Gaa split season,killing Meath football since 2011

I’ve no issue with it at all and would encourage anybody to go as often as possible.

The point is what’s the point in waiting around for players till the middle of July if they are just going to head to the states.

Of course its an amateur sport and players can make whatever choice they like. The point is the GAA shouldn’t disappear from the radar for months just to suit the players that do choose to go on holidays to America or anywhere else.

Because the GAA is in the entertainment business.

Also it seems to me it’s more than just a tiny minority, the list is quite a long one and it contains some of the sport’s biggest names.

Lads can ye give it a break

You have to listen to all players, club and intercounty. They are the most important stakeholder. If both are happy with split season as it is, what is the issue? That’s democracy. Democracy is not about accepting those decisions that suit yourself.

The clubs will fold left right and centre. The funding will disappear.

It’s going like rugby in the 90s. The provinces started off as a couple of games a year. It kept getting bigger and bigger to the point where the clubs never saw the players.

It’s happening now in the gaa and it’s only going to get worse.

The inter county season is shite. Millions spent on preparing teams and the majority of games are shite.

Dublin v Kerry not selling out. Hurling final not selling out.

The split season is a complete disaster.

I disagree.

People have less of an attachment to their clubs more than ever before.

Again disagree.

So take Rian O’Neill. He’s gone to America. The Armagh championship is not starting until September I believe.

If the split season was to have any meaning, wouldn’t the Armagh championship be beginning before the end of July, with or without O’Neill and any other players who choose to up sticks?

What was the point of it otherwise?

Now, club players in Armagh are sat around scratching their holes and the way is left clear to other sports.

If you asked top association footballers if they would prefer a less heavy workload of games, pretty much all of them would say yes. But that would require the Premier League to reduce to 18 or 16 teams or the Champions League or World Cups/Euros to reduce in size. The people who run those competitions rightly won’t do this, because in the entertainment business - which, to reiterate, the GAA is in - media attention and money derived from such is very important.

Plus, at a more basic level, why should the whims of inter-county players who choose to go on a holiday in July and August take precedence over ordinary club players? Because that’s what happening.

Absolute nonsense.

The GAA reach within the community is getting broader and broader. A few years back we were lucky to have 10 at u6 training. I counted 50 players on the field between u7 & u9 training a few weeks. With another 25 kids in doing the u5 nursery.

At adult level its a bit harder retain lads now, but those you do retain are hugely motivated.

Senior inter county success drives interest among children.

Have TG4 or RTE announced any TV Schedules for the Club season yet?

I’m predicting RTE to kickstart their coverage on Saturday August 6th with a double header from Parnell Park of Thomas Davis v Na Fianna and Kilmacud Crokes v Raheny.

There’ll surely be some sort of double header from the TUS Gaelic Grounds on the Sunday involving Doon/Patrickswell/Kilmallock/Na Piarsaigh.

Your club is not picking from the same catchment era as a few years back so the numbers issues aren’t relevant.

Give it a few years and ye will be selling pitches to try and fund the thing.

Sunday August 21st will see TG4’s double header of Inagh/Kilnamona v Kilmaley and Sixmilebridge v Crusheen do battle with Sky’s Super Sunday offering of Manchester United v Liverpool.

Most kids spend their youth recreating passages from games they were at or saw on tv.

Fellas who support the split season seem to be stuck at home with young families with no real idea of what’s going on around them.

In the next few years gaa clubs will be folding all around the country while we are left with the most incredibly boring inter county season.

Seems to be a very high correlation between people that disagree with the split season and people that think sport is mainly a product for television, rather than for participation and attendance.

Next they’ll be demanding the pubs around Croke Park be turned into creches so they can attend the attractive senior intercounty All-Ireland final double header on the June bank holiday weekend (it’ll go close to selling out).

Top level sport - which is what the senior inter-county All-Irelands are supposed to be - is mainly a product for television and spectator enjoyment.

It isn’t supposed to be enjoyable for players.

As per usual lads try and turn it personal.

Selling their souls to sky sports
90 euro tickets for games that aren’t selling out
Ridiculous round robins
Leagues and various provincial competitions nobody cares about.

The whole thing stinks.

The clubs will be back starting in September after a nine month yawn fest of an inter county season.

Of course the thick gaa micks are afraid to criticise the gaa just like lads were afraid to criticise the Catholic Church.

These very people will see clubs fold all around the country.