Ballyhea says no.
Hung dail is a real possibility
The people of Wexford may as well not vote in this election. Mick Wallace has been the best TD to come out of Wexford since Yatesy but the county hasnât benefitted whatsoever from him while heâs taken down Shatter, the Gardai, and Peter Robinson. Fair play to him as he left no one under any illusion that he was never going to focus on local issues, he just wanted a platform to kill some parts of the old establishment.
The other 4 elected have all be anonymous in what theyâve done for the county. And its more of the same next time around based on whoâll be running. Michael Darcy (FG) has a big fucking advertising hoarding taken out on the way into Gorey with his ugly mug and some line about FG bringing business back to Gorey. FG havenât brought a fucking thing to Gorey apart from being in power at a time when a new road was finished which means more people working in South Dublin are likely to move and live in Gorey.
Maybe one of the Wexford town lads can confirm but has there been any major jobs announcements in the town during this Governments tenure? The whole county seems to just get ignored and most people spend their time travelling to Dublin, Waterford or Kilkenny to work if youâre in any kind of skilled job. If you want to work in a coffee shop or womens clothes shop the possibilities are good.
Iâm looking forward to the canvassing cos Iâm gonna tear shreds out of some of these cunts. And most likely Wexford will return the same rough numbers as the last time. Wallace wonât top the poll this time though.
Panic on the streets of Dublin
Panic on the streets of Castlebar
I wonder to myself
Could life ever be sane again?
The Cork side-streets that you slip down
I wonder to myself
Hopes may rise when youâre on the beer
But Enda, youâre not safe here
So you run down
To the safety of the town
But thereâs Panic on the streets of Limerick
Galway, Dundalk, Shannonside
I wonder to myself
Burn down the Dail
Hang the blessed TDs
Because the nonsense that they constantly say
It says nothing to me about my life
Hang the blessed TDs
Because the nonsense they constantly say
On the Wexford side-streets that you slip down
Provincial towns that are run down
Hang the TDs, Hang the TDs, Hang the TDs
HANG THE TDs, HANG THE TDs, HANG THE TDs
HANG THE TDs, HANG THE TDs
HANG THE TDs
They shot the wrong Collins.
Although my granny always had nice things to say about his uncle from the time she spent in Abbeyfeale.
Another stupid cunt basing his vote to elect legislators based on whether or not they can fix the pothole at the end of his road.
You are everything that is wrong with the politicAl system in this country.
Where did I mention potholes you clown? Iâm talking about Wexford being a viable place for people to live and work rather than just live and commute.
Iâm also saying that by and large the Wexford TDs are useless, Wallace being the exception based on the examples I mentioned.
So you would vote for FF?
Answer my question on the universities, pal. I was in a rare mood for serious debate on TFK earlier and youâve ruined it. You have about 8 minutes to do so.
You put so much work into that it deserves a like
I think he means that you define useless as having done nothing for Gorey/Enniscorthy/Roslare etc. As opposed to what theyâve done on a national basis - itâs the ultimate in parochial viewpoint. From a national perspective Howlin and Wallace have made a substantial impact.
By far the hardest bit was replacing DJ with TDs multiple times. It nearly made me not post it.
You measure his success by what he delivered locally. Do you still vote in Wexford?
I wonât vote for FF. But if it was a choice between them and FG, I would choose FF.
On the universities, Iâm actually slightly impressed by @Ambrose_McNultyâs info showing some departments inside the top 50 in some niche areas. News to me and a step forward. Weâre a good way from having any college in the top 100 though. Arenât we trying to be a knowledge based economy? Weâre shit at languages, maths and science too.
Weâll continue this in the morning so, kid but I am interested to hear why you would vote for a party that has ruled this country for the majority of its existence and which facilitated many of the issues that you rail against.
Also, the university issue. It is a massive bugbear of mine when I see people complain about why we, an island of 5 million people, only have 1-3 universities in the top 100 in the world.
Prepare your arguments.
You need to reconsider your position.
Things are going really well in this country for the past 7 years for anyone with a bit of drive. Talented Professionals have been arriving here from Europe to avail of the great opportunities in business afforded in this country.
Kaiser Noonan has done a wonderful job.
If you are not feeling the benefits of the economic boom, I dare suggest to you that itâs not the governments fault.
What has he done exactly?
He has saved Ireland from bankruptcy
Turned us into the fastest growing economy in Europe
Created the confidence and conditions to lower unemployment from approx 14% to approx 8.5
Negotiated massive reductions in our national debt
Reclaimed billions of euros from the banks that had been provided by the taxpayer in way of bailout
Reduced tax for the working people of Ireland
The list goes onâŚ
Ah Jesus weptâŚ
Can you fire up a few links there to back any of that up? Particularly the tax bit⌠He introduced a whole pile of taxes that has seen homelessness spiral out of control⌠Our health system is about to collapseâŚthey are trying to privatise our national resourcesâŚwe are no where near 8.5% unemployment⌠His answer has been to get people to work as slave labour under âinternshipsââŚnot to mention the generation he helped drive away through emigrationâŚour GDP figures are skewd also by many multi nationals claiming overseas transactions and sales through Ireland.
In short, youâre talking complete balls as usualâŚ