They have miggledy as a figure head. No better buchaill.
Those Macnas cunts with their big papier-mâché heads.
Tis only the ringleaders are from Galway.
They need a dose of capitalism.
Half of the drug suppliers in Galway would need small business loans if the crusties didn’t have macnas to top up the dol.
Just out of curiosity, when would you expect the bulk of the funding to cover a one year arts festival to be paid? Before it was due to begin I would have thought.
I’m out on my terrace here with European style speedo shorts on soaking up the sun. Really tight. Just spotted an auld fella taking pictures of me out of the corner of my eye
I’d prefer it went on infrastructure than some poorly washed west Brits lifestyle choice mate.
They have the big heads bought already.
Dress miggledy in a shawl and give him a lightsabre at the front and job done.
Fair enough. I disagree because it’s not an either or choice. I think we’ve massively missed a trick by not doing anything to support the arts in our rescue package.
We are famous worldwide for culture, not for being the best little country in the world to do business. People completely underestimate the importance of the arts sector and the importance of it to Ireland.
The arts is like baseball. Subtract the booze, and people would realise that it’s generally boring shite done better with special effects in the cinema.
The cinema is the arts
You have no soul.
You’re not far off but a little mean spirited also …
Like anything - the guys at the bottom love what they do and provide the entertainment for not a lot at times — it’s everything above it that’s wrong - admin and managers and booking agents and the rest… they make sure a large slice of the pie always goes to them and keep the arts closed off to wider audiences to do so. Fuckers that never created anything in their life but are full of notions of grandeur - you know the type.
Walking up the steps and into the light of a major league ball park is more beautiful than any painting I’ve ever seen
At what point do you fund a career. If some cunt decides he is a poet but is fucking useless should his hobby be funded? Don’t even start on modern art. Fair enough musicians can at least display recognised talent
Feckin hell
“The ninety feet between home plate and first base may be the closest man has ever come to perfection" – Red Smith (American sportswriter)
I’ve no great love for a lot of the artsy types pal … It’s a tough life tho. Many of them are wired completely differently to the rest of us lunatics. The mrs’ brother is an artist - and a damn good one - but he just cant sell himself / has no business accum. He struggles badly between making a living and having the space / time to be creative … and while it’s easy say boo hoo, we all have to work - i’ll go back to point A - genuinely creative people are wired differently. … Anyway, he teaches old folks and outreach to fund himself but he aint making a fortune.
He’d have an exhibition every now and again, spend months painting and putting his heart into it and then might sell two small pictures … it aint easy.
Mate I’m from Galway I’m well aware of their tortured and over wrought souls. At least he has talent, can teach it, can produce stuff worth buying. When yer man from Limerick puts a plastic bag over his head is that art? He thinks so
If it means the end of those macnas gimps then I’ll happily pay that price
He’s a chancer - He occasionally has some interesting takes. and some of the bandits stuff is good - But like Bressie, he’s mainly in the art of self-interest. He charges large enough fees for talks and the likes, not to mind the cap out for the podcast — he has a very, very healthy bank balance and I know that for fact.
A real Mr Gradgrind.