GAA Managerial Merrygoround Thread

That even applies to club level too. In football if you give the ball away 3 or 4 times in a game then you’d better prepare yourself for the curly finger shortly after half-time. It’s much safer to do the simple thing in possession these days.

the tail wagging the dog. I’d trust my eye over a spreadsheet on the sideline all day every day. Stats are useful for long term stuff, developing coaching improvements, trying to break habbits etc

All the split seasons fault.

Shut up you fuckin fool

See, you get it

For many teams it’s a long-term gain. Yes we know some players mightn’t be up for it immediately, but it’s that gain over time

Exactly this - In a live setting, I’d only recommend tracking the basic stuff, just in case there’s something you haven’t copped with the eye (all puckouts to the left or something trivial like that)

There are other stuff though where post-match that having the in depth stuff can debunk some stuff - such as ‘Johnny had a shite game full forward’, however, Johnny may have had only 4 possessions, yes, but his 4 possessions may have lead to 2 passes (that subsequently lead to shots and maybe winning 2 fouls in a dangerous area)

one of the best lessons I ever got in management was a day I was feeding in the stats, particularly error count. One of the corner forwards was after getting 2-3, he was marking a fella that was stone useless. the other corner forward was having a nightmare, i mean now, an absolute shocker, but he was on their best marker. He was after making about 4 or 5 basic errors and had a few wides but all under pressure. I fed this in to the manager, look he’s not going well. Grand I’ll make a change says the manager. He takes off the fella that had 2-3 got, moved yer man having a nightmare over on to the shit corner back and brought on a fella for his debut who got a few points. yer man that was having a nightmare ended up with 1-2.

Going back in the car I says to him what was your thinking. He said, If I made the change straight I’d have had one happy corner forward all week. Now I’ve 3. Absolute next level thinking

Exactly

Look, the education behind the stuff in terms of GAA is still wayyyy behind almost every other sporting organisation in the world, so it will take time

Would that be because it’s an amateur organisation?

say what you want about amateur but when you’re spending 250K on team preparation for a season it’s a lot more than the vast majority of sports.

As Esteban said, when teams are spending a fortune on expenses, a fortune on coach fees etc. you can be damn sure they want to see some return for that, so will spend that extra money on Analysis

Still calling it an amateur organisation, whilst factually correct, is borderline laughable now

Corofin were spending something ridiculous like 250k per year to win All Ireland’s.

Ballygunner and Kilcoo spending at least that if not more.

I’d imagine Ballyhale would be a little more “no frills”.

I’d love to know a Ballyhale type setup

If you see a team with GPS badges for Fitness Analysis, if they’re not spending the same money on Performance Analysis, then it’s a waste

I’ll admit I enjoy the conversation, because it’s important for me to hear it from both sides

Once pj gets tired of his playthings, probably if Ireland win the rubby WC, Limerick will regress to the mean. They’ve just had enough apes and enough cash to shave and put lipstick on them.

I do performance analysis, and I think I’m pretty good, and I think that’s backed up by returns I’ve had at both club and county level.

Yet I come from a club who definitely couldn’t afford to paying a performance analyst any serious amount of money, we just don’t have the cash, plain and simple. And I don’t think most junior clubs have it, so you have to work with the resources you have.

So, personally, while I think there are huge benefits from having top performance analysis done, I don’t think it’s something that every club can afford. I feel bad about charging clubs to be honest; at the end of the day, they are amateur organisations that rely purely on fundraising for cash. I’ve been offered fairly scandalous money by certain teams and I’ve turned them down because I don’t think they know what they even want.

It’s all very well saying that it costs money, but it’s worth fuck all unless you know how to use it and there is a huge detachment with some of the people I’ve seen charge for that kind of work and the actual teams involved. There are a lot of spoofers involved. There are a lot of people pumping out information that is worth very little without day-to-day involvement with the players & management involved. That kind of continuous personal interaction is invaluable, but very very rare, in my experience.

@TreatyStones is correct here, you have to spend smart. I think clubs going without any sort of performance analysis is madness, but you are better off training up a suitable clubman to provide that support than paying massive money in my opinion. And that’s coming from someone who could financially benefit from the madness in the market.

24 Likes

Excellently put. If you are in a club and you have someone who can do this analysis well and provide the team with well presented digestible information then of course its going to be a huge help, especially at senior club level where the players will have the skillset to exploit or implement some of items highlighted by analysis.

Put the ball over the bar or into the back of the net. No more about it.

Good post

Could you give an example of good/bad requests and uses of the data if possible?

If you get a good quality video of your match it is very easy to cut it down to abiut half its length at least and then add text comments, slow mo etc to illustrate various points. Load of cheap software to do this. It’s more than enough for most teams. Can put the video up on YouTube for them

I think in the all ireland league they had an initiative to improve standards that all games are videod and all videos available to everyone

Good post

For somebody that asked about worst requests of data they’ve been asked for

Score Source

It’s an absolutely stupid data point and I see a lot of the Freelancers/GAA Insights/GAA Stats using it

There’s so many variables involved in a phase of play that mentioning a score source is irrelevant most of the time

I remember one manager asking it ‘how much did we concede from being turned over’ but in reality, it’s what they were doing off-the-ball that really needed to be looked at