The non-selection of Richie Power was a disgrace*.
There appeared to be a cabal of Mayo players drinking outside The Ferryman at 8.30pm. Possibly snubbing the meal.
*I didnāt have him in my team either.
The non-selection of Richie Power was a disgrace*.
There appeared to be a cabal of Mayo players drinking outside The Ferryman at 8.30pm. Possibly snubbing the meal.
*I didnāt have him in my team either.
[QUOTE=āColin Montgomerie, post: 1035989, member: 9ā]The non-selection of Richie Power was a disgrace*.
*I didnāt have him in my team either.[/QUOTE]
Donāt talk shite
???
I watched ten minutes of it last night. It is well up there with the worst television Iāve ever witnessed.
Cork were seriously mugged off
The All Stars are a reward for teams who make the final. Beyond that they are irrelevant.
Funny that lads seriously debate them on here. Itās like the IFTAs.
Richie Powers omission was a big surprise to me but shur who would you leave out to make room for him, maybe Fennelly. Iād say Richie wonāt lose too much sleep over it especially if they manage to beat us later on today in the replay
[QUOTE=āTheUlteriorMotive, post: 1036011, member: 2272ā]The All Stars are a reward for teams who make the final. Beyond that they are irrelevant.
Funny that lads seriously debate them on here. Itās like the IFTAs.[/QUOTE]
Thatās exactly what a person from a county with no allstars would say
All Star places are now effectively handed out on the basis of three games - semi finals and finals. If youāre not playing in those games, you have a very slim chance of being selected regardless of level of performance in the year prior to that. This is a radical departure from how All Star teams were selected in the 70ās, 80ās and into the 90ās, when the level of individual performance throughout the year was monitored.
Looking at the first All Star Hurling team in 1971, All Ireland finalists Tipperary & Kilkenny had 4 apiece. Of the other 7 places, Dublin, Offaly, Cork, Limerick and Galway all had representatives.
Looking at the first All Star Football team in 1971, All Ireland finalists Offaly & Galway had 4 apiece. Of the other 7 places Mayo, Meath, Kerry, Antrim, Down, Sligo and Cork were all represented.
The days of a Pat Critchley from Laois or David Kilcoyne winning hurling All Stars or an Andy McCallin from Antrim, Mickey Quinn from Leitrim or Kevin OāBrien from Wicklow winning football All Stars are well and truly gone.
Thereāll certainly be no repeat of what happened in 1994 when John Leahy won an All Star on the back of one of the finest individual performances Iāve ever seen in the League Final against Galway. Leahy didnāt play any championship hurling that year as he missed Tipperaryās one and only outing against Clare after being injured playing for the Tipperary footballers.
Tipperaryās haul of 7 (and the young player of the year who didnāt get an All Star) is remarkable considering they didnāt win any silverware, their form was so scratchy before the All Ireland semi final and they were poor in the replay of the final.
The changeability of the Kilkenny 15 counts against them for these awards (Iām sure theyāre devastated). Three changes for the AI for example, whereas the Tipp 15 barely changed all year, even to the extent that Paudie Maher continued to wear no. 3 long after it had dawned on everyone that it was fairly dicey playing him in that position.
Iād have had Richie Power in instead of Fennelly and Murphy in instead of Gleeson, apart from that itās hard to argue with it. Shane McGrath deserves his place for all his lovely Croker cameos this Autumn. Thatās what the All-Stars are for, celebrating the razzle-dazzle of the hurling championship. If you wanted to pick a best fifteen in the country it would be very different - and it would also be very different every time you picked it.
Itās been a poor, poor year for half-back lines.
If I was Richie Power and Cathal Barrett I would feel slightly aggrieved not to make the All Star team
[QUOTE=āPhattPike, post: 1036035, member: 2799ā]The changeability of the Kilkenny 15 counts against them for these awards (Iām sure theyāre devastated). Three changes for the AI for example, whereas the Tipp 15 barely changed all year, even to the extent that Paudie Maher continued to wear no. 3 long after it had dawned on everyone that it was fairly dicey playing him in that position.
somebody who isnāt a retard. That is obviously why Tipp have more all stars you simpletons
Back in those days, 70s & 80s, the league winners were always guaranteed at least one. It gave the league that extra bit of profile that it could do with again these days.
Good thing we won the league then, or weād only have gotten 3, tops.
Who are the journalists that make up the All Star selection committee?
It was up until the back door came in that the league was taken into consideration. This was mainly due to the fact that championship was straight knockout and a good few teams would only play one championship match a season. You have at least 6 teams guarenteed 3 championship matches in the current format
Dunno
Under the current format though, its essentially now just 3 matches (plus replays) that are taken into account - semi finals and final.
Compare that to All Star teams you see in other sports such as NBA basketball, baseball, Australian Rules which contain a much broader representation and focus on the form of individuals throughout an entire playing year.
[QUOTE=āManuel Zelaya, post: 1036185, member: 377ā]Under the current format though, its essentially now just 3 matches (plus replays) that are taken into account - semi finals and final.
Compare that to All Star teams you see in other sports such as NBA basketball, baseball, Australian Rules which contain a much broader representation and focus on the form of individuals throughout an entire playing year.[/QUOTE]
Yes but in all those sports the teams play the same amount of games as each other against the same teams every year so it is easier to pick a more balanced team
It was one of the worst produced shows Iāve seen. Looked woeful.
Maybe, but that doesnāt explain the complete change of focus on how the All Stars have been selected over the past 15 years. As Iāve said they are now almost exclusively picked in both codes on the basis of 3 games. You have only to look at any selection from the 70ās, 80ās and 90ās to see that all performances were monitored. Pat Critchley got Laois only All Star in 1985. Laois only played 2 games in the championship that year. They played 6 this year (the same number as Kilkenny), performed well in almost all those games and didnāt even get a nomination.
Take the full back position as a case in point. Leonard Enright (1983), Eamon Cleary (1989) and Brian Lohan (1996) are all examples of players who won All Stars despite their team falling at the very first hurdle in each of those years at the provincial semi finals. All were outstanding in their brief championship outing, despite the early exit. This year, we have a full back (who unquestionably over the course of his long career has established himself as one of the greatest defenders to ever play the game) but who conceded 5 points from play to his direct opponent in the drawn All Ireland final and 2 goals from play in the replay and who looked shaky at various intervals in other games throughout the year. There were 15 teams competing in this yearās championship. How much focus went into the individual performances of all 15 of those full backs, in selecting first the nominees on the short list and then the full back?