Galway V Kilkenny 2014

yes…indeed…ye got too used to peaking after race week :slight_smile:

[QUOTE=“Turenne, post: 965349, member: 232”]Came across this gem on boards ie…

Some delusion.[/QUOTE]

“Conceeding only 6-137 in the 9 games this year its about 1-16 a game which is an excellent record”

Interesting.

There is a reason why the Listowel races are in mid September. Kerry folk :clap:

Galway hurlers are probably everybody’s second team if they have one

Always good losers (turn on each other more than other team) and good winners with the 1980 AI winning speech the greatest that there ever will be.

Always the one team who could turn over KK even at their peak before collapsing the next day.

I just feel that his major differentiating value is negated by playing him out the field.
If he is double marked, great, who is not marked?

Like in the past I always felt bringing him out the field was a bit of a surrender.
Hey look, we can’t get Joe the ball and we are losing and we need a goal to get back into this. I know let’s bring Joe out the field. What?

[QUOTE=“cluaindiuic, post: 965404, member: 258”]I just feel that his major differentiating value is negated by playing him out the field.
If he is double marked, great, who is not marked?

Like in the past I always felt bringing him out the field was a bit of a surrender.
Hey look, we can’t get Joe the ball and we are losing and we need a goal to get back into this. I know let’s bring Joe out the field. What?[/QUOTE]
Exactly.

[QUOTE=“Kinvara’s Passion, post: 965375, member: 686”]“Conceeding only 6-137 in the 9 games this year its about 1-16 a game which is an excellent record”

Interesting.[/QUOTE]

Interesting/Inaccurate mathematics at play there alright. Only a small error.
The division is right, if you use the right numbers.
They have in fact played 8 games. 5 League, 2 League knock out, 1 Championship.
They have conceded 6-137 in those[going by wikipedia]. That is just over 1-16 a game.

9 into 6-137 would be a lot less.

[QUOTE=“cluaindiuic, post: 965490, member: 258”]Interesting/Inaccurate mathematics at play there alright. Only a small error.
They have conceded 6-137 in those[going by wikipedia]. That is just over 1-16 a game.

9 into 6-137 would be a lot less.[/QUOTE]

You dev guys crack me up… :smiley:

Reasonable? He thinks Galway have 6 forwards on the level on Canning, he thinks they have an ‘abundance of talent’ up front, that tactically they have a great manger and that they are as good as ever defensively and in goals. The poor fucker can’t even name the team’s full-forward against Laois. What in the fuck is reasonable about any of that shite?

[QUOTE=“cluaindiuic, post: 965490, member: 258”]Interesting/Inaccurate mathematics at play there alright. Only a small error.

9 into 6-137 would be a lot less.[/QUOTE]

Canning has been double marked for ever, none of the Galway managers have been able to take advantage of it.

Suppose this cunt glasagusban won’t explain himself.

Most of the post is reasonable. Of course they don’t have 6 forwards as good as Canning, that part isn’t. They do have a lot of talent up front, if Cooney played for Cork we’d never hear the end of him. As good as ever defensively is at least arguable given that has never been Galway’s strongest area and they seem better set at 6 and 3 than in recent years. Every Galway poster here reckons they have the best goalie they’ve had in years, though you seem to have some quibble with that from your vantage point in Singapore. Tactically, their manager was exceptional in 2012, last year was a shambles, this year we don’t know; there’s a fair basis for a supporter of that county to look on Cunningham as a good manager tactically.

[SIZE=5]“Time for Joe to deliver”[/SIZE]
18 June 2014
http://www.hoganstand.com/Common/NewGallery/charliecarterki.jpg
Former Kilkenny star Charlie Carter.
Kilkenny great Charlie Carter believes Joe Canning has to learn to cope with the pressure of carrying the hopes of Galway hurling on his shoulders.

A big admirer of the Portumna target man, Carter told The Herald: "I think Joe is a class act but it’s time for Joe to deliver.

"Make no bones about it, it’s time for Joe to stand up and deliver. What age is Joe Canning now? Joe Canning has to learn to live with the pressure.

"Henry Shefflin has been living with the pressure since a year or two into his career with Kilkenny.

“For good players, that’s part of the game. Joe is no longer 19 or 20 any more.”

Looking ahead to Sunday’s Leinster SHC semi-final, the two-time All-Ireland winner points out that you can never take the Tribesman for granted.

"I’m always wary of Galway because of what they’ve done through the years.

"I don’t know whether you could call them ambushes … but even though they haven’t won an All-Ireland since 1988, they’ve never fallen that far off the radar.

“They’ve never been miles away from it. They’ve always been there or thereabouts.”

“But look … I was a minor in 1988 with Kilkenny the same day Galway won their last All-Ireland and if someone was to tell me coming out of Croke Park that day that Galway wouldn’t win one again until 2014, I’d be ordering a straight jacket for you.”

Charlie was one of my favourite hurlers of all time. Hard to argue with anything he’s saying here

that was a great minor final 1988

Sunday showed tactics are over rated.

what do you call moving you fb, and using 2 man markers? we wont mention the simulations

Limerick don’t do tactics mate. Our managers can’t even spell tactics -we’ll batter ye!

I heard the team was named at lunchtime today, could be horseshit… but think this was it.

Callanan

Moore R.Burke Collins
Harte Tannian D.Burke

Coen	 Brehony

N.Burke Cooney D.Burke
Mannion Glynn Canning

Knowing Cunningham, there may be some late changes…

Any idea what David Burke has to do to be dropped he’s been out of form for two years? And I can’t see him turning it back on Saturday