Exemplary. This sartorial guideline should be the benchmark for future funerals.
Fuckers here wondering would shorts/tracksuit bottoms/runners/wellingtons/soccer jersies and assorted other ensembles be acceptable at funerals have a lot to learn.
Exemplary. This sartorial guideline should be the benchmark for future funerals.
Fuckers here wondering would shorts/tracksuit bottoms/runners/wellingtons/soccer jersies and assorted other ensembles be acceptable at funerals have a lot to learn.
Felt entirely comfortable in my ensemble. Put away in the press until the next funeral.
Sorry for your loss.
We buried a relation a while ago.
I think the family were delighted to have the deceased home the night before the burial.
The house was rammed the night before the funeral home and I think theyâre were really tired come burial day.
Itâs always a tough week but itâs nice to be with the deceased for the extra day or so.
Sorry for your loss Fagan.
My mother was adamant. She even had it written into the will no funeral parlour! It was nice for her to go out of her own house.
Iâm not adverse to the funeral home personally but itâs great the extra nights at home are great.
Can be hard going & a bit intrusive at home but you get one chance to say goodbye so what harm.
My uncle never married and lived with us growing up.
He suffered from eyesight issues which curtailed his life somewhat but he was a great man and acted as a second father to me and the rest of us.
Most of his time was restricted to home.
He passed away in July 2018, six weeks off his 93rd birthday.
Our home place isnât very accessible to a lot of traffic. There is a long windy lane onto our house. My auntie, who also didnât marry was only a year younger than my uncle and couldnât face a lot of attention that a wake would bring.
So my uncle was laid out in the church of the local hospital.
I have regretted it to this day. I canât believe that we didnât bring him home even for one night with no advertisement to be where he belonged. But itâs hard to think straight at times like that but I feel like I let him down somewhat.
Bring a deceased person home if at all possible.
Mam died at home. Which was lovely. Big crowd of loved ones around her and a 2 day party. But i regret watching the undertakers come to take her away to sort her out then bring her back. Your mam, in a body bag, and a vertical stretcher to get her out of the house, then the lads having to take a run at the back of the ambulance so the legs of the stretcher fold in right. The loudest bang you could imagine. Off they go and thats it. Fucking terrible. All it was missing was Gordon Elliot sitting on her making a phone call.
Thats a very tough situation. I think ye were right to mind your aunt.
Donât be concerning yourself about it at this stage. Your aunt wouldnât have coped too well with a wild influx of removal-goers ( many who come for a nosey around and a couple of free jars)âŚ
There would have been fuckers only bulling afterwards though as the sight of 1,400 round bales piled up and the 171LM John Deere parked up in the back haggardâŚ.
That long Farmer lad must be minting coin above in Dublin etcâŚâŚ
Jesus man black humour at its best there.
I wish!
An undertaker died down home a few years back. His cousin who I would know well was asked by the widow to drive the hearse with the coffin of the deceased man. He wouldnât be a good driver at the best of times and the automatic hearse caused him problems. As he pulled up outside the church, he jerked the hearse and the coffin slid forward hitting the widow (seated in the front seat) on the side of the head.
Just back from my first post pandemic removal all the oul norms in place hugging, handshakes and the oul staple the oul lad in front of me who refuses to let go of the hand and keeps gibbering away!
Cattle prod time.
My wifeâs aunt dropped dead before Christmas when the feckin thing was raging.
The funeral home was shocking. Waving was all that was allowed. Couldnât even chat.
I ended up driving a hearse myself recently in a situation where the undertaker was under the influence. A 3.0 litre Merc, savage power, some hum of her and the undertaker asleep beside me and not a word out of the old neighbour in the back.
Similar here, my mother died at home, my sisters and the home help cleaned her before the undertaker came. I lifted her into her coffin with him, it felt a small thing to do for her after all she did for me.
She was in the house for 2 nights then we brought her to the funeral parlour and to the church after but we brought her back home that night, no way were we leaving her in the church on her own.
Went through what you said about the body bag with the mother. Bastard of a thing to see.