Saw that. V interesting.
Informative rating.
Saw that. V interesting.
Informative rating.
That article is slightly misleading, itâs technically correct but the only reason to go all the way to the bottom of the ballot is to 100% ensure the fictional âMurphyâ doesnât get a bit of your vote.
If there are say three lads you donât want in equally then you should stop before you get there.
The reason why you shouldnât go just say 1,2,3 (favourite candidates) if there are people you could put 4,5 & 6 (meh candidates no strong feeling, but better than absolutely not candidates) is that if you stop at three then you mightnât transfer at all and the % of votes going to the absolutely not candidates increases marginally.
Imagine for the sake of ease there are 100 votes to distribute from an eliminated candidate you gave number 1. Your 2 & 3 are already eliminated or elected so your vote goes no where. Other votes went to one of your meh candidates & 2 of your absolutely not candidates in an equal split. So 33 each and your vote is a non transfer. Instead of getting 33% each all three now get 33.33% each. Marginal stuff but youâve given a .33% boost to both you hate vs 0.33% boost to the one you could have lived with. If you had given him your 4 then heâd be on 34 votes vs the other two on 33 giving him a 1% advantage and the other two nothing.
All miniscule stuff but if 1,000 people make the same mistake in a 5,000 vote elimination your talking a huge swing.
A good rule of thumb is to vote until you get to the lads you absolutely cannot stomach and stop there. Only vote to the very end if there is one lad in particular you cannot stomach
Our politicians could benefit from reading some documents at the National Archives
Is there anything to be said for saying another Mass?
If thereâs another election does it have to be with the same candidates or do nominations reopen?
Youâd imagine that Fianna Fail and the Social Democrats would want to run a few more candidates if that situation arises.
No they do nt have to be. no poster taking down in clare or Limerick as far as i see
Apparently the last time there was a second election in short order the number of candidates in the field slimmed considerably (by a third or so) people who were well out of contention wouldnât bother with the expense and hassle again I suppose.
Be interesting alright, youâd think FF would run a second or third in places where they would have had the votes, but Sinn Fein & FG might tidy up their strategy somewhat knowing now what they do. They left a few seats behind them.
An informed source told me yesterday that FGâs biggest problem in Wexford in the build up to this election was finding a woman to run to satisfy the gender quota. They had to beg numerous people to run and in the end Julie Hogan eventually relented. She knew she hadnât much of a hope and didnât bother with much of a campaign. Would this be a common issue in a lot of counties? Seems like a ridiculous waste of time and money just to tick a diversity box and thereâs probably better ways of solving it.
âNo Doctor No Villageâ candidate , Dr Michael Harty TD (Ind) will be brought back down to earth this morning (Monday) from the weekend delirium that marked his election as a TD in Clare.
I assume that FF will allow FG to put forward a minority government and support them on a topic by topic basis up until the first budget at the very minimum before pulling the rug from under them rather than going into coalition with them. I would doubt that an election in the short term like the next 3 or 4 months would throw up much of a different result seats wise.
God i cant see how it will work. Who gets what job
I presume FF will have a look and see how many seats they left behind them.
If they think they can bridge the gap on FG, in line with gains for the Social Democrats or some other party other than SF, then they might be happy enough going to the polls again.
what are you on about? It would be a FG minority government. They would have all the ministers, FF would be in opposition but would support the government on a issue by issue basis meaning that they remain the main opposition party ahead of SF, they get to have a huge say on legislation and also have the ability to bring down the government as soon as FG miscalculate a step and it would possibly allow them to grow their own position ahead of another vote in the next 6 to 12 months
I assume that FF will allow FG to put forward a minority government and support them on a topic by topic basis up until the first budget at the very minimum before pulling the rug from under them rather than going into coalition with them. I would doubt that an election in the short term like the next 3 or 4 months would throw up much of a different result seats wise.
If Fianna Fail they do this they would deserve to be utterly crucified by the media.
They can forget about any claim to have any sort ânational interestâ at heart, sacrificing it totally for a deeply cynical, self-serving strategy of deliberately forcing political instability to force another election.
They can also forget any notion of being a credible opposition.
You wouldnât know whether the voters would see through this strategy like they should. But given the bizarre, quasi-religious, cult-like hold that Fianna Fail have over a certain section of Irish society, the odds would probably be, no, they wouldnât.
I utterly despise Fine Gael and all they stand for but I despise Fianna Fail even more.
Here you have two parties with no policy differences, no differences in ideology, but one refuses to enter coalition for no other reason than pig-headed arrogance and a belief in their âbirthrightâ.
Fianna Fail are the Tipperary of Irish politics.
It wont be a deal with that in mind
what are you on about? It would be a FG minority government. They would have all the ministers, FF would be in opposition but would support the government on a issue by issue basis meaning that they remain the main opposition party ahead of SF, they get to have a huge say on legislation and also have the ability to bring down the government as soon as FG miscalculate a step and it would possibly allow them to grow their own position ahead of another vote in the next 6 to 12 months
FG mightnât agree to that though, theyâd know theyâd be turfed at the first opportunity.
If Kenny resigned and they went to the public again they might get a better result.
Fianna fail is the natural party of the people of Ireland
I know Enda has said a few months back that he didnât expect to have another full term as Taoiseach but surely to god even his biggest supporters realise just how big a liability he has become to the electorate.
FF MIGHT NOT AGREE TO PROBING UP ENDA:eyeglasses:
I know Enda has said a few months back that he didnât expect to have another full term as Taoiseach but surely to god even his biggest supporters realise just how big a liability he has become to the electorate.
Iâd imagine the whingers comment alone cost them a few seats. He made Martin look statesman like in the debates. Vardkar or Coveney would perform infinitely better.
ye made a balls of it.