Lining up a team for the year - Nothing serious - low league stuff… I’ll be missing three weeks in October for the wedding and you can add two more onto that to get a bit of fitness back after it… Having not played in a few years I’m looking forward to training and a Sunday morning kick-about.
What division are we talking about mate, the standard in the AUL doesn’t drop an awful lot once you leave premier behind, nice to be out playing games on Sunday mornings, getting changed at the side of the road in a car and enjoying the few pints if you’re not the driver, proper football indeed.
It will be near the bottom pal… It’s more of a social thing really - As I said I’ll be missing a few weeks and probably only training once a week so don’t want anything with a major commitment… might as well tip away for a year as i’ll probably be retired soon enough.
They started an over 35s league down our way for the summer. Good aul craic. nothing serious and no shite on Sunday mornings. Friday or Saturday evenings. By the time it will have finished, I’ll have played all 11 positions on the field, but been settled at centre mid to finish it out. Versatile, or just useless everywhere I still dont know. First time playing proper organised soccer since I was a teenager.
Many injuries in it?
Or heart attacks?
hapes! I’ve been grand, I strained my hamstring in a Junior B match alright but been ok in the soccer. We’ve lost lads to achilles, hamstrings, general soreness, ankle problems, knee problems, hip problems. A lad on an opposing team broke an ankle, another I think may have done his cruciate. But sure its all grand when you have a few pints and a cocktail sausage and chicken goujon in the pub after!
Its all about the cocktail sausages and chicken goujons after the match. Just hope you never play a club from malahide.
we’d struggle to get to a game in mid wexford, nevermind go out of the county!
Oysters and smoked salmon and caviar blinis?
Is this a south Wexford thing or where is it on?
Yeah pretty much the south coast line, from us over to Kilmore. 9 teams in it, league, cup and shield competitions.
There was a fairly hotly contested Desmond league over u35s for a few years recently until the league put a stop to it over insurance issues.
yeah this was a first year attempt at it anyway. not sure how the insurance issues will play out for next year, as I’m sure there was a few fairly substantial injuries.
I finished out playing for College Corinthians J2 team, was asked back “to help out the young lads” but it was mainly 30 somethings playing with maybe 3 lads who could play at a higher level if they tried harder. You’d think you’d only be doing it for the craic but the will to win is always there and it’s good to play at any level and for as long as possible. You’d miss the bantz in the dressing room and the training. Stay going as long as you can.
I dropped down the divisions a bit and quit at about 33, kind of had to due to family expanding but I miss it, I feel I could still play for about a half an hour in my early 40s, the irony is that I’m never hungover on a Sunday morning now
Are you playing with a club that offers better teams @ChocolateMice or is it a small AUL team?
If only. Fuckers provided 3 sandwiches between 12 and a pack of biscuits.
I was 32 when I quit, when Ben and Jerry came along. Far too young. Ended up in the goal for a finish the last few years. Fuck that running around…
I finished up at left back in my last season having played centre mid for most of my days, played against Corinthians a few times when they had a fantastic senior team in the 90s, they were never popular
I played rugby to 32. Went back and played few games at social level and over 35s the last few years but it’s the height of irresponsibility when you have kids. A broken arm and the whole show grinds to a halt when there is only one driver in the house