Jefferson Davis basically openly said that the slavery argument caused the war. Also, the southern states wanted to introduce slavery to the western states.
I appreciate youâre a history PhD but not even @anon61878697 or Robert E. Lee can fuck with Wikipedia.
it is extremely romantic to think that hundreds of thousands went to war for their fellow mans plight but it is simply ridiculous to think that was the state of affairs in the 1800âs
Lincoln and Leeâs views on the morality of slavery were probably very close but one devoted his enative life to helping those who he saw as his lessers (black people) and is remembered as a half-saint and one devoted his life to protecting his countrymen (southerners) whether they were right or wrong and is remembered as evil. Thatâs just how it is.
Donât agree with this. The Northern factories were pulling ahead, along with the northern economy as a whole because it had abandoned slavery and embraced capitalism. At least thats what my da told me who is a history teacher. Slavery is an inefficient economic model.
Union soldiers were fighting and dieing for exactly that to uphold the Union any romantic notion that they were fighting to free black slaves is way off, the average Southerner was fighting for his home state the âwhy are fighting us Johnny Reb?â âWell your down here aint you Billy yankâ hypothetically if Dublin sent an army to invade Limerick or Cork or Tipp for whatever reason would any of ye just lay down? State/county before country, your home is your home.
even after the Civil War, slavery wasnât completely abolished.
involuntary servitude was abolished.
Blacks were made work on the same farms for the same wages. Were forced to work as slaves as punishment for crimes they didnât commit. Couldnât testify against whites.
Yes, the southerners were a right shower of fucking animals. Kicked and screamed against civil rights. Sick cunts. But sure they were only defending their home and the confederacy was grand if you ignore slavery. You couldnât make it up.
This is your first defence of the statue. Seems to suggest you shouldnât remove any statues.
So I asked if you could remove any other statues or pictures of things around the place.
Now we have to discuss them all on their own merits. Are we allowed âdelete historyâ or not?
You do know that statues are not simply history. They are monuments. Different thing. History is recorded in lots of ways aside from statues. Removing a statue is not deleting history.