GDPR Discussion

I got an email from the Circus on GDPR :joy::joy:

acrobats and clown sitting around a laptop pounding the keyboard for this shit.

Most IT departments are made up of acrobats and clowns

Sure Adobe hired a load of them

An unencrypted laptop with 37,000 peoples details :joy:

That should get them a good slap

Eir treats privacy and protection of all data extremely seriously and our policy is that all company laptops should be encrypted as well as password protected. In this case the laptop had been decrypted by a faulty security update the previous working day, which had affected a subset of our laptops and was subsequently resolved.

Well isn’t that a stroke of bad luck :grinning:

Quick, IT fella, come up with a reason why the laptop wasn’t encrypted that will sound plauisible

Tell them it was a security update.

Perfect

and nobody noticed that their laptop was unecrypted :smiley:

Decrypted :grin:

On the old Eircom Zyxel Routers you could get the encryption key for the WiFi using an app on the App Store. If you put in the SSID name it would give you the code.

When the code was converted to hexadecimal the code was lyrics to some song whose name I cant think of at the moment.

TLDR;

Eir/Eircom security is shite

Just signed up to Eir about a month or so ago and today I get this, well feck you Catherine

Important notification from eir
I am writing to you to inform you of the loss of personal data of a number of eir customers. This issue has arisen as a result of the theft of one laptop, which was immediately reported to the Gardai. A comprehensive internal investigation and security review has been launched and the matter has been reported to the Office of the Data Protection Commissioner.

Unfortunately the stolen laptop contained a file containing some or all of the following information specifically relating to you: name, email address, eir account number and contact number. No financial data relating to you was stored on the laptop in question, or any other personal data.

While there is no evidence at this time that the data has been used by a third party, as a precaution we are writing to all those affected and advising them to be extra vigilant.

On behalf of eir I would like to apologise for any concern this may cause you.

eir treats privacy and protection of all data extremely seriously and our policy is that all company laptops should be encrypted as well as password protected. In this case the laptop had been decrypted by a faulty security update the previous working day, which had affected a subset of our laptops and has since been corrected.

More information in relation to this matter is available at www.eir.ie/customer-announcement

Yours sincerely
Catherine Lonergan signature
Catherine Lonergan
eir Consumer and Small Business
Thank you for choosing eir
Directors: Carolan Lennon, Stephen Tighe

eir is a trading name of eircom Limited, Registered as a Branch in Ireland Number 907674.
Incorporated in Jersey. Number 116389. Branch address: 1 Heuston South Quarter, St John’s Road, Dublin 8. D08 A9RT. VAT registration IE 3286434NH.

This email was sent by eir, 1 Heuston South Quarter St John’s Road, Dublin 8, Dublin 8. D08 A9RT, Ireland

Is it a breach of her GDPR to post her details online? You could be in trouble here bro.

Are you entitled to any recompense for that I wonder?

Art. 82 GDPR

Right to compensation and liability

1. Any person who has suffered material or non-material damage as a result of an infringement of this Regulation shall have the right to receive compensation from the controller or processor for the damage suffered.
  2. 1Any controller involved in processing shall be liable for the damage caused by processing which infringes this Regulation. 2A processor shall be liable for the damage caused by processing only where it has not complied with obligations of this Regulation specifically directed to processors or where it has acted outside or contrary to lawful instructions of the controller.
  3. A controller or processor shall be exempt from liability under paragraph 2 if it proves that it is not in any way responsible for the event giving rise to the damage.
  4. Where more than one controller or processor, or both a controller and a processor, are involved in the same processing and where they are, under paragraphs 2 and 3, responsible for any damage caused by processing, each controller or processor shall be held liable for the entire damage in order to ensure effective compensation of the data subject.
  5. Where a controller or processor has, in accordance with paragraph 4, paid full compensation for the damage suffered, that controller or processor shall be entitled to claim back from the other controllers or processors involved in the same processing that part of the compensation corresponding to their part of responsibility for the damage, in accordance with the conditions set out in paragraph 2.
  6. Court proceedings for exercising the right to receive compensation shall be brought before the courts competent under the law of the Member State referred to in Article 79(2).

nope, and sure even if it was he could claim hkis email was hacked from stolen details on the Eir lapper :smiley:

Ah art

shit, sorry

might look for a free house

GDPR is back and bigger than ever. No sharing data with the yanks allowed says EU court. Nightmare for the likes of Facebook

Can you share a link on this?