GAA All Star Wars

I think calling Jackie Cahill a “journalist” would be a bit of a stretch, so perhaps no surprise that he’s not there

She’s @glasagusban’s ex, mate.

The lucky half.

TJ is just that. A very nice man.
Except when he’s playing galway.
The cunt.

Fianna Fail, Member of Parliament for the Tipperary constituency.

As an aside, I watched a few minutes on telly just there and had to turn it off. It was cringeworthy beyond belief.
If an utter utter roaster, reared on the Eurovision and the late late shows of the early eighties, with a
two channels, and no internet access, was asked to produce the oscars, he’d come up with exactly that.
Fucking hell.
Dinner, a free bar, and a decent presenter and you’d have a far better show.

That’s a very unsporting post. It’s in very poor taste.

this was on TV in Didsbury?

Go back to the whore house.

Why, did I leave something behind?

That’s a very uncouth and unnecessary comment about a young lady who is not here to defend herself. But I’m sure it made you feel an inch taller for a moment.

Yep.

I’ll say it again but that Aogawn O’Far-eeeel comes out with some amount of utter horseshit when a microphone is put in front of him.

The leader explains it neatly

LOL

Rofl

Etc

These tipp lads are some stickmen

The bit about the watches, the chancing cunts :grinning:

JOHN FOGARTY: All-Stars game needs a revamp

Tuesday, November 29, 2016

After about five minutes of Friday’s All-Star game in Abu Dhabi’s Zayed Sports City, the crowd stopped cheering scores.

Realising the affair had as much bite as a hen, their apathy grew and the hum of conversation increased on the sidelines.

Few if anyone pretended this was going to be anything more than an exhibition match coming on a trip rewarding the best players for their efforts of the last two years. Some of them were keen to put on a show; others treated it with the same level of indifference it has been by most footballers and hurlers in recent years.

But for the score-line, teams and scorers, we didn’t carry a report in Saturday’s edition. There was no point.

What can we tell you about it? Well, there was a header from Philly McMahon; there was also a Neil Gallagher volley, which if it hadn’t flown over the bar would have been a contender for goal of the year had it come in a game of consequence.

Recovering from a virus, Paul Geaney scored a peach of a goal that cracked the underside of the woodwork and Michael Murphy almost achieved the same.

In all, 24 goals were scored but in 29 degree heat the fare left plenty cold.

Coming as it does in the closed season, players were understandably not going to risk injury. Anthony Maher didn’t tog out as he nurses himself back to fitness.

Jonny Cooper and Ryan McHugh each played a half of football. On the last football trip two years ago, there was an audible gasp from the 2013 and 14 teams in Canton, Massachusetts when former Kerry U21 player Kieran O’Connor, playing for New York, broke his leg and tore ankle ligaments in the curtain-raiser against Boston.

They were spooked and the standard of football illustrated that.

This latest chapter wasn’t as bad. Usually, the All Stars game takes place on a Sunday but because of the Formula One finale in Abu Dhabi it was brought forward to Friday. As a result, players were fresher. All the same, they knew what they had served up was scour.

Some were embarrassed. Some were constructive and already coming up with suggestions as how to improve it. One mentioned the idea of designer watches for the winners or All-Star rings similar to those given to Superbowl winners.

Another proposed that there be a charity element with each victorious team member’s chosen group benefiting as a result of their endeavours. There was also the idea of staging it on the first day of the tour.

In fairness to the GPA, they know it’s a flawed spectacle. From a hurling perspective, their Super 11s concept has been an attempt to rectify that even if that Dublin-Galway row last year was ridiculous.

As former chairman Dónal Óg Cusack wrote in these pages 12 months ago: “I don’t think I ever played an All Star game in America in front of more than a couple of hundred people. Being honest, the apathy of the public to the All Stars games was matched by the apathy of the players. We were and are doing the game and our emigrants a disservice through the All Stars model of exhibiting our games.”

GAA president Aogán Ó Fearghail accepts the game could be more meaningful but stressed the visit of the All Stars alone is worth a lot. “There could be an interprovincial competition, perhaps. There has to be an edge to a game. It has to be for something. The concept needs to be looked at. We are thinking of those things. There is a view this is just a reward for players and it is end-of-season down-time and the locals just like having them here. I was very keen to hear what the locals think, I meet the chair, secretary and treasurer of the Middle East Board and they were quite happy; they got the All Stars here, they got them to meet their youngsters.

