Garda visit radio station in Cowen painting inquiry

Unbelievable,
Would the Gardai ever fuck off on to the streets and do something useful?
Would RTE ever go and grow a pair of balls? they’re shit-scared of Fianna Fail and it shows in their programming

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2009/0325/breaking38.htm

Garda visit radio station in Cowen painting inquiry

A garda visited the offices of Today FM yesterday afternoon looking for email contacts the Ray D’Arcy Show show had with the artist who painted the nude portraits of Brian Cowen that were hung in two Dublin galleries.

On his show this morning, D’Arcy said the show’s producer Will Hanafin had spoken with the garda who had told him that “the powers that be want action taken”.

Mr Hanafin said he was told that the Garda wanted the name and contact details of the artist so they could caution him and when he declined to pass the information on, he was told a warrant might be sought to get access to the show’s emails.

The paintings of Mr Cowen appeared in the Royal Hibernian Academy (RHA) gallery and the National Gallery of Ireland almost three weeks ago. He was shown holding his underpants in one painting and a toilet roll in the other.

A researcher on the show has been in phone and email contact with the artist since the middle of January when he sent an image of one of his paintings. Earlier this week, the artist confirmed to the show that the paintings were his but he denied hanging them in the galleries himself.

The Garda Press Office said it had no information on any contacts with the Ray D’Arcy Show and declined to comment on the status of the investigation, other than to say it was ongoing.

Last night RT apologised for a television news report concerning the nude portraits Mr Cowen .

It said it had received a number of complaints about the item on Monday’s Nine News , including one from the Taoiseach’s office. It said it deemed the report to be inappropriate before the complaints were received and it did not run on subsequent television bulletins and was taken down from the RT website.

“On last night’s programme we carried a report on the illicit hanging of caricatures of the Taoiseach in two Dublin galleries. RT News would like to apologise for any personal offence caused to Mr Cowen or his family and for any disrespect shown to the office of the Taoiseach by our broadcast,” said the statement, which was read by newscaster Eileen Dunne on last night’s Nine News .

heard this on ray d’arcy this morning about how will had to go talk to them yesterday although it was siobhan they had been looking for… will refused to give them contact details and they said they may be back with a search warrant

That’s fucking crazy! Will be surprised if the Indo don’t go nuts with this. Indo or not, seems like a rash move from fianna fail.

Watched the item on the news Monday night RTE1, very funny when Deirdre Purcell, with a straight face, said it was believed that Mr. Cowan didn’t pose for the pictuter!! No shit Deirdre?

Will Hanafin (afaik) is a Barrister. So he’ll be well able to cover his and many more arses.

I’ve actually seen the one with the underpants, and made (what turned out to be pointless) enquiries to buy it.

I want to compliment my CJ’s “come and get me” treasure so If anyone here knows a man who knows a man who knows anything at all …

Mairegangaire@ireland.com

Ta

Heard on the news that they are going to be auctioned with the proceeds going to charity

Adams?

[quote=“Mairegangaire”]Will Hanafin (afaik) is a Barrister. So he’ll be well able to cover his and many more arses.

I’ve actually seen the one with the underpants, and made (what turned out to be pointless) enquiries to buy it.

I want to compliment my CJ’s “come and get me” treasure so If anyone here knows a man who knows a man who knows anything at all …

Ta[/quote]

his wife is a barrister … and they have contacted her about what could happen to the artist

then theres two wigs in the house.

She’s from Youghal isn’t she?

[quote=“Mairegangaire”]Will Hanafin (afaik) is a Barrister. So he’ll be well able to cover his and many more arses.

Ta[/quote]

From http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/europe/article5971027.ece

The guerrilla artist, emboldened by his success, went on to hang a second portrait of the Taoiseach in the Royal Hibernian Gallery. The second naked portrait depicted a portly Mr Cowen, still in his glasses, holding a pair of blue and white pants in his left hand.

One woman who saw the work was impressed enough to make an offer

Was that you Maire?

This incident is typical of the priorities of the Garda.

Maybe if someone had have told them “Seanie” Fitzpatrick had a similar portrait of Cowen in the buff in his office, they might have acted quicker in raiding the Anglo Irish HQ than they did.

Heard Michael Kennedy complaining about RTE on the Last Word there. He came across as quite the fool. Said he had no problem with Tribune showing photos as they were in black and white (and not colour). Somehow this is less offensive to the Taoiseach and to the office of Taoiseach. Turns out they showed pictures in colour anyway.

I’ve seen a few murals of Cowen around the place. Fianna Fail - The Recession party is the general theme. I wonder what genius thought of that one.

Tough situation for Cowen really. Hopefully he’ll handle it better than flano anyway.

Oh dear.

Guards = wankers

Fianna Fail = humourless wankers

The powers that be want action, who the fcuk do they think they are? It’s not a criminal offence. They wouldn’t be into the Collopys as quick. Typical fcuking bully boy guards. G’way ye fcuking wankers and solve some real crime for yerselves.

[quote=“SHANNONSIDER**”]Guards = wankers

Fianna Fail = humourless wankers

The powers that be want action, who the fcuk do they think they are? It’s not a criminal offence. They wouldn’t be into the Collopys as quick. Typical fcuking bully boy guards. G’way ye fcuking wankers and solve some real crime for yerselves.[/quote]

Onto the Collopy’s?

They were too busy giving them a Garda escort and stopping traffic for them as they pulled a horse drawn hearse through the middle of the city today, all the way from the Island Field to Mungret.

[quote=“The Runt”]Onto the Collopy’s?

They were too busy giving them a Garda escort and stopping traffic for them as they pulled a horse drawn hearse through the middle of the city today, all the way from the Island Field to Mungret.[/quote]

I heard the deceased was laid out in army fatigues, Runty. There was a full firing party busting caps over the coffin I believe. I have the misfortune of having one of these notorious killers buried beside a relation of mine. The mother is even afraid to visit the graveyard.

the story is all over the world this morning, had it be left be it was gone,over,under the carpet. but the fucking apes exasperated it themselves.

Cowans advisers must have come straight from a cave, have they got anything right?

[quote=“The Runt”]From http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/europe/article5971027.ece

Was that you Maire?[/quote]

it could be but I suspect they were many other enquiries, and from are more High Brow places, if you know what I mean.

Personally, I doubt Brian Cowen himself had very little to do with the police action. I think he’d have laughed at it.

The concern here is that someone can walk into one of our Gallery’s and hang a picture as easily as remove one.