Galway V Kilkenny 2014

That was kk’s all Ireland. They’re as good as gone now.

Kilkenny will walk all Ireland

Are the highlights being shown anywhere tonight

We’re well off the mark.

Couldn’t attend but from Radio it sounded like we were never really a threat.

AC has some task trying to keep it together next week.

Same old same old.

Kilkenny way cuter, worked some great scores, we went to plan hit and hope very early. Eager to prove no over reliance on canning our players around the middle refused to hit it into him when he went full forward. David Burke got on loads of ball, but was as ineffective as ever. Holden was good I thought. Brian Hogan steadied the ship instantaneously and is a certainty at six now.

I was seething at Owens but his style of reffing suited Kilkenny, he constantly gave frees or shot his arm up signalling advantage when players running at defenders were tackled. Kilkenny ran at us all day and drew plenty of softish frees, we should have been cuter we hardly ever ran at them. On the other hand Owens rarely if ever gave frees for little holds jostles under the ball by both sides, jj and Paul Murphy had a field day. Not that there was anything wrong with what they did it was just a master class in defending high ball in. Owens ruined the game by not letting it flow. There was little intensity compared to last week. I don’t know why but it looked like we were never getting anything from him, he went apeshit booking Galway lads in the first half, not one of those challenge merited a card. It hampered any attempt to rough them up which worked last week for us.

But the ref wasn’t the deciding factor Kilkenny were miles better, our lads just stuck to the ground, no sharpness which doesn’t bode well for next week. Our backs are fine, daithi Burke is the next ollie canning he’s that good, he totally shut tj down. A massive factor in the game was Andy smiths ineffectiveness, he went down with a knock at the throw in and it might have hampered him. Joseph cooney was totally ineffectual, Glynn tried hard, Niall Burke was invisible as was joe. Damian Hayes looked very rusty on coming on. No real interplay all our scores were individual efforts mainly. Conor cooney carried the forward line on his own.

Massive Galway crowd at it. They weren’t there last week and won’t be in thurles next Saturday probably.

[QUOTE=“maroonandwhite, post: 972867, member: 1406”]
Massive Galway crowd at it. They weren’t there last week and won’t be in thurles next Saturday probably.[/QUOTE]

The amount of Grade A bangwagon cunts in this county is shameful.

maroon and white - I note you spotted what stevie wonder could see but no Galway player could see. Why the fuck did Galway refuse to hit even one half decent ball into Canning at full forward? They chose to do everything but hit him a half decent ball. They soloed into trouble, hit ball to the corner forwards hit it wide. The only they did give Canning was high ball when there was 2 players on him. I have noticed Galway display this trait before. So is it a case of the players are brain dead or is they don’t like Canning?

Galway were woeful. They should have tried to speed up the game but instead seemed to do everything in their power to slow it down. Colm Callinan didn’t hit one fast or short puckout all night. Not one fast free struck from the backs into the forwards. Backs delivery to ball to the forwards woeful. Who was marking Padraig Walsh? Left on his own so often.

Other than Conor Cooney’s brilliant freetaking there wasn’t one positive for Galway

I cant believe I tipped them

[QUOTE=“kerry1891, post: 972906, member: 1379”]maroon and white - I note you spotted what stevie wonder could see but no Galway player could see. Why the fuck did Galway refuse to hit even one half decent ball into Canning at full forward? They chose to do everything but hit him a half decent ball. They soloed into trouble, hit ball to the corner forwards hit it wide. The only they did give Canning was high ball when there was 2 players on him. I have noticed Galway display this trait before. So is it a case of the players are brain dead or is they don’t like Canning?

Galway were woeful. They should have tried to speed up the game but instead seemed to do everything in their power to slow it down. Colm Callinan didn’t hit one fast or short puckout all night. Not one fast free struck from the backs into the forwards. Backs delivery to ball to the forwards woeful. Who was marking Padraig Walsh? Left on his own so often.

Other than Conor Cooney’s brilliant freetaking there wasn’t one positive for Galway

I cant believe I tipped them[/QUOTE]

It happens regularly alright. I can’t understand it. Now the players responsible for this aren’t world beaters but they actually started to solo the minute he went in. It was hard to believe stuff. Sad to say but they look like a team who’ve done no link work in training, it’s a ball floated in uselessly or a run down a dark alley and a fucked up hand pass, or poor attempt to scoop the ball between players as we saw today a few times in the second half. I don’t think we need to fear the tipp forwards our backs should be able to hold them enough, but our forwards are at nothing.

Tend to agree with you @maroonandwhite
A somewhat toothless display from Galway. We were mediocre enough and still won with a bit to spare.
Galway just didn’t have any kind of spark of creativity that challenged the Kilkenny defence in any way.

I think both sides could have issues with some of the refereeing decisions. A number of times I was bemused by his decisions.

