Gaa split season,killing Meath football since 2011

Sligo will beat Galway

Galway only beat Sligo by 2 points in championship this year. A stoppage time goal from Rob Finnerty won it.

The Munster Council sitting on a right honeypot of cash thanks to the Munster Hurling round robin. The word from the horse’s mouth is that clubs who applied for this year’s grant are going to receive a grand early Christmas present in the next week or two when the distribution of grants are announced.

2 week build up to the All Ireland final, worst final since 2014, 2 week build up to semi finals Armagh Kerry shite for 55 mins and to be fair exciting last quarter and extra time. Donegal Galway very good 1st half in fairness but rubbish 2nd half.

QF’s
Armagh Roscommon-shite
Dublin Galway- very good 2nd half
Donegal Louth-reasonable
Kerry Derry- the absolute pits

Finals can often be shite in a lot of sports. I wouldn’t use Armagh v Galway as a reason to knock Gaelic football.

Galway had five or six lads crippled playing in that final including some of their most attacking players which was always going to impact the game negatively.

The build up to the world cup final in 2022 was shite. I was in Nantes the week before and you’d hardly know it was on very little hype around no flags up or anything.

It was more than just the final that was shite this year, Kerry/Derry will be 1 of those games you’ll remember in years to come for the wrong reasons like Dublin/ Donegal 2011 or the 2014 final.

The league final was a cracking game this year.

A demonstration of the negative effects of taking a major sporting event out of its traditional time window.

It is at club level where the issue is even worse than intercounty. The Down county final this year was as sad a spectacle as you will see in sport, a horrible game with a toxic atmosphere on the field and the 2 most talented players sent off out of frustration. The fact all Ulster counties supported these changes, despite being the main beneficiaries in terms of silverware delivered through the tactics, shows how badly needed the changes are.

Provincial club championship’s have been really exciting last few weeks. Split season has really improved the standard of club fare in my opinion. Even the football has been entertaining.

The Provincial Club Football Championships have always been excellent. They are still played for the most part in their traditional window of November/December.

The All Ireland Club has retained its quality too despite being put into the graveyard slot of January which is a testament to their prestige.

The Inter County Football Championships just dont work anymore in their farcical structure played at the wrong time of the year. These new rules could actually make it worse as the underdog hasn’t a hope now and the general public wont understand what’s going on.

This is a major problem. When you constantly change something, people no longer know what it is. This applies to both competition formats and the rules of the sport.

Sporting anomie.

Abraham Simpson explains this better than I could. It’s worrying that I have to quote a fictional old man character designed as a figure of ridicule to put across the voice of reason in the real world.

It was fantastic but games like that are far too rare.

Yep because the gaa has been trundling towards professionalism for an age now and it’s ruined it.

It’s survival of the fittest stuff. The product for the
Fan is dirge.

Is that not more of a slag on cranky aul fellas who just hate change as they don’t really understand whats going on anymore so their default reaction is to criticise? For aul fellas giving out about the end of the ban, the shoulder charge on the keeper and the back door in football read abe Simpson…for the modern old ‘all change is bad’ fogies read homer.

Yes it’s a slag but it actually holds true about Gaelic football now.

They’re ripping everything up and fundamentally changing everything about the sport because of social media howlers.

Popular culture evolves through organic means. People are tuning out and will continue to tune out because grotesque plastic surgery is being carried out on everything about Gaelic football and the flagship competition.

How the fuck is this three up rule going to be policed?

The one amusing thing is the lads who love to slag rugby for the gimmicky rules are behind this nonsense.

Do you genuinely think it won’t work as it’ll be too hard to police? Sure corner forwards will be only mad to stay up the field.
Square ball is almost impossible to judge yet it’s policed by 70 year olds with beer guts and skinny legs and knock knees every weekend.

We’ve now taken rules from AFL and basketball.

What next? A designated American football style quarter-back?

A 50-22 rule where you get possession high up the pitch if you kick for touch from your own half?

A snooker style “miss” rule where if you miss an easy shot you get another go at the shot but your opponents get four points?

Will hurling adopt a cricket style rule where if an opponent catches a ball you’ve struck off the hurley without it bouncing, the player who strikes the ball is deemed “out” for 10 minutes?