to it being a tight street circuit with an incredibly fast circuit. These guys are the best drivers in the world but crashes like this are part of the sport. It opens up strategy options due to unexpected incidents, like this one. If they had it the other way the fasted car etc will always win. Its all a part of the sport

how much did RB give williams for that crash???

Max did keep his car on the track, hit the apex first and got it rotated. What are you taking about?

Alex Albion. Imagine another crashgate

I’ve no interest but this came up in my feed from someone I presume is neutral enough.

Noone really talking about how Hamilton left himself open for over taking at the bend where max passed him. He took a wide racing line for some reason?