Gaa split season,killing Meath football since 2011

Must be handy for you to attend Rovers games when half the teams in the Premier Division are in Dublin.

The tail wagging the dog again. The beauty of the gaa is nobody is under contract to play.

If final is played middle of August O’Neill will have the same problem unless he switches clubs.

How are ye fixed for the big game in 11 weeks time? Someone told me last night its 11 weeks away. Flying in the league. Should be a huge crowd in Charleville.

Really 11 weeks? Even if Cork are out?

They are going well at the moment alright and starting to build a squad. They won the first league game minus 11 starters from the senior final last year. Them lads only coming back in now. AW is flying

Its a Long enough cycle to inchicore mate

I think the format is the major issue not the timing

There’s something fundamentally wrong when even good GAA people are asking, “who’s playing who this week?”

Format is an issue.

Timing is an issue.

And you cannot consider the format of one competition alone, because the competitveness of the championship is affected by the format of the league.

The league format is an even bigger issue than the format of the championship.

Nobody is interested in considering everything in the round, they’re only interested in slogans and justifying their existence.

GAA politicians are mainly interested in “legacy”, through which they justify their existence.

The turkey of the Tailteann Cup was brought in by a GAA President who wanted a “legacy”.

The same GAA president said the sort of people who would want to attend Galway v Kerry in the All-Ireland football championship wouldn’t be interested in the World Cup final.

Given such comments it’s hard not to think there is a concerted effort in some quarters of the GAA to drive down inter-county attendances as part of some deranged culture war.

Or more likely it’s just rank incompetence and a function of a entrusting formats and calendars to knee jerk gombeens at Congress.

Not our fault that ye’re shite

Money will always be no.1

It’s only rugby really that has the fan interest, public appeal, infrastructure and the commercial and marketing nous to sustain weekly professional sport in Ireland.

I suppose if you go back 21 years ago to 2001 you had to reach the provincial final to stay in the hurling championship so there was a feeling of finality attached to provincial games. Those Tipp-Clare and Cork-Limerick games were played in front of packed crowds but the loser was gone after one game in May/June so the whole year depended on it. Hard to find a perfect system but the hurling championship 2002-2017 with a functioning minor and U21 championship was probably it.

Really, SRFC will earn 3 million over the next 3 months mate

What was the crowd at Tallaght Stadium last night for the Shamrock Rovers v Londonderry top of the table clash?

7200 i think

The GAA has made a bollox of it.

Are people gettin dumber?

Ya, we always had those at the end of the year for the odd ages. Gave you an idea of how you were set for the following year.

Were ye not worried about the risk of burnout :roll_eyes: