Did I say I had one? What I said was theyāre changing the game drastically but doing nothing about the lack of an actual proper competitive competition.
If they made one simple change by making it 2 teams qualify from the group stages instead of 3 it would have completely changed the competition. Currently there is probably only 6 or 7 games in the championship that actually means anything.
Provincial championships are a complete waste of time. Div 3 and 4 teams against Div 1.
Two tier is not enough, needs to be 3 Tiers really.
The game is fine the way it is when the games actually mean something.
Itāll be dead within three years with these nonsense changes. The public just wont get it.
This years AI final was between 2 very well matched teams, with 1 point separating them in the end. I havenāt met anyone who thought it was a good game, and that was all down to the tactics of both teams. Iv been to any number of club games where the teams were evenly matched and the spectacle was atrocious due to the tactics, though there are also plenty of decent games where teams try to play football. To say more competitive games was the solution to the sports problems is nonsense. The fact all northern counties, the inventors of blanket defence, voted overwhelmingly for change is a great indication of how badly these new rules were needed.
Iām not saying it is the solution, 100% problems with the game but championship will not be a whole lot better next year, there will still be only 5 or 6 games that will mean anything.
Iām not sure about that. At halftime in the Dublin v Galway game this year on here it was described as another game that was a waste of time, when will the proper championship start etc. By full-time the reigning champions were out. Itās not the absence of meaningful games thatās the problem, it is how easy the current stars of the game can be nullified - these new rules should mean that the players you would happily pay to go and watch will be much more visible in games.
Iām prepared to give it a chance but I donāt like the scoring system at all. You either go with a four point goal with the two point point from outside the arc or you leave it as is.
3 for a goal and 2 for outside the arc is a joke.
Yea thatās very silly. Is there still two points for a long range free?
I think the two pointers will be harder than people think though when backs push up on the kicker. Thatās what they are hoping for anyway.
Great stuff. Well look it, well done for highlighting the lack of competitiveness in Gaelic football. I await your analysis of the same in hurling when you finalise your findings.
No it isnāt the All Ireland QFās, SFās and Final from this year the case in point.
Strange comeback there. Hurling has divisions in the championship so there is no problem with lack of competitive matches. Maybe you donāt understand my point.
The football has two levels now too. I also donāt think the two qualifying instead of three is anywhere near as clear cut as you think. It would make it more exciting before the groups start but there is every chance it could lead to less competitive matches with the top two being decided after two rounds. It would also take out a whole round of actual knock out matches where 2nd play 3rd in the groups. I think theyāre getting rid of them anyway due to all the giving out but personally I think they would have been good if people were allowed get used to them and how topping the group was important for home advantage etc.
+1. Theyāve buried their head in the sand for over a decade now on that front. The competition died a death when Jim Gavin took Dublin to another level in 2013. Although the Dubs dropping back to the pack has made the quarter-finals onwards exciting recently. You could argue that thereās 8 different potential winners next year. Iād be backing Donegal.
Some craic your 70 year old ref in a Junior game trying to police all these rules.
The Leinster championship has been left behind by Munster
Yes, we should define our games by 70 year old refereees in Junior games.
I wonder what they should do to Solve the competitiveness? Iām on record here a small bit about how the GAA juiced Dublin, but how should they solve the competitiveness problem?
Just go with an early 50s Dub instead.
Heāll follow the rules, get some right, get some wrong.
Pretty much as things are, but the game will actually have the potential to be entertaining.
And if it doesnāt work out, theyāre all on trial and nothing will be lost except the internet hours lads spend bemoaning people trying to change things for the better.
Iām already looking forward to a weekend in June of Dubs v Wicklow, Galway v Sligo and Kerry v Waterford. Should be a cracking weekend.
The games played at the right time of the year tend to be good.
The League and Club Championships are always good games played in the proper window of the calendar.
But the Championship is so out of kilter that the games are never going to be any good.