General Election 2020 Part 2

Did the pandemic save ireland?

FF membership will reject the proposal I’d say, teeing it up for another election when the crisis eases

Don’t think SF gave up. Sure MLMD earned the most votes in the vote for Taoiseach when the Dáil returned and they’ve continued to speak with anyone and everyone who’ll speak with them. It’s just that the violent civil war parties are essentially formalising their merger to give themselves the trump card.

She sure did. No intention of really going in at any point.

FG and FF have done deals with champagne socialists and the hard left before, SF failed to do with the other side of the political spectrum.

I’m sorry but FFG won’t speak to them so it’s more than a bit disingenuous to think they could form a government. They’d more or less need to deal with every single other member of the Dáil including a load of headbanger independents. Let’s be realistic here. There’s now a big three, and two of those need to come together to have any chance of forming a government. That’s what FFG are now progressing so let’s see what unfolds.

Another election should hopefully see the Greens getting t a good lasting at the polls.

They played politics while the world continued to burn into early March. And in a time of huge crisis, they still refuse to take responsibility. What’s more this is a great opportunity to further the green agenda. Flights are grounded, people are working from home in large numbers and the global order is on its head. Their leader talks about making salads out the back garden though.

The numbers are there to form a government.

The Inter Party government of 1948 was made up of a wide variety of personalities and perspectives & they had a slim majority. They put a government in place, SF failed because SF didn’t want a government. They called the talks failed when they had barely talked to RBB. RBB called them back as he didn’t want SF to have the narrative they wanted and his vote to be taken next time. They then both stepped out together and announced their intention to shirk responsibility.

In terms of people I know, several people in my extended family (parents, siblings etc) gave Greens either No 1s or high prefs. I gave them a high pref. Based on recent conversations they’ll have lost a lot of those and I imagine you’d get a read through to other similar voters. Now those were green votes that previously have gone FF/FG/Lab and I suppose they won’t have the same problem with SF voters etc who gave them prefs. However, with them less likely to pick up easy SF transfers next time (as SF will be running second candidates) and with a good bit of cooling from centrist voters I reckon they could take a bit of a wallop alright.

Their days of being all things to all men are over anyway.

Do you not number your crowd as one of the violent Civil War parties?

Ryan is an awful leader. Going on about wolves and salad. He spent his political capital last time in government on trying to get all rugby FTA so himself and his son could watch.

FFG going back in yet the FFG fans are lashing out

It’s all posturing. No smaller party is going into government with FFG. There’s going to be no money to spend and they would get hammered at the following election. Second election whenever the covid 19 crisis finally dies down. FFG plus gombeen indos will struggle through until then. Too many independent TDs needed for that to last long term, 8 minimum but they’ll need 12 maybe for any degree of longevity

Should you not be sticking up for your leader Eamon Ryan here? Just about everyone seems to be lining up to have a cut at him.

A few FFG right wing cranks having a pop? They are entrenched in their views. Why waste energy

Interesting two page feature on Eamon Ryan in the Phoenix last week.

Yep. Saw it. A bit critical & the Phoenix is sound on the impending climate disaster

Not really the Green Party way to shaft the leader. Does sound though, like there’s a bit of discontent within.

When you are ating lettuce.

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar will be forced to cull up to seven Fine Gael minsters as part of his deal to form a government with Fianna FĂĄil.

Mr Varadkar’s key allies, including Eoghan Murphy, Richard Bruton, Joe McHugh and Josepha Madigan, are facing demotion under the deal.

But Simon Coveney, Paschal Donohoe and Heather Humphreys are expected to remain in the new Cabinet.