Gardai acting quite aggressively

This is a desperate situation for all involved.

Gardai going about their daily work encountering this carry on in the first place. If the uniforms called in the ARU then they were obviously in fear for their safety.

This wasn’t a drunk teenager either folks, a 27 year grown man with a knife already after assaulting someone.

In saying all of that, he was at his house. Could more time have been taken affirm who he was, where he lived, perhaps call parents or a partner to try and defuse the situation?

From the video their appears to be a good number of shots fired.

Don’t worry, your militia buddys will be on shortly to help you out

A taser wouldn’t work fully if the person being targeted is wearing thick clothes/multiple layers of clothing.

Do you think the first one stopped him and the rest were just for the craic?

Or if you just happened to miss

Do you know how tasers work? A heavy jacket could prevent the barbs from making contact.

Your level is low grade wumming in the NFL thread, I would suggest you keep it at that and let those with a semblance of intelligence discuss the matter at hand. You can change your avatar to the lad if you want it’s the extent of your powers.

It’ll be interesting to see what these two lads can come up against the armed response unit.

This would suggest they didn’t miss ( From the Independent)

Laz I think it’s pretty low to immediately attribute some sort of racist element to this.

The Guards were in a, at best, no-win situation when a guy who had already shown himself to be very dangerous. Now, as @carryharry said, it’s possible more could have been done but to instantly attribute a racial element to it is very unfair.

I think @TheUlteriorMotive is going down the he had more bounce-back ability than rasputin route mate

You are a case study in fanaticism. It’s quite interesting to observe from a purely scientific perspective

The only science you ever applied in life was the timing of a pint of Guinness settling.

I am not the ne doing that, read back and try again

Post reported

Agreed, a lab rat

This is how it begins

Put your yoga mat back in the press like a good lad.

He was swinging a knife … They were close enough to shoot his legs or arms… But if I was in that situation I wouldn’t see skin colour I’d only see the knife.

Shooting arms or legs doesn’t guarantee stopping someone. A few harmless sorts think they should have just shot the knife out of his hand.