GAA Managerial Merrygoround Thread

He looks like the philosopher type to head off to “find himself”.

In all seriousness, I’d say that was the shortest fucking meeting ever.

I think its time to put the boot under the Dublin Hurling vacancy.

Is there any reason why Lester Ryan shouldn’t be considered?

Outside the fact he was one of my favourite hurlers; he was/ is the Leinster Development man. He has the skills and the experience.

Some other miscellany : Lester never won an AI and (as far as I’m know) is the only man that kept God scoreless; which earned him a subtle tribute in my book. He is the only KK mention.

Former Kilkenny and Tipp hurler Denis Byrne remains the front-runner to take the helm of Dublin hurling; an official announcement on this is also expected on November 18th. Byrne had been assisting the previous regime of Tommy Naughton with skills sessions.

I truely can’t believe that Denis Byrne would get this job. What is the world (of hurling) coming too.

Has anyone else heard the rumour about John Meyler being approached for the Dublin hurling job?

Fuck off … no fucking way…

I’m moving back home

The campaign starts Now

LESTER RYAN .

Lester Ryan coached me.

I was nothing more than a timber merchant.

Not sure if I’m a ringing endorsement for him.

[quote=“myboyblue”]Lester Ryan coached me.

I was nothing more than a timber merchant.

Not sure if I’m a ringing endorsement for him.[/quote]

I’m not sure anything Leix’ish is a ringing endorsement for hurling.

Lester “not an Inch” Ryan’s life is Hurling.

Very nice fella, I think he took the camn off me one day and told me not to take it up again. I’m glad I ignored him.

Are the Kerry County Board going to pay Jack O’Connor again this time?

Breaking News

For those of you who don’t read the Wexford GAA thread:

Colm Bonnar is the new Wexford senior hurling manager.

You read it first on www.thefreekick.com.

Yet another in a huge line of TFK exclusives.

[quote=“Bandage”]For those of you who don’t read the Wexford GAA thread:

Colm Bonnar is the new Wexford senior hurling manager.

You read it first on www.thefreekick.com.

Yet another in a huge line of TFK exclusives.[/quote]

No need to thank us Bandage, we here in the premier county always like to help out the weaker counties

We were hoping and praying for Babs.

As for Bonnar, I know he was involved with Waterford and in WIT too (I think).

Is he any good?

He has to be better than Meyler or he’s a complete simpleton.

Right?

[quote=“Bandage”]We were hoping and praying for Babs.

As for Bonnar, I know he was involved with Waterford and in WIT too (I think).

Is he any good?

He has to be better than Meyler or he’s a complete simpleton.

Right?[/quote]

There was talk of him getting the Waterford job before Davy got it.

He was also in the running for the Tipperary job before Liam Sheedy got it.

Most of what he has done has been as a No.2 so its certainly a risky one for Wexford.

[quote=“tipptops*”]There was talk of him getting the Waterford job before Davy got it.

He was also in the running for the Tipperary job before Liam Sheedy got it.

Most of what he has done has been as a No.2 so its certainly a risky one for Wexford.[/quote]

They can say what they like about ye tipptops* but there is no county better at spreading the gospel.

If we ever get a Tipp man in charge, I would hope it will be a Bonner too, THE VIKING. He’d suit us.

God help the poor bastard. I hope he knows what he’s getting himself into.

Is that appointment 100% confirmed, Bandage?

Yes, it’s 100%. I have a TFKer in situ at the Wexford County Board meeting tonight.

We’d had so many exclusives at this stage, it’ hard not to get blas about it.

[quote=“SHANNONSIDER**”]They can say what they like about ye tipptops* but there is no county better at spreading the gospel.

If we ever get a Tipp man in charge, I would hope it will be a Bonner too, THE VIKING. He’d suit us.[/quote]

I think ye have a good man in charge now and will see you at the Munster Final '09 and none of this “I’m not drinking” craic this time.

Also…did you tell Highwayman about over here?

Was I bleating the auld ‘I’m not drinking’ line last time I was talking to you? Sure I’ve been to a few meetings but I’ve never stayed off it long term.