Isnāt Hyrox for steamers?
A crucial part of maintaining a healthy spirit within a club; if the players go to the local hostelry post match, supporters will join in and the craic will be had. The local innkeeper gets his pound of flesh and is happy to throw a few bob into the club coffers each year. The circle of life goes on.
The modern player doesnāt seem to understand this at all, or want to engage with the community. Theyād rather decamp outside the parish boundaries after a match where they can stare at their phone mindlessly and not be seen by anybody
Yes mate. Iāll have a pimms please to celebrate my āFitness Raceā Achievements in Nov! (as championed on my socialsā¦)
Thereās just as much great socialising and community spirit being made now as there ever was, you just have to look harder for it, specifically on apps on a mobile smart phone.
Actual human contact is the monoculture, and shure weāre all about fragmentation these days. Pubs are the monoculture.
There are all sorts of apps which have democratised human interaction and built COMMUNITIES. Soon pubs will entirely move online onto apps because thatās what people want. Itās gone that way already. Shure isnāt this forum one great big e-pub app, it even has a disgusting toilet, which is any post by the awkward squad.
I was lucky enough to be involved in a team that won a number of trophies over the last few years. I can confirm everyone involved drank the shit out of it for a good few days after each win. A publican sponsors the team and rightfully did very well out of it.
Observing the players on and off the field over the last few years its clear that they have a much healthier attitude to alcohol to the one that pervaded in my time as a player. They know how to enjoy themselves but the slavish devotion to getting locked every weekend is just not there. No need for drink bans or any of that nonsense either.
Teams that win stuff build an even stronger bond because of those 2/3 days celebrating those wins.
Teams that donāt win anything miss out on all that and are more like what @StoneCold refers to. Cant get out of the parish quick enough after a defeat/when the year ends.
One of the benefits of the split season I spose
Interacting with civil service HR. No wonder the civil servants do fuck all as every minute of the day is finding which bit of NSSO or HR, or both, or neither, is responsible for taking you off the sick pay level you have been on, incorrectly, for 4 months and counting
This missing boy in Dublin case. Just horrific that a child could be dead for so long and no one notice
I assumed this was the same case as the one from last year where the mother fecked off to England and some lad linked to it committed suicide. Only copped this morning it was a different case. Absolutely horrific stuff.
The FA in the UK. Fining those 4th tier trawlermen from Grimsby Ā£20k for a bit of a form being a minute late. Who knows what happened but wouldnāt Ā£1k have been enough ā¦.
And the lads having a bit of a knees up after winning last week
Miserable gimps.
They will have to rename/rebrand TUSLA after thisā¦
I thought right wingers hate the nanny state? Now itās not nanny enough?
Dont use a missing child as a tool to push your pointed political narratives. It is, or at least should be, beneath you.
Iām not a right winger.
Any discussion of the story other than āI hope they find that child aliveā or āisnāt it terrible about that childā will inevitably be political.
Right wingers insert political narratives into EVERYTHING and nobody seems to have a problem with that.
Itās a right wing article of faith that there should be a āsmall stateā and āparental choiceā should rule. I guess the inevitable upshot of it is tragic cases like this.
Anyone not to the left of Trotsky is a rabid right winger according to Cheasty
Is that not what I said?
I think itās a suspended fine
Ā£10k suspended until the end of the season. Presumably the other 10 due immediately.