Further Things That Are Wrong (Part 2)

They donā€™t get flood cover because of the floods.

A significant minority do have cover for last weeks drama is what Iā€™ve heard, but obviously thatā€™s not a goer going forward

The places where the floods never reached before Iā€™d be guessing.

I donā€™t know where but thatā€™s what I heard from somebody whoā€™d know, town centre anyway

Supervalu got absolutely destroyed. Our local pub here was in 4foot of water. You couldnt drink in it with the smell, thry only refurbished during covid

Iā€™ve heard that as well, the smell in the pubs would knock you out

I also heard that Finins had sone a huge refurb and were due to open a couple of days after the flood, destroyed

Yeah finins is destoyed and it is a lovely establishment.

Not first instance of similar circumstance he was involved in

Genuinely thinks common law is for the common of which he appears he believes hes above.

Instance prior in Wexford suggests thatā€™s more a gamble than the face of it.

https://twitter.com/oh_deer_diner/status/1718633487572377671?s=46&t=YOfhVM10W0bcyIiYSLI3Wg

@Little_Lord_Fauntleroy

Events like this need to change. You canā€™t get plastic bottles for trail runs etc where the expectation is you bring a bottle/ flask/ collapse cup and top up. I donā€™t know how feasible that is for a marathon type event however, which is based on speed and keeping moving. Maybe more compostable cups or something.

Iā€™d also add that the amount of gel wrappers fucked onto the roads was disgusting. If you were able to carry the gels at the start, youā€™re able to bring the wrapper home with you (mine didnā€™t make it to a bin until I got back to Dundalk).

Just as long as everyone got their medals and their selfies I guess for the gram, eh.

My thoughts every time someone mentions they do marathons or triathlons etc.

You play real sports? You never mentioned, who do you play with?

Iā€™m ashamed to admit that while Iā€™d never litter in real life I think nothing of doing so during a race, water bottles or gels etc, safety in numbers I suppose,
Maybe Iā€™ll think twice in future

I tried to find a bin with the water bottles but then I ended up carrying them for a few km. I definitely ended up firing a couple into the side of the road as there didnā€™t seem another option. I think theyā€™ll have to start doing compostable cups or something like that going forward.

The gels I couldnā€™t get over tbh. Itā€™s my first proper road race in 6.5 years so maybe Iā€™d forgotten but trail races is all about leaving no trace. Youā€™d be fucked out of it if you left something behind (I appreciate itā€™s easier clean a street than a mountain). It was a lot lighter carrying the wrapper than a full gel so I couldnā€™t see the issue.

By the way, if you were going slow enough yesterday and hadnā€™t bothered bringing gels etc., youā€™d have been grand. I saw some amount of Maurtens, High5s, Clif Blocks, etc. unopened that had fallen out of pockets along the route. Youā€™d hope some people didnā€™t stuck later on when they realised

Lads, I donā€™t know where to start.
I hired a guy part time a couple years ago. Great worker, wanted to make him full-time but he was happy the way he was. Would always be available if I needed him. ā€˜Knownā€™ him for years but only really got to know him thru the job. Great craic, loved life and his family and the tougher the work was the better he liked it. Lived and breathed sports, hurling no. 1.

Woke to a phonecall a couple of hours ago to hear of his sudden passing. He got a pain and the ambulance didnā€™t make it. I donā€™t know me arse from the rest of me here.
Rest in peace Bud. Youā€™ll be greatly missed.

59 Likes

Fuck thatā€™s rough. RIP to your friend. Thatll feel like family.

Sorry to hear that, incredibly rough on the family. Look after them as best you can

Very sorry to hear that & RIP to your friend. I hope the bond you clearly had & the good times spent together can bring you some solace over the days ahead.