Strange atmosphere down there this morning. Nice people from all over. The family must be gladdened a bit by that. Awful gathering at the church and the signs for the funeral of the other poor man up.
Was thinking that she went in for a swim two days ago and here everyone was a few hours later looking for her body.
I’ve never encountered an atmosphere like it. Immense sadness but a real community rallying around our own in the worst circumstances. I hope to fuck that she’s found very soon so the family can grieve.
Tough work tonight. The stretch of coastline from Barna to Furba village is essentially a rock climbing course and the rain earlier made a fuck of things. At the same time that’s a daughter/sibling/best friend and it’s great to see nearly 150k raised in 12 hours.
Ireland is still full of decent sorts.
Genuine question, what does the search need all the money for?
Is it to bring in some kind of external hi tec search team?
I haven’t been brave enough to ask but I do know things like coastguard and air rescue look for fees to continue after a certain length. There’s a heap of boat volunteers that have offered to help out (as far as Mallow and Limerick). I think the family want to cover fuel etc for their kind gestures.
There’s also things like the search leaders not being given back torches that they handed out to borrow. It adds up but I think the funds are going to be donated to a lot of different worthy causes.
I’m just back from the morning search now and the Ó Fátharta family are incredibly resilient folk. The shock on faces when volunteers find out her own brother is leading a search team (very capably I might add) is a great example.
My pal.is back in tanland otherwise he’d have called down again. Good on you my oul epal.
Tell that friend of Flatty that they more than done their bit.
They didn’t but that is greatly appreciated.
I’ll tell his pal (who actually had the foresight to bring binoculars)
A week gone lads. Fucking hell. A gang of us are going out in less than an hour. It’s more just to let the family know we have their backs more than any confidence of finding her at this stage.
220k raised far which is fantastic. Hopefully the sea brings her back to her family and friends very soon.
Jaysus mate. I can’t imagine what your community is going through. Truly hope she turns up.
I mentioned here over the summer that a cousin of the mother’s went missing in Dublin. It took a month to find her, and unfortunately it was over in England that she washed up.
I remember the interview her daughter did after she went missing. She raised a great daughter.
Very sad. A few coastguard lads were saying it’s generally more than 3 weeks before a body washes back up in the Galway Bay again once it goes past day 9. Numbers are dropping too but that’s only natural given that people have kids and commitments.
Where are they wanting folk to keep looking?
I think their main focus is still Blackrock to Padraicins. They might be caught for volunteers if it snows tonight. They have to start in the early hours to get best land coverage but it means they won’t have as many.
Fair play to ya for your efforts to date. A credit to your community. Please god her body will be found.
The family are going to give it till Saturday and at that stage they’re calling off the search. Every bounce of the ball went against them in the last 10 days and the storm at the weekend is a brutal cruelness. God love them all.
God help them it’s heart wrenching. And good on you and others like you for going out each day searching for her.
She’s been found. Hard to know what to feel really. An absolutely cruel way to cut a young life short but finally a family can start to grieve properly. We were going to brave the red warning at 3 tomorrow morning again till we got the news just now.
Bed of heaven to Máire anyways.
RIP.
A remarkable community effort from you all.