[quote=“mickee321”]fair enough bandage, but farmer asked the question and i only replied.
All he did for the 15 minutes was slip twice and and put accross a very poor free kick at the end.
Maybe if he was on for longer we might have seen something else but based on his irish performances of late i would expect not.
look,i cant fault him, he tried 100% , his effort was positive, he’s not good enough, so be it[/quote]
Not really, though. He was tidy in possession a few times, floated in some balls into the box that were dealt with, put two corners into dangerous areas. Nothing major or decisive but hardly disastrous either. And bear in mind France wound the clock down for around 3-4 minutes before the last Ireland push and that push consisted of punts up to Doyle and Dunne.
The ‘criminal’ free kick at the end was too deep but it was still headed back into the mix and decisively claimed by a commanding 'keeper. He’s 30 odd caps now (albeit I guess nearly half are probably cameos from the bench) and hasn’t produced to the level he’s capable of for Ireland - I’m not denying that - but it’s hypercritical to single him out tonight.
fookin lassie diarra is some cunt…giving out last saturday about being kicked…all he did tonight was trip lads up…he must have given away 8 frees…never mind technology from american football or rogbee FIFA should sit down with The GAA and take a leaf out of their book with regards to persistent fouling …he’s a pure stopper and spoiler…and thats just one of the reasons he should never try to look down his nose at any Irish man…fookin cunt…
Ah that was class by Ireland. Haven’t read what ye’re all saying yet but I will say
-Keane was very good tonight-one missed chance aside. Looked dangerous (still reverted into his usual whinge bag self at times though). About time as he has been shit for a few years now.
-The 2 midfielders, whelan and andrews-christ they put in some work and it was an awful pity whelan had to go as he was commanding that area completely.
-St. Ledger was utterly fantastic
-Duff was winding back the years, wrecked in the 2nd half though obviously (and missed a sitter of a goal)
-Doyle worked his stones off, does his own work and Keane’s work and is bollixed with 20 mins to go unfortunately. (missed a great chance though)
[quote=“Pikeman”]Ah that was class by Ireland. Haven’t read what ye’re all saying yet but I will say
-Keane was very good tonight-one missed chance aside. Looked dangerous (still reverted into his usual whinge bag self at times though). About time as he has been shit for a few years now.
-The 2 midfielders, whelan and andrews-christ they put in some work and it was an awful pity whelan had to go as he was commanding that area completely.
-St. Ledger was utterly fantastic
-Duff was winding back the years, wrecked in the 2nd half though obviously (and missed a sitter of a goal)
-Doyle worked his stones off, does his own work and Keane’s work and is bollixed with 20 mins to go unfortunately. (missed a great chance though)
-Henry is a cunt[/quote]
so what if he works his socks off - that should be a given - he cant control the ball- win fuck all headers & a couple of times ran the ball out of play for no reaon - taxi
Yup, should be a given-Robbie doesn’t bother his hole most games (which should be a given) so he has to work harder unfortunately. He won the ball back a good few times-laid it into Duff for his chance, took 2 defenders with him for Robbies tap in, flicked balls on, held them up. We need someone like him there-pure and simple I’m afraid. The way you’re talking NCC, you wish Doyle didn’t work hard at all-but you’re on the usual wind up
Excuse the ramble
Most disappointed I have ever felt after a match and am sure no match will ever match the disappointment in the future. Heartbreaking. Used to half doubt my own allegience towards international football but by fook does it matter more than Champions League, SPL, EPL, Eircom League etc.
We were fantastic tonight. Kilbane was determined and won loads of 50/50s and same with Dunne and St Ledger. O’Shea had a poor enough game but this can happen easily and he was terrific in earlier part of campaign. Though Lawrence was superb at retaining possession and distribution was good. Duff was excellent too as was Andrews. Gibson was average when he came on but again hard for him to come into match with so little game time. Front two were hugely troublesome and were very effective.
Desire from the players was incredible. Might be an obvious thing to say but we wanted it so much more than they did and this helped to bridge some of differences in quality between the players. You could say how disappointed they were in the end.
A word on Henry - Many have cheated in sport but I think his reaction afterwards was what was most disappointing. I have tried things myself in sport but when I did it felt embarrassed but he seemed to have little shame. Going up to Dunne at the end and things was stomach churning. There were four clear infringements from when that free was delivered to when it hit back of net. Sickening.
[quote=“larryduff”]Excuse the ramble
Most disappointed I have ever felt after a match and am sure no match will ever match the disappointment in the future. Heartbreaking. Used to half doubt my own allegience towards international football but by fook does it matter more than Champions League, SPL, EPL, Eircom League etc.
We were fantastic tonight. Kilbane was determined and won loads of 50/50s and same with Dunne and St Ledger. O’Shea had a poor enough game but this can happen easily and he was terrific in earlier part of campaign. Though Lawrence was superb at retaining possession and distribution was good. Duff was excellent too as was Andrews. Gibson was average when he came on but again hard for him to come into match with so little game time. Front two were hugely troublesome and were very effective.
Desire from the players was incredible. Might be an obvious thing to say but we wanted it so much more than they did and this helped to bridge some of differences in quality between the players. You could say how disappointed they were in the end.
A word on Henry - Many have cheated in sport but I think his reaction afterwards was what was most disappointing. I have tried things myself in sport but when I did it felt embarrassed but he seemed to have little shame. Going up to Dunne at the end and things was stomach churning. There were four clear infringements from when that free was delivered to when it hit back of net. Sickening.[/quote]
Think this speaks for us all. Well said Lar.
Thierry Henry’s hand stopped Ireland from gaining at least a penalty shootout in their WC Qualifier. But, our No Surrender Money-Back Special clicked. As well as refunding all losing 1st /last goalscorer, correct score & scorecast singles on the match, we’ve decided to refund all losing bets placed on Ireland to qualify for the World Cup and bets on Ireland to win the World Cup
[quote=“north county corncrake”]wasnt that lawrence?
we need someone like him but is better in the air & has a better touch[/quote]
Agreed Doyle’s touch needs to improve. His general movement needs to improve also. Think he can be far better but why the fuck did he move to Wolves when he might have played with a decent side at Fulham.
Cant fault him in the air but his technique needs improving. His partnership with Keane has failed to blossom though. Both lack pace. Caleb Folan aint the answer, he is fucking shit. Leon Best scores at Championship level but has been awful in his cameos at competitive international level. Morrison, Stokes etc are no improvement. Hopefully a plastic paddy will emerge