Gaa split season,killing Meath football since 2011

Looks like Leo Varadkars upcoming week is full already ad Ray Boyne needs assistance and needs it now

Tommy Walsh on OTB this morning. Another advocate of the split season.

Stephen Bennett in todayā€™s paper stating that he wishes the split season was brought in 10 years ago. Can devote much more time to his club.

Sounds like heā€™s really going to tackle the inter county season, the split season and the horrendous college games. I think I can really get behind this fella.

also really great he is targeting the super clubs

Unbelievable scenes Jeff, Club are actually regenerating :heart_eyes:

Great story, great island, great stuff

We pay his wages

Hurling is dying out thanks to the split season.

Ah we canā€™t be taking Wexford as a fucking barometer you eejit. Go back to watching sky sports news ffs.

Wexford are missing their best players in Chin, Rory O Connor and Liam Ryan. When they have everyone they will be plenty competitive and capable of beating anyone bar Limerick on a given day. They will also be capable of losing to westmeath or leix but thats Wexford for you.

Tom Dempsey is a bit of an aul wan and cannot be taken seriously.

Steady on there. Wexford are no great shakes but the day that Wexford are losing to a hurling basket case like Laois is the day they can give it up completely. Wexford beat Laois by 27 points in the Leinster Championship last year and by 19 points the year before. A Leinster semi final defeat in 1985 is the only Wexford Championship defeat to Laois in three quarters of a century or so since the 1940ā€™s.

Donā€™t be interrupting me with that aul factual stuff.

Tom is talking through his hoop there unfortunately.

A senior player plays his last game in August and wont have a competitive game until the following July.
Incorrect. Its highly likely that 90% of club players in Wexford will have been playing in October when the football championship wrapped up. The leagues in football and hurling will resume this week. So Iā€™m not sure where he wants to squeeze more games in? A club player in Wexford will have league games from March through to summer, into championship until the end of October. The only months they wont have games is November, December, January and most of February.

A minor player will play 3 or 4 games for a bad club.
Total and utter bollix. So lets presume he only plays one code for the craic to emphasise it. There is a pre season tournament for all clubs (this year with 37 teams entering it) where teams play without county players. Therefore it goes regardless of who is available or not. Guaranteed minimum 4 games with this. The hurling championship has a minimum of 5 games. So a one code minor hurler has an absolute minimum of 9 games, even if he is with the worst club that loses every game. And thats not counting U20 championship either that they could play.

Weā€™re great at throwing out a few aul soundbites and shite, but the split season was voted for by the players and clubs who want it that way. Its far from the reason that Wexford have one senior AI in 55 years.

The players voted for hurling to die. Wonderful insight by Gcuntman.

Croke park allowed the inter county mangers dictate. The club players kept getting shafted because nobody would put manners on the inter county mangers.

The inter county product is absolutely woeful and takes up 8 months for nothing.

When there isnā€™t two counties playing hurling Iā€™m sure lads will be delighted with the split season.

Munster final was a decent game.

Leinster final nobody at it and crap.

Both all Ireland q/f were crap and nobody at them.

Both all Ireland semi finals were absolutely brutal with nobody at them.

All Ireland final was a decent game but a fairly shit experience for what is meant to be the biggest game of the hurling year.

You donā€™t need 8 months to run this off and youā€™ve fellas claiming we need to extend it 3 more weeks.

It should be consigned to the bin at this stage.

They are barely hurling in Wexford for six weeks thank to this elongated inter county / split season.

God forbid what the product will be like in a few season but I guess nobody will be playing or watching so thereā€™ll be very few who care.

There is no need for that. Its ok and healthy to have different views.

Iā€™ve got plenty of abuse and snide remarks off that smug cunt.

My grand uncles used to leave at 4:30 in the morning to make 6 am mass in Newport before heading on to thurles for the games in the 1930s and 1940s. Many people from loads of parishes used to make similar journeys.

Nowadays we canā€™t even get lads to watch on tv.

Clubs are going to fold and the game will die out in many areas we let this continue. Itā€™s absolutely outrageous whatā€™s being allowed happen.

In Limerick outside of the well, Ballybrown snd killmallock I wouldnā€™t even sure what clubs will be hurling first in ten years time outside of maybe a few smaller clubs in the south.

The Wexford quarter final was played at lunch time on a Saturday, the middle weekend in June. Hardly anybody from Wexford bothered travelling. The Wexford public had better things to be doing at midday on a mid-June Saturday, picking strawberries or sunbathing in Curracloe. RTE werenā€™t even bothered either. The prime time live sport slot that evening was allocated to the big South Africa Currie Cup clash, Northern Transvaal v Western Province and not to either of the All Ireland Hurling Quarter Finals.

Traditionally people wouldnā€™t really have engaged fully with the business end of the Championship until holiday season in August. The last time Wexford had a Championship outing in the month of August just 3 years previously, they brought over 40,000 supporters to the 2019 semi final against Tipperary.

The split season, inter-county Championships are just exercises in fixture fulfilment and box ticking. Theyā€™ve got rid of all the pomp and ceremony and little traditions that were part and parcel of All Ireland Final day. Theyā€™re just another match now rather than a showpiece occasion and event. Jubilee teams getting wheeled out to an empty stadium or getting cancelled completely like the Wexford and Meath teams of 1996.

@Bandage probably summed it up best. The real advantage of the split season is that some Muldoon from a backwater like Cavan can boast about going down to Kerry on his summer holidays in August and watch Seanie Oā€™Shea kicking frees from 70 yards out for some Divisional amalgamation in a repechage match where losing is the real winning.