“It doesn’t have a cutting, competitive edge to it nor do we pretend it does. Maybe it doesn’t need that; there are some who feel it does. I’m not too sure it does.

“£I’m happy the unit who we visit get a lot of pleasure from it,” he said before finishing, “I don’t think we’ll be able to bring a competitive game into it.”

Ó Fearghail highlighted how ex-pats were delighted to meet the players in the post-match reception and it’s a valid point. However, emigrants deserve better entertainment. They are now the booming force of the organisation.

As GAA membership outside Ireland grows, might there be merit in “away” All-Ireland finals with an All Stars game as the warm-up or even reviving the model of the All-Ireland champions facing an All Star selection?

Anything seems better than retaining the status quo.

I’m struggling to get my head around this mouthful.

From the times

Gearóid McInerney, the Galway player unanimously named the outstanding player of 2017 by each of The Sunday Game panellists, has not made the shortlist for this year’s hurler of the year award.

While McInerney was one of 14 Galwegian players named on the 45-man All-Star nomination list yesterday, his omission from the hurler of the year category is a shock. Joe Canning, his team-mate, did make the list along with Waterford’s Jamie Barron and Kevin Moran.

Barron and Moran were two of the 11 nominations from Waterford. The remainder of the breakdown saw Cork receive eight nominations, Tipperary five, Wexford four, Kilkenny two and Clare just one.

Cork’s Mark Coleman, Waterford’s Conor Gleeson and Galway’s Conor Whelan were shortlisted for the young hurler of the year prize.

PwC All-Star Hurling Nominations

Goalkeepers Colm Callanan (Galway), Anthony Nash (Cork), Stephen O’Keeffe (Waterford)

Defenders Mark Coleman (Cork), DaithĂ­ Burke (Galway), GearĂłid McInerney (Galway), PĂĄdraic Maher (Tipperary), PĂĄdraic Mannion (Galway), Noel Connors (Waterford), Tadhg de BĂșrca (Waterford), Aidan Harte (Galway), Adrian Tuohy (Galway), Darragh Fives (Waterford), Diarmuid O’Keeffe (Wexford), Colm Spillane (Cork), John Hanbury (Galway), Damien Cahalane (Cork), Cillian Buckley (Kilkenny), Conor Gleeson (Waterford), Philip Mahony (Waterford), Matthew O’Hanlon (Wexford)

Midfielders David Burke (Galway), Jamie Barron (Waterford), Brendan Maher (Tipperary), Johnny Coen (Galway), Darragh Fitzgibbon (Cork), Lee Chin (Wexford)

Forwards Kevin Moran (Waterford), Joe Canning (Galway), Conor Cooney (Galway), Joseph Cooney (Galway), Patrick Horgan (Cork), Pauric Mahony (Waterford), John McGrath (Tipperary), Michael Walsh (Waterford), Alan Cadogan (Cork), Conor Whelan (Galway) Conor Lehane (Cork), Noel McGrath (Tipperary), TJ Reid (Kilkenny), Austin Gleeson (Waterford), SĂ©amus Callanan (Tipperary), Shane O’Donnell (Clare), Conor McDonald (Wexford), Cathal Mannion (Galway).

Hurler of the Year Nominees
Joe Canning (Galway)
Kevin Moran (Waterford)
Jamie Barron (Waterford)

Young Hurler of the Year Nominees
Mark Coleman (Cork)
Conor Gleeson (Waterford)
Conor Whelan (Galway)

Jamie Barron and Conor Whelan

McInerney was probably left off so as not to create a similar controversy to last year. Unless it’s an exceptional case, I think the HOTY should be from the AI champs, and for that reason I think Canning will get it. At the end of the day, his last 10 minutes against Tipp, and near flawless accuracy in the AI was probably enough. If Whelan doesn’t get YHOTY, then they can fuck right off. Coleman was exposed once the white heat got turned on, and Conor Gleeson didn’t do enough. Although well marked in the AI final, Whelan had an outstanding year.