Clonoulty have done similar in the past.
Seven outsiders involved across both codes.
Paddy Christie and Mick Dempsey for the Football. (Dempsey doesnāt take a cent I believe)
Ducky OāRourke from Cork/Waterford, Hughie Hannon from Offaly, Eamon Kelly/Michael Ryan from Kiladangan for Hurling.
Paul Treacy from Toomevara on S&C.
Training funds are nothing new when teams reach county finals etc. Clubs have to capitalise on the good will while itās there.
Physios and player recovery would be the biggest outgoings; a bit of gear for the players too.
I thought that was just in Dublin?
So so so scandalous.
Ffs.
No dodgy payments in rugby, eh eh?
Do clubs still get gear for a final like teams used to?
It takes so long to order an auld jumper off OāNeills now or whoever I presume thatās not possible
OāNeills will turnaround a half zip off the shelf with club crest - initials in less than a week.
They can do a set of jersey/training tops in the same.
Bespoke will be a month.
Basically anything off the shelf is all youāll get before a county final, polos etc. Most sides expecting to get a county final will have training tops well before that
I couldnāt give a shite if they pay outside managers ā¦I wouldnāt be in favour of it but clubs need to make own decisionā¦but doing a public go fund me is mad
Donaghy back in the mothership
It seems to be pretty common place now amongst county finalists or winners going onto Munster
Its an indictment of the current times. Back in the day the chairman of any team going well would have a ball of cash thrust into his hand from a local business man at the creamery, down the pub, or outside mass. Could often be from a fella from a complete rival club, was just the done thing. āJaysus yer flying it ye fuckers, buy the lads a few pints there after the next gameā.
The GoFundMe is cute too, get the right people in early with a 3 figure amount and it puts right pressure on the other local big shots.
I see the Kilcormac coach throwing in ā¬300
A nights wage for Mr Laffan. Smart out alright.
Sure itās only utilising modern technology really; though in fairness they should just have a Revolut account or put up the bank details rather than having to pay fees to Go Fund Me.
Iām not knocking it. Local lads and businesses would always give a few pound to the club so itās a good way to centralise.
How twee.
I heard a case of a club in Cavan giving two Tyrone lads (involved with later day Mickey Harte era) ā¬45,000 a year to manage them.
Ireland used not be ashamed of being twee, you see, thatās when we were a real country.
I find it hard to envisage a Cavan club forking out that level of cash to manage a club.
To have your pocket picked by two smooth-talking Throne bucks is the killer hereā¦