Galway v Tipperary - All Ireland Senior Hurling Semi-Final 2017

A bigger cunt than elvis you could hardly meet. But you know that already. Typical of the many souptaking cunts that inhabit the corridors of power in Limerick.

Delighted the Tipp cunts lost this. We’re still celebrating the horrible bastards been beaten in Limerick. And Cork, and offaly, and Clare, and Kilkenny, and Laois, and Waterford

Here’s a piece from the Kilkenny People from 30 years ago following the Galway v Tipperary 1987 semi final.

Kilkenny People, week end ending Friday, August 21 1987

A Long Way From Tipperary to Croke Park
By Diarmuid Healy

A number of weeks ago the “Tipp Are Back” gang had firmly enthroned the Premier County as this year’s All-Ireland senior hurling champions. And the more optimistic of that gang had given them a three-year term on the throne they last occupied sixteen years ago.

Suddenly the gang’s empire crumbled as their young heroes were dealt a shattering blow by what many in the Premier County had regarded as an insignificant crowd from West of the Shannon.

All of this seemed very confusing for the Kilkenny supporters, who have their eyes firmly set on All-Ireland laurels. If Tipperary were so fantastic, Galway must be world beaters. So is a trip to Croke Park really worth it on the first Sunday of September?

This week let’s take a closer look at the Tipperary syndrome. Being out of the country for the Munster championship, I went to Croke Park for the Tipperary/Galway semi-final in anticipation of a brilliant display from the young Tipperary tigers.

The tee shirts with the “Tipp Are Back” slogans were there in their thousands. The Tipperary flags were also back in numbers. And during the minor game in which Tipperary annihilated Galway, it was obvious that the Tipperary supporters were back in Croke Park too.

But as the senior game progressed a certain air of confusion pervaded the scene. This Tipperary team on display seemed but a pale shadow of the Tipperary team I had read and heard about for weeks previously.

The “Tipp Are Back” slogan writers seemed to have got it wrong. Being back for many of them meant being back to the good old days when hurling was hurling and when Tipperary, once they emerged from Munster, had a divine right to All-Ireland honours.

But alas for such innocence, much had changed since Tipperary were last in that privileged position all of those 16 long years ago. The game of hurling had changed in the meantime. Brain had replaced brawn, while skill had replaced physical force as the way to success.

Tipperary learned to their cost in that game against Galway that it was no longer profitable to give the traditional “dunt” to the opposing team’s goalie as the ball sailed over the bar. That “dunt” now resulted in the cancellation of the score and a free to the opposing side which, on this occasion, resulted in a Galway goal and the losing of the game for Tipperary.

And Tipperary also learned that the exponents of the modern game are no respecters of tradition. The “Tipp being back is good for the game” philosophy didn’t wash with the men from the West. You now have to earn your way to the top no matter what your past record is. You just cannot spring from mediocrity to greatness overnight.

Even when Offaly arrived in 1980 (they couldn’t be back as they hadn’t been there before) they had to earn their right to the top. Having defeated Kilkenny – the then reigning All-Ireland champions – in the Leinster Final, they too suffered defeat at the hands of Galway in the All-Ireland semi-final three weeks later.

Like the Tipperary dressing-room after the Galway game, tears were shed in the Offaly dressing-room on that August day in 1980. But lessons were also learned. And one very valuable lesson was that the winning of a provincial title does not give you an automatic All-Ireland title.

Offaly also learned that one must not allow oneself to get carried away on a sea of emotion after such a victory. As one Offaly player of that era reminded me recently – it was only during the final five minutes of that game that Offaly realised they were actually playing in an All-Ireland semi-final. It has taken that experience and those intervening three weeks for the euphoria of the Leinster final victory to disappear!

The sea of euphoria and the lack of experience of the “big time”, along with the consequent nervousness, played a key role in Tipperary’s defeat by Galway. And it is in this context that Galway should be assessed as we get ready for their clash with Kilkenny on All-Ireland final day.

It was in this scenario in which Galway scored their impressive 3-20 to 2-17 win. They also looked far superior to a struggling Tipperary side. Yet it was only in the dying minutes that they snatched victory. The unanswered question is – did Galway beat a good or bad Tipperary team? A question the ‘People will answer next week.

Footnote: it was nice to see abit of humour being introduced to the traditional rivalry between Tipperary and Kilkenny on the day of the Tipp/Galway semi-final. Thanks to residents in the border towns of Callan and Johnstown, Tipp followers didn’t have to consult their roadmaps as they made their merry way to Croke Park. Both towns had erected huge signs pointing the way to Croke Park.

And Johnstown residents added that little bit extra for the return journey with a sign which read: “See you all again in 16 years time.”

You’d miss that quality of writing.

It wasn’t for Diarmuid as it turned out.

''Tis gas all the same.

The joy KK people take in Tipperary Hurling being down. The child never really gave credit to Galway who were a seriously good side & deserved winners.

Thankfully his cough was soon abruptly softened.

They are obsessed with ye whereas everyone else just despises ye.

Jaysus that’s brilliant.

That is true.

True, they are like the WW1 veterans with shell shock, no matter how successful they are they can’t help themselves, they fear Tipperary, they’ve always feared Tipperary.

The greatest hurling team of all (according to them) has a record of 3-1-2 against Tipperary in AI Finals.

Poor aul @Locke was reared on stories that the boodie man was from Tipperary.

We mightn’t always win, but we’ll always go out expecting to do so, we are Tipperary, the Premier County, the Home of Hurling.

The home of the one in a row mate.

4 in 130 years pal .

Put these words in the order you think they should be in.

“chefs in glasshouses shouldn’t throw stones”

On what basis?

Two in a row in my lifetime pal.

Ah it was great craic all the same the way we were rared.
Even yesterday when passing over the boarder from Tipp into KK I let out a breath as if I was holding it all the way through the ‘Premier’ county, much to the dismay of the kids. Then I beeped the car horn and roared ‘Up the Black n Amber!’ as the boys replied to me ‘Down the Blue and Gold!!’ This way of child rearing is gold, who else is going to pass on such ‘respect’ for another county.

As for “The greatest hurling team of all (according to them)” comment…

Cringe

And the obsession with Tipperary continues. Well played @Mullach_Ide @caulifloweredneanderthal @the_man_himself.
An odd throwaway comment and the entire board is in meltdown.

Sure i brought the nephews into the local shop for a 99 cone during the week. You’d be half embarrassed walking around beside them with their Tipp jerseys on. I tried to throw jackets over them but they were having none of it.

I made a swift enough exit once the sprinkles were added.

That is a great article. One for the ages.

You forget now, due to their unprecedented success since, just how much the ai semi final win of 2002 by a single point meant to the cats.

BOX OFFICE. Two new counties in an All Ireland and all anyone wants to talk about is Tipp. Unreal

For some teams, their all Ireland is beating us pal.
Imagine we were preparing for an all Ireland final. We wouldn’t be stuck on the semi final thread, but instead we’d be giving it big licks on the Up for the Match and final threads. It’s sad really