From the 15 that started last week we had 5 changes.
Out went Joyce, Kennedy, Walter, Kelly and Power.
In came Holden, C Fogarty, A Fogarty, Tommy and B Hogan.

I said after last week that I’d be happier with Tyrrell in the corner and Hogan at 6. I got my wish but outside of that it was a curious starting 15. Conor Fogarty got parachuted in out of nowhere to start in midfield. I had to check twitter for the starting 15 to figure out who the #20 running around in midfield was. The result of all the changes was that we were much more solid at the back.
But it’s hard to know if the solidity came from better play from us or a total lack of ideas from Galway. Conceding 1-17 is a good low total.
Going forward we were decent but at times we overplayed the ball and at other times we played some poor ball into the forward line.

The good news is that we are building a bit of depth in our panel. On the flip side to that, our best starting 15 now becomes a bit of a head scratcher.
Colin Fennelly who had been excellent all year until now had a bit of a mare tonight. There has been talk of him carry a knock coming into the game. If that is the case you’d have to question the logic of starting him. What did Mark Kelly do to be left off?
TJ Reid drifted in and out of the game. Sounds strange for a guy that score 2-11 but that’s the reality of it. Same went for Larkin and Richie Hogan. Richie Hogan is just so frustrating to watch. Sometimes quite outstanding, other times braindead.
Aidan Fogarty played well and justified his start with a nice goal. He worked very hard without the ball too and seemed to get a yellow card for unfairly putting his marker under too much pressure to clear the ball. The bastard.
Tommy started poorly but came into the game and played some really good ball into the full forward line.
Padraig was quite good too. He is a bit loose and wild but he is quite effective.
Cillian Buckley and Paul Murphy were dynamic and cleared a lot of ball.
Brian Hogan seemed a bit lethargic but still held his position well. Jackie and JJ gave their usual shifts as 2 of the best defenders in the country.
Eoin Murphy was poor for the goal, so poor that he ended up literally giving himself a hospital pass.
Herity did well when he came in. He had a good block save with his body in the second half.
Everything looks good when you are winning. Overall I think despite scoring 3-19 and winning by 8 points there is plenty of room for improvement.
At our best in the last 5 years, had a team played like that against us, lobbing ball after ball into our defenders, they’d get an awful beating.
It seems doubtful that we can bridge the gap to that potential but we could have a few interesting games in the coming weeks, starting next Sunday. 2 inconsistent teams, could be anything. Will Kilkenny pay for not putting Galway away the first day?

I don’t really know where Galway go from here. Aside from a 5 minute flurry, they are not performing at the level needed to make progress.
Next week will be interesting between Galway and Tipp. Tipp, if they have anything about them, at home, need to be beating this Galway team. Galway need to make it a physical war but it’s hard to know if they have much fight left.

Good summation there @cluaindiuic i always thought herity was a serious weak link but he did fine today and timed his block on cooney very well. Padraig walsh did ok but he’ll hardly get that much space again, nor will the kilkenny team as a while we were that slow in thought and actions. Richie Hogan wasnt as noticeable as last week but still brilliant, his reading of the breaking ball is the best in the country, and an area we were beaten up a stick in. At the end of the day kilkenny had just had the way better hurlers, but there isnt much energy from the likes of larkin or Fennelly, hogan and tj are all important now. Theyre not the kilkenny team of a few years back but they dont have to be to win this all ireland. I was told during the week that michael Fennelly was dropped as a discipline measure, is this true, if he came back to midfield hed improve them hugely i think.

Its on Page 21 of this thread.

[QUOTE=“cluaindiuic, post: 972919, member: 258”]Tend to agree with you @maroonandwhite
A somewhat toothless display from Galway. We were mediocre enough and still won with a bit to spare.
Galway just didn’t have any kind of spark of creativity that challenged the Kilkenny defence in any way.

I think both sides could have issues with some of the refereeing decisions. A number of times I was bemused by his decisions.

From the 15 that started last week we had 5 changes.
Out went Joyce, Kennedy, Walter, Kelly and Power.
In came Holden, C Fogarty, A Fogarty, Tommy and B Hogan.

I said after last week that I’d be happier with Tyrrell in the corner and Hogan at 6. I got my wish but outside of that it was a curious starting 15. Conor Fogarty got parachuted in out of nowhere to start in midfield. I had to check twitter for the starting 15 to figure out who the #20 running around in midfield was. The result of all the changes was that we were much more solid at the back.
But it’s hard to know if the solidity came from better play from us or a total lack of ideas from Galway. Conceding 1-17 is a good low total.
Going forward we were decent but at times we overplayed the ball and at other times we played some poor ball into the forward line.

The good news is that we are building a bit of depth in our panel. On the flip side to that, our best starting 15 now becomes a bit of a head scratcher.
Colin Fennelly who had been excellent all year until now had a bit of a mare tonight. There has been talk of him carry a knock coming into the game. If that is the case you’d have to question the logic of starting him. What did Mark Kelly do to be left off?
TJ Reid drifted in and out of the game. Sounds strange for a guy that score 2-11 but that’s the reality of it. Same went for Larkin and Richie Hogan. Richie Hogan is just so frustrating to watch. Sometimes quite outstanding, other times braindead.
Aidan Fogarty played well and justified his start with a nice goal. He worked very hard without the ball too and seemed to get a yellow card for unfairly putting his marker under too much pressure to clear the ball. The bastard.
Tommy started poorly but came into the game and played some
really good ball into the full forward line.

Padraig was quite good too. He is a bit loose and wild but he is quite effective.
Cillian Buckley and Paul Murphy were dynamic and cleared a lot of ball.
Brian Hogan seemed a bit lethargic but still held his position well. Jackie and JJ gave their usual shifts as 2 of the best defenders in the country.
Eoin Murphy was poor for the goal, so poor that he ended up literally giving himself a hospital pass.
Herity did well when he came in. He had a good block save with his body in the second half.
Everything looks good when you are winning. Overall I think despite scoring 3-19 and winning by 8 points there is plenty of room for improvement.
At our best in the last 5 years, had a team played like that against us, lobbing ball after ball into our defenders, they’d get an awful beating.
It seems doubtful that we can bridge the gap to that potential but we could have a few interesting games in the coming weeks, starting next Sunday. 2 inconsistent teams, could be anything. Will Kilkenny pay for not putting Galway away the first day?

I don’t really know where Galway go from here. Aside from a 5 minute flurry, they are not performing at the level needed to make progress.
Next week will be interesting between Galway and Tipp. Tipp, if they have anything about them, at home, need to be beating this Galway team. Galway need to make it a physical war but it’s hard to know if they have much fight left.[/QUOTE]

Don’t laugh but I heard at the graveyard mass last night that Colin Fennelly had a broken finger. Further investigation downgraded that to severe finger injury but not quite broken!

P.S How is T J doing in top scorer category?

[QUOTE=“maroonandwhite, post: 972867, member: 1406”]Same old same old.

Kilkenny way cuter, worked some great scores, we went to plan hit and hope very early. Eager to prove no over reliance on canning our players around the middle refused to hit it into him when he went full forward. David Burke got on loads of ball, but was as ineffective as ever. Holden was good I thought. Brian Hogan steadied the ship instantaneously and is a certainty at six now.

I was seething at Owens but his style of reffing suited Kilkenny, he constantly gave frees or shot his arm up signalling advantage when players running at defenders were tackled. Kilkenny ran at us all day and drew plenty of softish frees, we should have been cuter we hardly ever ran at them. On the other hand Owens rarely if ever gave frees for little holds jostles under the ball by both sides, jj and Paul Murphy had a field day. Not that there was anything wrong with what they did it was just a master class in defending high ball in. Owens ruined the game by not letting it flow. There was little intensity compared to last week. I don’t know why but it looked like we were never getting anything from him, he went apeshit booking Galway lads in the first half, not one of those challenge merited a card. It hampered any attempt to rough them up which worked last week for us.

But the ref wasn’t the deciding factor Kilkenny were miles better, our lads just stuck to the ground, no sharpness which doesn’t bode well for next week. Our backs are fine, daithi Burke is the next ollie canning he’s that good, he totally shut tj down. A massive factor in the game was Andy smiths ineffectiveness, he went down with a knock at the throw in and it might have hampered him. Joseph cooney was totally ineffectual, Glynn tried hard, Niall Burke was invisible as was joe. Damian Hayes looked very rusty on coming on. No real interplay all our scores were individual efforts mainly. Conor cooney carried the forward line on his own.

Massive Galway crowd at it. They weren’t there last week and won’t be in thurles next Saturday probably.[/QUOTE]

Wellatie wellatie wellatie, by Jaysus ha…

Kilkenny’s AI to lose now. Who are possibly going to beat them?

KK on a different level, end of, nbegginiing to reckon joe will never win one

We are sitting ducks for tipp, i hate to say it

cuntish

[QUOTE=“Kinvara’s Passion, post: 972894, member: 686”]+1

The amount of Grade A bangwagon cunts in this county is shameful.[/QUOTE]
The bandwagon from the city is the worst by a mile though, and they all get tickets.

My housemate went to his annual one game last night on the back of last weeks hype. Got 4 tickets…won’t be seen again unless there is a final.

In fairness every county is the exact same. Dublin v Laois a few weeks back in the football only had 30k or 40k at it. If the Dubs reach the final tickets will be changing hands for ridiculous money.

There’ll be people at the Munster final in a fortnight who will probably have only been to a couple of games (if even that) since the AI final in '07.

Bandwagons of any type (sporting, Garth Brooks mania etc) would sicken your hole. We are sheep in this country. Just go with the flow…