GAA Managerial Merrygoround Thread - Where will Rory Gallagher end up? (Part 2)

Id say so.

That would be my thinking too. There wouldn’t be too many eligible managers in my club who haven’t already had a go off it. A club like your own (Na Fianna) would surely have an array of reasonable options. It would disadvantage smaller clubs if anything. But would ensure less chopping and changing. I started playing at adult level in 2013 and we’ve had nine (9) different football managers for our first team since then.

There would be winners and losers based on talent, just like with players themselves. At least finances would be less of a factor. Plenty of coaches from small clubs on the circuit too, it was a lad from Louisburgh who got the AI club football champions over the line last year though I don’t know if he is the carpet-bagging sort.
The great entertainment would be the big clubs with multiple coaches keen on the big job - Mickey Moran situations across the country but without the option of heading elsewhere to keep them occupied. Can’t see how it is workable at all though.

It’s unworkable really, loopholes everywhere

Their about 25 years late trying to tackle this stuff and the Toothpaste will not go back into the tube. The reality is a decent manager of a senior club team would be putting in anything from 25 to 40 hours a week at this time of the year. Sometimes there will be just no club member willing to do it. Na Fianna have homegrown managers now and good ones at that But 10 to 15 years ago when we were struggling it was often my job to find a new manager. I tried 30 different people one year before a player selflessly gave up playing to do the job.

Very few clubs in Dublin pay for the running of a senior team through club coffers. It would generally be done separately by team fundraising and private sponsorship usually by local businesses. Not saying this isn’t without its difficulties but it is a better arrangement than club coffers imo

The most thankless job in a club. The times you convince yourself you have it sorted only for it to be a shitshow within weeks. Or you get a great management team and half the lads retire or go on holidays. Or you just have a shit bunch of players and Griffin himself wouldn’t whip the cunts into shape.

Ah stop.

Tyre kickers that pretend they are going to take it and then after 3 weeks procrastinating tell you their dog is sick and they can’t do it

Or smart Cunts continuously turni g you down as they qre biding their time waiting on the panel to be strong enough and then getting upset when they are told to fuck right off.

Or the lad who leaves you on the leash for best part of a month, turns it down because he’s flat out with work and turns up with another club a fortnight later.

You’re bringing back a lot of bad memories here

There’s a lad out there on the circuit who I’ll get my shot at one of these days

Its been great to see Mickey Moran back coaching the Watty Graham’s Ladies team in recent years. He might yet have a go at the Senior Mens outfit all these years later.

Even when we were a proper country the problem was still there. Toomevara had Sean Stack from Sixmilebridge coaching them over 30 years ago.

Those years you’re probably just better off keeping it in house. Invest the money in the underage teams and then use it when the adult team is stronger. Most clubs have a down year every now and then when there’s lads travelling or injured.

It’s a grand rule in theory but the reality is most clubs have a maximum of 5 or 6 lads capable and/or willing to do such a job.
Our own club won a title about 20 years ago and of that panel a third are living far away, a third have different hobbies/interest/work commitments and then you’ve the other third involved.

If you do the maths right you might get 15 years in total out of these lads over a 25 year period which leaves 10 years where the outside man is necessary.

In an average club Most players will raise 5-10k per year which covers a fair share of the management/costs. I’d suspect most clubs have a sponsor also that primarily covers coaching or senior team prep.

Is there an assumption there that all the non winning teams in the meantime couldn’t have produced a coach?

Best thing the GAA could do is leave things the fuck alone.

By all means go after the super clubs openly pissing in everyone’s cornflakes and openly bragging but thereafter, just keep horsing out the Grants.

You get my memo. Majority of lads in the next phase are still playing mind you.

:grimacing: :grimacing: :grimacing:

Amongst the knowledgeable patrons of The Ragg there the other night it was mentioned that all Loughmore players have a committment to join their Lotto, the Tipp GAA Draw and the membership is up around the €250 mark also. So probably the bones of €500 altogether from each player. If they have 40-50 adult players it would be a fair amount.

Fair play if it is the case as it’s hard enough to get membership on it’s own from most players.

Jesus that is scandalous. Do they have two outside coaches?