Biffoâs rattled here
One of the commentators said Cody was rattled on Sunday, stage 4 he said.
They scored 1-1 from play in the second half iirc. outside of the goal the kk backs lorded it for 35 minutes and had goal chances the other side. Walsh was much better in the second half aswell.
Power and Larkin were also much better against Tipp. Fennelly was aswell.
Kk will be better the next day, if lads like David burke, donnelan, Regan and Damien Hayes donât perform then I canât see anything but a kk win.
I would be thinking along the same lines timber.kk will be better the next day and Galway will have it all to do IMO.
As a Galway man I hope your wrong tho.
Galway played crazy deep 2nd half,joe should have been left in around the square.kk will score a few goals the next dayâŚ
The performance of Smith and Tannian at midfield would make you wonder about how far back Tipp are gone. Fennelly beat McGrath and Maher by himself and comfortably too. If you put Shane McGrathâs performance side by side with Andy Smithâs youâd have to say that McGrath looks shot.
You are probably right WTB McGrath hasnât really been the same since his bout of the mumps a few years ago. Heâs away travelling for the year so weâll have to plan without him next year
Iâm very impressed with Andy Smithâs development. Seems heâs put in some serious hard work over the past few years. Watching him play half forward for Portumna I never thought heâd reach this level.
He was really outstanding in '08 and '09. Had a mixed year in '10 and has been struggling for form since. A huge loss it must be said.
In fairness to McGrath, he never recovered from the mumps properly and imo has being lucky to make the team for the past 2 years. If Seamus Hennessey can get fit i would pencil him in to replace Shane.
Regards Andy Smith, he did some job on Fennelly last wknd in fairness. Never gave him a minutes peace and hit every tackle like it was his last. He really has improved no end this year and added another dimension to Galwayâs play. Cunningham must be applauded for sticking Tannion & Smith together as i would never have seen them as a midfield duo.
In saying all that, if KK place a better partner with Fennelly next day out and they get parity then KK will have a serious foundation built to kick on and win. Galway must win midfield to have any chance in the replay.
Agree that Galway have to win midfield.The Kilkenny half back line had too much influence in the second half.I would like to see Galway varying it a bit more in the half forward line.Brian Hogan cleared too much ball in that second half.Instead of trying to compete they should spoil/break the ball.But this tactic might not yield much with Galway deploying 2 deep lying midfielders.This is where Damien Hayes needs to come into effect.He needs to be picking up the dirty ball and running at that Kilkenny defence.The same goes for Cyril Donnelan.It is his natural game.
In a way its a shame that a couple of players like Aidan Harte and Aongus Cullinan arent around the panel because they would offer another scoring threat.Galway have the weapons to hurt Kilkenny but they cannot afford to retreat into their shell like the last couple of outings.
Galway are set up to be front runners but if they go a few points behind I reckon they could be in trouble.
They definitely had a big effect on him but on their own they shouldnât be enough to knock a ladâs career back that much. Maybe he never gave his system the recovery time it needed.
Iâm not convinced Hennessy has the mobility or natural athleticism to play I/C midfield, I suppose if Tannian can do it he should be in with a shot as well. They might prefer to fit him in at the back though, especially with Curran and OâMahony on the way out.
Smith and Tannian has been an unlikely success story alright. Earlier in the year i would have seen that pairing as one of the main reasons Galway werenât going to win anything. Regarding Fennelly, Smith dominating him was a massive surprise and it is hard to imagine him being that quiet again. If heâs carrying the ball towards the Galway half-backline it totally changes the game the next day, but Smith and Tannian are the pairing in form and that counts for an awful lot at midfield.
Harte is on the bench whiplash but hasnât been used
Do Galway have to start fast and build up a lead to be in a position to win?
Can they win from behind?
[quote=âcarryharry, post: 705368â]
In saying all that, if KK place a better partner with Fennelly next day out and they get parity then KK will have a serious foundation built to kick on and win. Galway must win midfield to have any chance in the replay.[/quote]
Who would this better partner be Carryharry? There isnât any obvious options. Hogan didnât work, Cillian Buckley is too light, Paddy Hogan is not tough enough. An alternative option would be to move Tommy Walsh out but I canât see Cody doing that. As it stands I can see Galway dominating midfield again in the replay. They have to keep a better shape in the second half but I think they can do that.
Alot of lads are stating that Kilkenny wonât be as bad the next day out but what is this based on? It will be the same team because there are virtually no alternatives on the bench. The Galway defence has been excellent in two games against them now, why will that change? I think Galway have the measure of this Kilkenny team and if they keep their composure better in the replay then they will win.
I thought Hogan & Colin Fennelly would switch the last day Hannibal.
I donât think Tommy would have the legs for midfield plus Cody has him earmarked to contain Cyril Donnellan.
What do KK posters think of Kerian Joyce getting a chance in midfield with Fennelly? Training in Nolan Park for the next couple of weeks will be very interesting. Will Cody close all gates?
Thatâs a fair point hannibal, but I think CLDâs point above is valid as well. If Galway donât get an early lead of significance, and itâs easy to imagine that happening because KK might not leak a goal next time, then youâd question their capacity to close out a tight game. The defence certainly does seem to have the measure of them, but KK probably still should have won the game. The same performances again from both sides would probably produce a KK victory.
[quote=âWatch The Break, post: 705375â]
Thatâs a fair point hannibal, but I think CLDâs point above is valid as well. If Galway donât get an early lead of significance, and itâs easy to imagine that happening because KK might not leak a goal next time, then youâd question their capacity to close out a tight game. The defence certainly does seem to have the measure of them, but KK probably still should have won the game. The same performances again from both sides would probably produce a KK victory.[/quote]
Whatâs annoying me is that lots of posters are saying that Kilkenny had an off day without giving the Galway performance due credit. I would agree that Galway do seem to need a lead to defend but we donât know for certain that they wouldnât come from behind if they needed to. No one seems to be allowing for an improvement in the Galway performance in the replay.
I canât remember a game bar the 2010 All Ireland where KKâs forwards as a unit were so ineffective.
Credit must go to Galwayâs mean defense for this but, i firmly believe the R Power, C Fennelly, A Fogarty and Eoin Larkin will not be kept quiet the next day.
Bar Shefflin & Reid the last day, Kk as a foward unit were terrible.
If Galway go man to man for 70 mins they have a right good chance imo, but if they retreat into the shells like they did in the second half vrs Cork & KK the next day then things could get very uncomfortable for Galway fans.
You donât seem to be allowing for a Kilkenny improvement.
What alternatives do Galway have on the bench?
I agree with you but itâs understandable in the light of some of the performances they have produced in the past.
In general Iâd also go along with your overall diagnosis of where theyâre at as a team. I think what we saw last Sunday now reflects a âtypicalâ Kilkenny performance, with the kind of havoc wreaked in the second half of the Tipp game being the exception rather than the rule.