GAA Managerial Merrygoround Thread - Where will Rory Gallagher end up? (Part 2)

2k+ a week, jan to November - hard to believe that someone could ask for that or that a club would be foolish enough to pay it.

Not a club though

In fairness - The majority of ā€˜Top’ County Managers are on sabbaticals etc so would need the income.

Davy Burke was getting paid directly by Ballymore when he was over Roscommon (won’t say the amounts!)

Looks in or around Ā£80k for the gig. I’ll guess it’s in the sterling area and D1 narrows it still further…What county could afford that kind of wedge you’d ask yourself….

I heard a rumor that Jim is on 130k, but hard to know. If someone is getting the 80k, then maybe it’s worth looking at which county has a manager that’s overqualified. If it wasn’t a Div 1 team, I’d guess Offaly. Could be the Tyrone manager.

How are they getting away with this at all?

It’s just the new normal. There’ll always be a few fellas, like Jack O Connor who’ll refuse the money ā€˜out of principle’ but no doubt has milked plenty out of his position as a cute kerry hoor down the years. The next step is, and I believe it is already happening to a point of being unstoppable, is paying players.
The yanks have been doing it with the lads for years, and the likes of lads moving clubs to play for Banty’s club, even from my own county…I’ve no doubt that there’s good sums changing hands.

I’d say Jack cleaned Kildare

McGeeney is surely on massive money

Guaranteed. Paidi and his helicopter in Westmeath, no different.

I don’t know. Lot of lads in Armagh don’t like McGeeney. I don’t know is it a personal thing, or club rivalries. I’d imagine the latter. There’d definitely be cash knocking about that county, of the black market variety. I’m sure he’s probably getting something. I’d say the intercounty managers that aren’t at this point, you could probably count on one hand. Sure, they were trying to heave Geezer out in the summer before he won the All-Ireland, so I’d say he kept the ā€˜expenses’ number low, so as not to give them any more excuses than they thought they were armed with.

Supposedly its Coach Poacher…

Jesus, will ye ever get fucking sense over there

Leitrim aren’t a Division 1 County so wouldn’t tie in with the ever reliable Ewan’s tweet.

I heard on good authority that a certain ex Inter County Football Manager who may or may not have resigned mid Championship a few years ago, was getting £55k sterling to try bring Sam Maguire back to a certain Ulster County.

€93k seems an astonishing figure.

It would nearly be 200k of taxed income

Reel It In Jay Buhner GIF by Northwest Motorsport

Joe put an end to that quickly

Mossy is in quick

Eoin Brislane gone from Monaleen, where has he gone to?
Galways Sean Treacy to Ballinamere.

It was discussed on another thread last night

really, which one? who discussed it? :grin: